Reviewer: Linda Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 30 Aug 2016 10:23 pm Title: Chapter 12 - The Sabbath Rang Slowly

I'm so pleased that they managed to get Helen off without any further catastrophes. The letter authorising Jack and Matey to escort Heken home was inspired. Particularly if she plays up in the journey, she could make things difficult for them and perhaps she is devious enough to claim that they are holding her against her will! Thank you Mary

Reviewer: PaulineS Signed [Report This]
Date: 22 Aug 2016 12:12 pm Title: Chapter 12 - The Sabbath Rang Slowly

Hilda is really pushing herself to much.  She needs to slow down and let the antibiotics and the iron  work.  She is heading for a breakdown in health, physically and mentally.  (The events of the coming days are foreshadowed here)

Reviewer: Fiona Mc Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 20 Aug 2016 12:32 pm Title: Chapter 12 - The Sabbath Rang Slowly

Nancy is such a tonic; if we could all have someone like her in our lives!



Author's Response: I agree, Fiona. I've always loved her and thought what a good friend she could be. Thank you.

Reviewer: katesian Signed [Report This]
Date: 19 Aug 2016 11:11 am Title: Chapter 12 - The Sabbath Rang Slowly

Hi Mary

Sorry you have to re upload these chapters but i am enjoying reading them again.

I am not a great reviewer but i read every chapter and appreciate your writing. your have a great affinity with Hilda and matey.

 

 



Author's Response: Thanks for taking the time to review, Katesian.

Reviewer: Clair Anonymous starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 19 Aug 2016 10:53 am Title: Chapter 12 - The Sabbath Rang Slowly

At last Hilda's been allowed to sleep, she may not look any better but it must have helped and will give her the strength to deal with Kathie at least.

For Hilda to say that Mr Cassidy has spoiled Helen beyond redemption shows just how far Helen has fallen and yet Hilda still feels sorry for Helen! I wish I could think that things will change but somehow Mr Cassidy and Helen will probably continue hurting others, and indirectly themsleves, for years to come.

Let's hope that Jack and Gwynneth manage a peaceful mission and get back safely, I'm sure Jack will enjoy hearing all the story from the night before.

Nancy must be overwhelmed, lost, proud that Hilda sees her as such a friend, worried and concerned all at once. Kathie may well have lost Nancy's love for good by now, whether that can be rebuilt in a different way is doubtful.

That last line was brilliant from Jeanne, who is second only to Hilda in gentleness, as it showed that Kathie needs that firmness which is unusual from Hilda. Good luck Hilda and please both listen and digest Kathie.

Thanks Mary, finally caught up again - wish SDL and work computer weren't completely incompatible!

Reviewer: Blueskye Signed [Report This]
Date: 19 Aug 2016 8:39 am Title: Chapter 12 - The Sabbath Rang Slowly

Eight hours… Lucky Hilda!  Plenty of trials, temptations and trouble everywhere, but she’s back on her feet. Love the interchange between Hilda and Matey – and Matey “snapping with energy” (just how I imagine *grins*) Thanks, Mary

Reviewer: shesings Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 19 Aug 2016 1:00 am Title: Chapter 12 - The Sabbath Rang Slowly

Hilda is a star but Nancy is also proving herself to be the real deal, a capable and strong support to Hilda. I love Mother Abbess who always knows the right thing to say and has such love to get. Wibbling about the breakfast with Kathie though!

Reviewer: Celia Anonymous [Report This]
Date: 18 Aug 2016 11:19 pm Title: Chapter 12 - The Sabbath Rang Slowly

Caught up at last.  Two lovely chapters of family and friends supporting each other and the same relief as before that Helen has gone and the school is safe from her love of fire raising.      Thank you Mary for all your hard work

 

Reviewer: Elder in Ontario Signed [Report This]
Date: 18 Aug 2016 7:00 pm Title: Chapter 12 - The Sabbath Rang Slowly

So eight hours' solid sleep has refreshed Hilda, at least for now, which is a good thing, considering what she's already planning to put into her Sunday!  "Madame was up and running again" indeed - only Hilda would have realised the possible interpretation which officialdom might place on the sight of Helen and her two escorts and took the trouble to write that letter explaining the situation.  Only Hilda would have done her best to break through Helen's final show of resistance and send her off with a hug and a blessing.  I'm so glad Nancy was there to comfort her in the natural reaction after the front door closed behind Helen and her escorts, and that each was able to draw strength from the other as they discussed the plans for the day.  Hilda really, really needed that talk with MA, too, although I'm sure that had she been on the spot rather than at the other end of a phone, MA wouldn't have known whether to hug her daughter for comfort and support or shake her for finding so many alternative tasks other than resting!   Knowing from the first reading what transpires in the next 24 to 48 hours later, of course, we know that MA is right to be so concerned.  Her loving support and prayers, to say nothing of all the prayers from the Convent sustain Hilda as nothing else, except the loving support of Ellie does - Ian, Vivien and Nancy are "also-rans" in that department.



Enter the security code shown below:
Note: You may submit either a rating or a review or both.