Reviewer: Minim Signed [Report This]
Date: 30 Jan 2016 3:16 pm Title: Chapter 29 You've got a friend

I like Beth. 

Reviewer: shesings Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 30 Jan 2016 2:37 pm Title: Chapter 29 You've got a friend

Sorry, I haven't commented much lately but this is such a powerful and well written story that I'm often lost for words. Thank you!

Reviewer: PaulineS Signed [Report This]
Date: 30 Jan 2016 12:40 pm Title: Chapter 29 You've got a friend

Wilmot is certainly making John and Cecily work at putting their lifes in order.  

I hope Cecily can be Beth's new cookery writer.

Reviewer: Beecharmer Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 30 Jan 2016 11:01 am Title: Chapter 29 You've got a friend

Glad he realises he cocked up with understanding and judging cecily, and that he is helping John open up a bit. Thanks for more. :-)

Reviewer: Elder in Ontario Signed [Report This]
Date: 28 Jan 2016 8:01 pm Title: Chapter 28 Reflections of my life

I must admit I was really surprised by Wilmot's initial prejudice and tactics with Cecily, but I'm glad he was honest enough to admit his mistake when he realised what was at the root of her behaviour. Perhaps now he will get somewhere with her.  As for John, we know how badly he had taken his uncle's death, and his Gran's recent death, too (which is probably one reason the nightmares had recurred) but if the image of the body hanging from that rope had now changed from THomas's to Cecily's, it's no wonder he is terrified - he must have been thinking he was going to lose her now, too.  Cecily's reaction to his story must have been balm to his troubled soul.  Here's hoping they can both start to move on.

Reviewer: Minim Signed [Report This]
Date: 28 Jan 2016 1:41 pm Title: Chapter 28 Reflections of my life

John needs all the hugs but at least he's told Cecily so she can give them to him.

Reviewer: PaulineS Signed [Report This]
Date: 28 Jan 2016 1:15 pm Title: Chapter 28 Reflections of my life

I liked the way Cecily proved Wilmot wrong.  Good to see John finally sharing his nightmare. If Cecily can comfort him after one without touching him it will be a miracle.

Pleased that Cecily is rady to entertain.

Reviewer: AnneM Signed [Report This]
Date: 28 Jan 2016 9:18 am Title: Chapter 28 Reflections of my life

Well! What an old ....... Wilmot is! But at least he apologised, though I think he was a bit obtuse not to have thought about bullying. Still, at least he appreciates her now: "She's a lot stronger than either of you give her credit for. Don't diminish her abilities." I'm glad John was able to tell Cecily about the nightmare and that she seems to be dealing with it well. Thank you.

Reviewer: Beecharmer Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 28 Jan 2016 9:12 am Title: Chapter 28 Reflections of my life

No wonder he has that dream given the situation. It's gpod perhaps for Cecily to understand the impact of her actions, so often the self harmer really doesn't properly realise people see that as the end result even if they themselves don't. Grrrr for Wilmot not reading the notes, fair enough to take them with a pinch of salt as David is a relative but very unprofessional. He's letting his own prejudices affect his treatment.

Reviewer: Minim Signed [Report This]
Date: 26 Jan 2016 6:50 pm Title: Chapter 27 Look Around

Good they'll get their own honeymoon and that they are going along with Wilmot.

Reviewer: PaulineS Signed [Report This]
Date: 26 Jan 2016 5:44 pm Title: Chapter 27 Look Around

Wilmot's ways may be different but they are certainly helping them to learn to use words to communicate as well as touch. I wonder how much of their problems were caused by John and Cecily having similar coping stratergies.  They seem to withdraw into themselves and have problems finding the words to describe their thought and feelings.  

Cecily's planting of the lily of the valley on the grave demonstrates that actions are important, but words are needed as well.

I hope Wilmot will let them have second honeymoon as John has planned

 

 

Reviewer: Elder in Ontario Signed [Report This]
Date: 26 Jan 2016 4:31 pm Title: Chapter 27 Look Around

So still baby steps, words rather than physical contact, but progress, however slow it may seem, and yes, a good way to ensure Cecily doesn't fall pregant before her body is ready for that (OK, we know she's on the Pill, so unlikely to happen, but Wilmot doesn't yet, I think).  I'm glad they have both decided to follow his instructions, even though they may seem harsh, he clearly knows what results he is looking for.  Given both their difficulties in communicating, this element above all *must* be strengthened.  I do wonder whether Cecily realises just how much of a breakthrough she has made with her attention to the gravesite and taking John to see it - she has helped him to say "good-bye" to his grandmother and the others. which is a huge step forward for him.  I hope they manage to take that planned belated honeymoon with full relationships restored to them, but time - and Wilmot - alone will tell.

 

Reviewer: AnneM Signed [Report This]
Date: 26 Jan 2016 4:27 pm Title: Chapter 27 Look Around

So many good things here - Cecily apologising to Reg, John sticking to Wilmot's rules and explaining why, the visit to his grandmother's grave, Cecily talking about Phil and her childhood, and then both of them being able to talk properly and at length to each other. Thank you!

Reviewer: Beecharmer Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 26 Jan 2016 9:51 am Title: Chapter 27 Look Around

It seems hard but makes a lot of sense. They need to be able to communicate better, and this is a way of making sure of that. Also of Cecily not becoming pregnant while so underweight. Thanks for more.

Reviewer: Elder in Ontario Signed [Report This]
Date: 24 Jan 2016 2:26 pm Title: Chapter 26 Freedom come, Freedom go

I can understand why it was hard for John and Cecily to start talking - too much has happened for there to be instant results there.  Loved Phoebe's breaking the ice with John, though.  I see what Dr. Wilmot is hoping to achieve, but I do hope his fiat won't send Cecily into another downward spiral at first.

A personal, or even pedantic "beef" - even though I know it's now common parlance to refer to "clients" instead of "patients", I still hate it - I suppose it's the fruits of living in a doctor's household all my life!  But that doesn't detract from my appreciation of this story, Myth Tree.

Reviewer: Minim Signed [Report This]
Date: 24 Jan 2016 1:58 pm Title: Chapter 26 Freedom come, Freedom go

Yes, I like Phoebe too. ;)

John, Cecily, the sooner you start talking, the sooner you can go love each other up again.

Reviewer: ivohenry Signed [Report This]
Date: 24 Jan 2016 1:50 pm Title: Chapter 26 Freedom come, Freedom go

Seems a bit drastic - but hopefully not for long. Dohope they will talk properly! 

Reviewer: Beecharmer Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 24 Jan 2016 11:34 am Title: Chapter 26 Freedom come, Freedom go

Interesting wonder why that is ? I understand not getting pregnant but no hugs or cuddling ? Interesting cecily is a bit relieved though. Thanks for more, now need even more!!

Reviewer: PaulineS Signed [Report This]
Date: 24 Jan 2016 11:15 am Title: Chapter 26 Freedom come, Freedom go

Help! I was not expecting that.  I hope they are seeing Wilmot soon. Perhaps the degree will get them talking about Wilmot and then to their own problems.

John was good with Phoebe

Reviewer: Beecharmer Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 23 Jan 2016 1:10 am Title: Chapter 25 Let it be

Glad she is laying some ghosts to rest a bit. Also that she is worried enough about her weight to ask.

Reviewer: PaulineS Signed [Report This]
Date: 22 Jan 2016 7:39 pm Title: Chapter 25 Let it be

Cecily. you dealt with Maggie very well, lets hope  it stops Maggie playing with knifes and sharp objects!  Pleased cecily is gaining weight and hope tomorrow goes well for her and John.

Reviewer: Elder in Ontario Signed [Report This]
Date: 22 Jan 2016 4:36 pm Title: Chapter 25 Let it be

Well done Cecily for her answers to Maggie - that was hard to do, but she was able to couch the information in a way that the child could understand, without revealing what had actually happened.  I'm glad she has this "cushion" week with Len and Reg, who can keep an unobtrusive eye on her but at the same time trust her to take responsibility for her own health and activites.  I'm sure it was sad for her to see Mrs. Jameson's home sold and empty - but good that she felt strong enough to go and see that for herself, not with Len.  Also good that she has put on weight.  (I went to school in York for 7 years in the 1950s, all the places mentioned during Friday are familiar to me, though I admit I don't recall a lot of eating places on Gillygate - no doubt that's all different now!) I can understand her being apprehensive about the meeting with John - do hope all will go well with that, and with their return home.

 

Reviewer: Minim Signed [Report This]
Date: 22 Jan 2016 1:22 pm Title: Chapter 25 Let it be

Good that she's putting on weight.

Reviewer: AnneM Signed [Report This]
Date: 21 Jan 2016 11:48 am Title: Chapter 24 I'm still waiting

So glad Cecily and John could talk to each other and start sharing their feelings properly. It was good that David could tell Cecily his reasons for not prescribing pills too quickly. I enjoyed the train journey at the end with Phil and Bits - I just hope that Bits can soon stop being so concerned about John and Cecily.

Reviewer: Elder in Ontario Signed [Report This]
Date: 20 Jan 2016 4:37 pm Title: Chapter 24 I'm still waiting

Glad that Cecily and John were finally "rewarded" with a proper length phone call, and that they were both able to be so positive about things.  At this point, I suspect that John still has a longer road to travel than Cecily; hopefully he will continue to make progress now he's started.  I like the idea of a "staged" discharge for Cecily - having the week with Reg and Len is a good start towards more normal life for her. I know David has done a huge amount for her, but at some level I'm surprised he has continued his active role in her treatment for so long, given that she is his first cousin; I hope that she will do well under Dr. Wilmot's care now. I still wonder what's wrong with Jem - do we ever find out?  David's response to the question was maddeningly uninformative!!  But good that Cecily realised that at this particular point, her aunt and uncle would prefer her space to her company, without being too upset by the fact. Nice that Phil and Bits were able to travel to Bristol with her;  Bristol to York is straightforward, if long-ish, but I hope she will manage the rest of the journey to Reg and Len without any problem.   

Thanks Myth Tree, this gradually unfolding path to recovery for both of them is so realistic.



Enter the security code shown below:
Note: You may submit either a rating or a review or both.