Reviewer: SueMc Anonymous [Report This]
Date: 03 Sep 2016 12:19 am Title: Chapter 9 - Hilda Speaks From A Full Heart

I [ove this chapter, it's wonderful how all of those gathered in Hildas sitting room  give such a peaceful interlude to the most stressful of days. It's good that Hilda sees what new memories she can start to gather with all the friends she has. How hard Hilda must have found it ti give  some of Nells clothes to Nancy . It's good that Ellie seems to have found such a good friend in Jeanne.

Reviewer: Linda Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 30 Aug 2016 12:48 am Title: Chapter 9 - Hilda Speaks From A Full Heart

A lovely homely scene when Hilda joined the rest. I could really picture them, each working on their own particular hobby with Ian sitting reading - and then the beautiful soothing sound of Jeanne's zither, it must have helped everyone cast away some of their tension after the dreadful day. I'd forgotten about the vision of Nancy in green dressing gown and red socks, patrolling the corridors like a perambulatiing Christmas tree. brilliant!!

Reviewer: PaulineS Signed [Report This]
Date: 21 Aug 2016 8:48 pm Title: Chapter 9 - Hilda Speaks From A Full Heart

I like the idea of Nancy as aFather Christmas wondering around the school.

Reviewer: Fiona Mc Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 20 Aug 2016 12:04 pm Title: Chapter 9 - Hilda Speaks From A Full Heart

I'm glad Hilda gave Nancy Nell's night clothes

Reviewer: AnneM Signed [Report This]
Date: 15 Aug 2016 3:37 pm Title: Chapter 9 - Hilda Speaks From A Full Heart

So lovely - thank you, Mary.

Reviewer: Clair Anonymous starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 14 Aug 2016 10:03 pm Title: Chapter 9 - Hilda Speaks From A Full Heart

How beautiful, I could actually see that group of people gently easing each others nightmares with peaceful work and music. A wonderful group of family and friends helping each other, relaxed and comfortable together. I'm so glad that Nancy was also invited to join them , she must be feeling very lonely right now.

Hilda's courage of spirit knows no bounds, in giving Nancy those items of Nells she is moving forward towards those who care for her so deeply yet not losing sight of eitehr her love or grief for Nell.

Again, the image of Nancy dressed like Santa in the corridors made me smile as it did Hilda for that brief moment before she broke down.

 

Thanks Mary

Reviewer: Blueskye Signed [Report This]
Date: 14 Aug 2016 9:55 pm Title: Chapter 9 - Hilda Speaks From A Full Heart

This is one of my favourite chapters – I just love Hilda’s little family “Such a homely, tranquil scene after the chaos and fears of the day! And yes, on a second reading what jumped out was Hilda’s realisation that this was how it could be …….” In that eye-opening moment, she accepted that something - or someone - was nudging her into a new way of being. Evenings like this could become routine if she were prepared to open her heart even more than she was already doing … Ellie and I need new closeness with others. We need new hopes, new dreams, now our old ways of living have been taken from us.”

And interleaved with this were flashes of humour from Nancy and Matey  “ Nancy rolled her eyes. “Every time I hear that particular note in your voice, I become a naughty schoolgirl again, wondering if my drawers are tidy enough to suit you.” ...Then a wonderful tribute to Nell… “They fell silent, both thinking their own sad thoughts of a courageous, funny, sarcastic, loving, joyful, energetic woman who had meant so much to so many. There had never been anyone like her and never would be again, but she would live on in the memories of hundreds of girls who had learned a great deal from her, including how to live generous, fulfilled lives. “ Layered up again with the image of Hilda loading Nancy up with festive nightwear… “Your feet!”  “My feet?”  “Finally, triumphantly, she held up two pairs of thick, gaudy, red socks” …wonderful!

Thank you, Mary



Reviewer: shesings Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 14 Aug 2016 9:36 pm Title: Chapter 9 - Hilda Speaks From A Full Heart

Glad that Hilda showed Nancy how much she values her friendship as well as her work. It's very hard for Nancy with Kathie behaving so badly and stupidly so it's good that the others are rallying round.

Reviewer: Elder in Ontario Signed [Report This]
Date: 14 Aug 2016 8:09 pm Title: Chapter 9 - Hilda Speaks From A Full Heart

That really *is* such a lovely "family" scene, something which has all too rarely come Hilda's way in the past. Her relationship with Nell was, of course, extremely fulfilling in and of itself, hence the depth of her grief at Nell's death, and very much filled either of their needs for anyone else.  I am very glad she recognizes just what each of these people now mean to her and how they all to some extent (not entirely, because there will always be a "Nell-size" hole in her heart) fill a need in her.  The relationship with Ellie is, of course, the most special, but Ian, Vivien, Gwynneth, and now Jeanne and Nancy have their part to play.  And I love the way they share their skills: origami, writing and art, music etc, to give pleasure to the others, though I must admit I'd forgotten Hilda's skills with her  crochet hook until now.  Mother Abbess would have rejoiced if she could have seen that interlude; she more than anyone would know how much good it would do Hilda, only too well aware that her beloved daughter still has "promises to keep and miles to go before I sleep."  And then, that special touch of giving away some of Nell's clothes to Nancy, finding courage in the face of the latter's need for clothing for that night to do so.  Yet again, Hilda thinks for everyone, putting their needs ahead of her own.  

Thank you, Mary, I hope that we will indeed, see more "family" evenings like this in the future.



Author's Response: I'll keep it in mind, Elder. If I forget, please jog my elbow! Yes, MA would love that Hilda has done as she asked and let people in. Thank you, my friend.



Enter the security code shown below:
Note: You may submit either a rating or a review or both.