Reviews For The London Train
Reviewer: Beecharmer Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 11 Sep 2015 11:00 pm Title: Chapter 1

No idea who it is referencing, but enjoyed the story anyway :-) thanks.

Reviewer: Chatelaine Signed [Report This]
Date: 11 Sep 2015 4:22 pm Title: Chapter 1

I guessed who it when he explained why he'd stuck his head out the window!  He comes across far nicer in your story than I've been led to believe he did in real life.  He's one of my favourite poets, so I'm glad it was Grizel who got to meet him, and not the unsquashable Joey :-)

Reviewer: Nina Anonymous [Report This]
Date: 11 Sep 2015 1:03 am Title: Chapter 1

Yep, got it at Whitsun weddings.  But I have lived in Hull :-)

Reviewer: Finn Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 11 Sep 2015 12:27 am Title: Chapter 1

Forgot to add a rating, but will take the opportunity to show off and say that I got it as soon as you mentioned it was the day before Whitsun *smarty pants*

Reviewer: Finn Signed [Report This]
Date: 11 Sep 2015 12:25 am Title: Chapter 1

I love this very much. Neat, sweet and complete. Thanks for writing it :-)

Reviewer: shesings Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 10 Sep 2015 11:54 pm Title: Chapter 1

I had it when he said he was a librarian but what a well written piece about something which could quite easily have happened!

Reviewer: Seven Signed [Report This]
Date: 10 Sep 2015 7:14 pm Title: Chapter 1

Very interesting and clever the way you have woven his observations of the weddings on the journey with the book of poems he sends to Grizel.  Perhaps they will meet by chance again.

Reviewer: cal562301 Anonymous starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 10 Sep 2015 6:16 pm Title: Chapter 1

I'm pretty sure I know who the 'academic' is.  I'm not sure of the significance of the year, though.  

 

Interesting start. Looking forward to more.

Reviewer: Elder in Ontario Signed [Report This]
Date: 10 Sep 2015 4:19 pm Title: Chapter 1

I'm another who identified the librarian as soon as he said he worked in Hull - but I think I was an undergraduate there when Philip Larkin first became Librarian!!!  I really enjoyed that conversation between Grizel and himself, good that they continued to correspond afterwards. And I also remember taking the steam trains from Doncaster to Kings Cross, so this story made nostalgic reading for me from that point of view.

Thanks, Gottfried, I enjoyed this.

Reviewer: TumbleweedQueen Anonymous [Report This]
Date: 10 Sep 2015 2:26 pm Title: Chapter 1

I feel clever for working out who it was before he mentioned his name! A brilliant piece - hope we'll see more of your writing.

Reviewer: ivohenry Signed [Report This]
Date: 10 Sep 2015 1:50 pm Title: Chapter 1

 

Yes, guessed as soon as he said he was a librarian - also know title of thje poetry several yesrs later! Very clever! 

Reviewer: PaulineS Signed [Report This]
Date: 10 Sep 2015 12:41 pm Title: Chapter 1

Thank you.  The librarian from Hull gave it away for me.

Reviewer: Terry Signed [Report This]
Date: 10 Sep 2015 12:10 pm Title: Chapter 1

I think I get it but would need to check something.I enjoyed though,thank you.



Enter the security code shown below:
Note: You may submit either a rating or a review or both.