Reviewer: Linda Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 30 Aug 2016 12:28 am Title: Chapter 8 - Never Shirking The Hard Things in Life

I love the developing closeness of Gwyneth both with Hilda and Ellie. She has been such a great support to Hilda through this nightmare day. I also love the quote "Friendship is a sheltering tree". It so describes the relationships we gave seen today with all those who are trying to lift some of the load from Hilda's shoulders.

Reviewer: PaulineS Signed [Report This]
Date: 21 Aug 2016 7:57 pm Title: Chapter 8 - Never Shirking The Hard Things in Life

God woeks in mysterious ways His wonders to perform and Hilda;s bout of sickness may not be a first choice of giving her a time of peace and quieyness but it certainly worked.

Reviewer: Fiona Mc Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 19 Aug 2016 10:35 am Title: Chapter 8 - Never Shirking The Hard Things in Life

Glad everyone is still being supportive of Hilda and it will hopefully get her through to bed time

Reviewer: shesings Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 14 Aug 2016 9:22 pm Title: Chapter 8 - Never Shirking The Hard Things in Life

it's good that Mr Avison and the Slaters knew what a little devil Helen could be before all this happened, and will know where the blame lies. That was a lovely little passage with Matey.

Reviewer: Blueskye Signed [Report This]
Date: 14 Aug 2016 7:26 pm Title: Chapter 8 - Never Shirking The Hard Things in Life

How does Hilda do it?…she has the ability to walk in everyone's shoes and  looks after every last one…Nancy, Rosalie & Gill, Matey.  She knows exactly how to respond, what to say, who needs words of comfort and who needs teasing and jollying along a bit.  She handles Rosalie’s anger with Kathie fabulously and always leads by example.  And I love the portrayal of Matey, so astute and she really doesn’t miss a trick!! Thank you, Mary, I am enjoying these re-postings - you are spoiling us (*winks*)



Author's Response: No, it's you who are spoiling me, Blueskye, and giving me second responses to something you've read before. Ar you finding different things in this time round?

Reviewer: Elder in Ontario Signed [Report This]
Date: 14 Aug 2016 3:56 pm Title: Chapter 8 - Never Shirking The Hard Things in Life

Nancy can certainly learn so much from watching Hilda in action, but in the end, she will put her own "headmistress-ship" imprint on the role, as Hilda, Nell and all previous Heads have done.  Whether or not she will will have Hilda's ability to push on with what's needed regardless of the cost to herself remains to be seen, but on the other hand, she will be starting from a much stronger base so far as her own health is concerned.  

I'm glad Jack remains so supportive here, even pointing out what Hilda must still do before she can relax - and accepting Hilda's own view that she must carry on without a break until she's finished, or she will collapse before she's done.  In the end, as we see, she does collapse, but only for a while, and the welcome solitude actually gives her the strength to finish that report, even if her condition causes so much concern among those who love her best. 

 



Author's Response: Thank you so much for still posting extensive reviews, Elder, even though it's now second time around. Another one who is just too kind, bless you.

Reviewer: Clair Anonymous starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 14 Aug 2016 1:25 am Title: Chapter 8 - Never Shirking The Hard Things in Life

Nancy will certainly learn much from watching Hilda but also needs to remember that she is herself and should not try to become Hilda but the best Nancy she can possibly be. Her anger at Kathie must be so painful for her as the more anger pulls through the more she must feel that love drop away. I still hope it's not too late though.

So good to see that both Sarah and Tonia's fathers are supportive, even wondering if they themselves could have helped prevent such trouble had they informed Hilda of outside issues. Interesting to see that Helen had been so disruptive at home and yet her father still places her on that pedestal.

The light humour with Gill and Rosalie hit just the right note to help them both with the rest of the evening. Hilda's gentle but firm admonition to Rosalie was also well placed, she can do so much to help and I'm sure she will be as supportive of Hilda as possible. It's sad that she has lost that friendship with Kathie although understandable and, possibly, inevitable.

The closer Hilda and Gwynneth become the more right it seems - that little family will be one filled with love. I'm hoping that Jack will at least be on the edges of it after all of this, he's proving such a rock. As for Ellie, her love for Hilda is giving her pain as well as pleasure right now with her worry for Hilda's health and so much going on which I hope will change sometime soon.

Now I hope that Hilda gets a little sleep just to get through to the time she can truly go to bed.

 

Thanks Mary



Author's Response: Clair, how do I thank you for such full-blown reviews, when you've already done them once before? You are magnificent.

Reviewer: ivohenry Signed [Report This]
Date: 13 Aug 2016 11:43 pm Title: Chapter 8 - Never Shirking The Hard Things in Life

Mary, thanks for making the effort to repost all this. Have been away most of last week without online access, so nice to come back to so much to re-read,



Author's Response: Thank you so much, ivohenry.



Enter the security code shown below:
Note: You may submit either a rating or a review or both.