Reviewer: Jane Anonymous [Report This]
Date: 26 Jan 2015 1:22 pm Title: Letter from Elise La Pattre

This has all been most entertaining, thanks to one and all. However, Elle, asinus is surely ass in the context of donkey? Podex I think is the word you are after :-)

Reviewer: PaulineS Signed [Report This]
Date: 25 Jan 2015 4:26 pm Title: Letter from an older Nell Wilson

Did Nell retire before or after the OFSTED report?

Joey obviously needs hospital treatment for mental health issues if she still desires Quads at 72.  

Good for Len offering to be bridesmaid to Reg and Gaudenz.

 

Thank you all for the letters,  I have enjoyed reading them.

Reviewer: PaulineS Signed [Report This]
Date: 22 Jan 2015 5:40 pm Title: Letter from Bruno Maynard

Thank you,  Bruno did have an exciting year

Reviewer: PaulineS Signed [Report This]
Date: 21 Jan 2015 9:57 pm Title: Letter from Margot Maynard

Thank you,  Margot whistestop tour of the term is interesting in what she leaves out as well as what she included.

Reviewer: PaulineS Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 20 Jan 2015 7:03 pm Title: Letter from Tom Gay

I love the idea of Princess Anne having one of Tom's houses.  The letter really reflects Tom and her style.

Thank you

Reviewer: PaulineS Signed [Report This]
Date: 19 Jan 2015 10:41 pm Title: Letter from Ruth Lambert

Thanks good to see a parents eye view of jack pre CS.  I wonder if she improved in susequent years 

Reviewer: PaulineS Signed [Report This]
Date: 18 Jan 2015 10:37 pm Title: Letters from Joey Maynard

Tha contrast there is unbelievable!  Which one is the real "Joey"?  I hope it is the second one.  Thanks 



Author's Response: JS asked me which of the 2 she'd written she should put up ... I had to say 'both!', didn't I?

Reviewer: Audrey Anonymous [Report This]
Date: 18 Jan 2015 10:34 pm Title: Letters from Joey Maynard

Love both the Joey letters!

Reviewer: PaulineS Signed [Report This]
Date: 17 Jan 2015 5:37 pm Title: Letter from Karen

Thank you.  It is good to that Karen and Anna have each other and that they can get to know the local population.

Reviewer: PaulineS Signed [Report This]
Date: 17 Jan 2015 12:12 pm Title: Letter from Anna

Thank you.  I wonder how often Anna felt like sedating Jo?

Reviewer: PaulineS Signed [Report This]
Date: 15 Jan 2015 9:26 pm Title: Letter from Rosalie Dene

I would have thought that Rosalie answer that external phone would have been allowed to speak English and that girls and staff outside the School grounds should speak English.

I wonder why they never taught Welsh!

 Thanks I hope some reading Rosalie's letter let Madge know the problems the languages were causing.

Reviewer: PaulineS Signed [Report This]
Date: 14 Jan 2015 7:01 pm Title: Letter from Tristan Denny

I loved it that Tristan saw the funny side of Verity Anne's response to singing German words, and that he missed her in the other carols.

Thanks you.

Reviewer: PaulineS Signed [Report This]
Date: 14 Jan 2015 10:57 am Title: Letter from Doris Trelawney

Thank you, it is good to see Doris'spoint of view of the death of her husband and of Mary Lou at school. 

Reviewer: PaulineS Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 12 Jan 2015 11:20 pm Title: Letter from Frieda von Ahlen

Thank you Cestina,  it is a beautiful description of a Tyrol/Yorkshire Christmas.  It was a lovely thing to come home to after a busy day.

Reviewer: shesings Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 12 Jan 2015 11:04 pm Title: Letter from Madge Russell

Poignant! The School she had built form nohing gone and all the future uncertainty - this captures the mood of the time.

Reviewer: shesings Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 12 Jan 2015 11:02 pm Title: Letter from Margot Venables

Poor Margot, the chance of happiness snatched away from her. I wish EBD had thought of marriage between Margot and Ted, instead of being obsessed with wiping out parents wholesale just to give Jo another person to mother!

Reviewer: shesings Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 12 Jan 2015 1:05 am Title: Letter from Paula von Rothenfels

That's a real mid-teen letter - great!

Author's Response: A mid-teen letter from a mid-teenager - trust me, shesings, I know what I'm handling! - Someone

Reviewer: shesings Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 12 Jan 2015 12:56 am Title: Letter from a young Nell Wilson

Another cracker! And I should have guessed the author but Finn can do so many different styles!

Reviewer: shesings Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 12 Jan 2015 12:49 am Title: Letter from Grizel

I hope Grizel's Christmas was all she hoped it would be. That child got a raw deal from life.

Reviewer: shesings Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 12 Jan 2015 12:46 am Title: Letter from Simone

This I absolutely love! It was also the only one whose author I guessed correctly!

Reviewer: shesings Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 12 Jan 2015 12:45 am Title: Letter from Herr Braun

Good old Herr Braun, kindly and practical,

Reviewer: shesings Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 12 Jan 2015 12:43 am Title: Letter from Elise La Pattre

A lovely start!

Reviewer: shesings Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 12 Jan 2015 12:42 am Title: Letter from Sylvia Leigh

I suppose Sylvia's globe-trotting experiences could have had its uses in wartime.......sounds like an interesting drabble prospect!

Reviewer: PaulineS Signed [Report This]
Date: 11 Jan 2015 10:37 pm Title: Letter from Sylvia Leigh

Sylvia is being optimistic there!  At least we know that Lavender dained from being at school, I hope Sylvia did from being in the ATS. 

Reviewer: PaulineS Signed [Report This]
Date: 10 Jan 2015 8:45 pm Title: Letter from Hilda Annersley

I loved the term "local goodwife".  I think it is a good idea that someone is cooking their Christmas meal,  I think there should be cookery lessons for the staff, although that during the war is not a good time.   I think the staff could rival Cornelia and Joyce's efforts.  If some one wants the idea , they are welcome to use it.

Thanks Abbeybufo



Enter the security code shown below:
Note: You may submit either a rating or a review or both.