Reviewer: Caroline_OSullivan Signed [Report This]
Date: 23 Sep 2016 4:43 pm Title: Chapter 1 - A Thread of Grace

Thank you Mary for reposting. As well as enjoying re-reading New Dreams I've loved spotting the new bits you've added.

Looking forward to the stage of Hilda's recovery



Author's Response: Thanks so much for re-reading, Caroline. There's a new message in Vol 8 regarding the remaining chapters - which aren't remaining, so do have a look, as there will be a completely in chapter in Vol 10 on Sunday!

Reviewer: PaulineS Signed [Report This]
Date: 19 Sep 2016 8:00 pm Title: Chapter 1 - A Thread of Grace

Mary I was recognising both uses of anointing here.  I am sure Ian would use both anointing for healing and as "last rites".  However  I am sure that as they are all praying for recovery and healing this anointing was part of that hope and ministry.  Perhaps I am just hoping it was that and not that Ian and others were giving up hope.

Reviewer: shesings Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 16 Sep 2016 12:01 am Title: Chapter 1 - A Thread of Grace

They needed to be honest, they needed to give her a little break and they are right to take her back! Vivien, Matey, Helen and Iain are playing a blinder as we say in Football land!

Author's Response: Love it, shesings!

Reviewer: shesings Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 27 Aug 2016 3:03 pm Title: Chapter 1 - A Thread of Grace

What can you say about Kathie's behaviour - utterly disgraceful from any woman far less a teacher. She was childish, bullying, unreasonable, rude, and totally out of control. Hard to get back from this incident but full marks to Mirielle and Jeanne for their courage and grace under pressure.

Reviewer: Linda Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 26 Aug 2016 11:19 pm Title: Chapter 1 - A Thread of Grace

Oh, Mary, I've finally managed to start re-reading this and Helen's exploits are just as chilling as first time round. How devious she has been throughout her time at school and how uncontrolled is her rage when she believes her desires have been thwarted. So scary! But Hilda gave her no corner in which to hide and at least now the school can sleep safe in the knowledge that she cannot continue her fire-raising exploits. Thank you, Mary

Reviewer: shesings Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 24 Aug 2016 10:44 am Title: Chapter 1 - A Thread of Grace

Mary, you are spoling us by giving us additions to what was already a powerful passage. I loved the interaction between Hilda and Isobel, a friendship and understanding developing that will last and be a great support and joy to both of them.

Reviewer: PaulineS Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 20 Aug 2016 11:58 pm Title: Chapter 1 - A Thread of Grace

Helen's maliciousness really comes through in this chapter. Dr Jack's admiration for Hilda is also developed be what he witnessed.

(yes Mary I have cought up this far with me rereading, so you may det more reviews as I continue through the saga)

Reviewer: Seven Signed [Report This]
Date: 19 Aug 2016 10:37 pm Title: Chapter 1 - A Thread of Grace

Dear me Hilda really does have the patience of a saint!  How can Kathy be so dim that she still thinks she is right?  She has the example of Hilda and Nell as heads for 10 years and she seems to have been oblivious to how they ran the schools.  Kathie is being positively childish and I can only assume that Hilda sees the real hidden potential in her or she would have dismissed her.  I hope Kathie comes to  her senses soon.

Reviewer: Fiona Mc Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 19 Aug 2016 9:50 am Title: Chapter 1 - A Thread of Grace

Glad Jack gets to see Hilda in action and that he's is being so supportive of her

Reviewer: Seven Anonymous [Report This]
Date: 12 Aug 2016 10:18 pm Title: Chapter 1 - A Thread of Grace

How right Hilda is to tell the girls at assembly exactly what happened with Helen.  I'm still amazed, though, that after the attack by Kathie and the faint she could go to the IV form and talk to them.  Iron self control in evidence!

Reviewer: nehawalia Signed [Report This]
Date: 12 Aug 2016 3:36 pm Title: Chapter 1 - A Thread of Grace

good...

Reviewer: SueMc Anonymous [Report This]
Date: 10 Aug 2016 1:45 am Title: Chapter 1 - A Thread of Grace

Well done Hilda so difficukt  to have to cope with the full horror of the fire after all tjhat has happened. At last Jack realises what Hildas job entails Didn;t Gillian do well, I feel sorry for Barbara who obviously thinks she should have done mors H"That one small small boy with a face like pallid chese and  burnt out little eyes could make a blaze."

 

Reviewer: Sarah Anonymous [Report This]
Date: 09 Aug 2016 11:34 am Title: Chapter 1 - A Thread of Grace

Oh wow! Reading it again I realise anew the strain Hilda had been under. That scene in the dormitory was so powerful... how she managed to get the truth out of Helen whilst still caring for the others individually.

Then the conversation with Mrs Cassidy; I almost feel sorry for Helen. Will she be allowed to change/realise the error of her ways? I know she needs to be expelled for the good of the others, but even so.....?

And Jack is being a rock... I really like him in this!

Reviewer: Blueskye Signed [Report This]
Date: 08 Aug 2016 8:34 pm Title: Chapter 1 - A Thread of Grace

Well…arsonistic Helen aside, the overwhelming impression from this chapter is what a force to be reckoned with Hilda is, and we are so spoilt for choice when it comes to picking out examples. My favourite is …”This was Hilda at her best! She might not have much iron in her blood, but she had plenty in her soul! ….Jack wondered what had happened to that frightening woman with the soft, icy tongue who had controlled the whole room with ease. She was all compassion and gentleness now, comforting Jeanne…”  How versatile she is and quick to empathise and respond to others.

 

Liking Jack much more here; rather less of the dictatorial male doctor and rather more humility …  “Today’s been a spellbinding lesson in leadership, your sort of leadership, and I’ve learned a very great deal. You’re one impressive lady!” …Thank you, Mary.

Reviewer: Clair Anonymous starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 08 Aug 2016 12:20 pm Title: Chapter 1 - A Thread of Grace

Reading this again is even more chilling than first time round. The evil inside Helen is astounding in a girl so young. Even though Hilda managed to get a confession and some of Helen's thoughts from her I rather doubt much of an impression has been made on a mind so convinced it's right.

As for Jack, he's finally learning what others have known about Hilda for a long time and I'm sure he will now be one of her greatest supports in the days to come.

All of those involved have shown so much strength and courage and are bound to feel the effects for a while but they'll know that they have Hilda to go to in need.

Poor HIlda, just when she thought things couldn't get worse.........................

 

Thanks for reposting Mary, much appreciated

Reviewer: shesings Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 07 Aug 2016 6:33 pm Title: Chapter 1 - A Thread of Grace

Glad to see this reappear! This chapter hit me just as hard as it did the first time. That is one very disturbed young girl. Thank goodness the others were so quick and brave!



Enter the security code shown below:
Note: You may submit either a rating or a review or both.