Reviewer: shesings Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 28 Nov 2014 12:26 am Title: Peggy 2

Ah poor Peggy! And Evvy is suffering just as much but being older, and wiser in the ways of the world, she can hide it better.

Reviewer: Catherine_B Anonymous [Report This]
Date: 27 Nov 2014 8:11 pm Title: Rhyll 1

Noooo!

Please... you promised us (sort of) a happy ending...?



Author's Response:

And I'm still envisaging one! :D

Reviewer: Seven Signed [Report This]
Date: 27 Nov 2014 7:51 pm Title: Peggy 2

Poor Peggy how hard for her but I hope that with time she can behave normally around Evvy and then perhaps Evvy will relent.  It must be just as hard for  her as for Peggy.



Author's Response:

Yeah, I think so too. Thanks for commenting. :)

Reviewer: Beecharmer Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 27 Nov 2014 2:04 pm Title: Peggy 2

Thank you! Very well described and poor peggy, but a good lesson for her in not showing her feelings so openly and that it is a skill that has to be learnt.

Reviewer: Catherine_B Anonymous [Report This]
Date: 27 Nov 2014 1:20 am Title: First day of term

Hmmm. I hope Peggy intercepts her at the door! 

But I agree with Evvy that Peggy shouldn't have to learn to dissemble. 

It's so sad that Mary can only use a word like "morbid" to describe what she is actually seeing, which *is* a young woman in love.

Can't wait for more. Really loving this story, it is beautifully written.

 



Author's Response:

Thank you.  That's really really lovely to read. :)

Reviewer: Jenny Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 24 Nov 2014 12:02 pm Title: First day of term

Oh dear. What a shame - and it all seemed so promising! Really enjoyiing this

Author's Response:

Thank you very much!

Reviewer: Seven Anonymous [Report This]
Date: 23 Nov 2014 3:08 pm Title: Rhyll 1

Oh dear, not what either of them was hoping for but I can understand why Evvy is drawing back.   Perhaps Peggy can learn to be more discrete?

Reviewer: Beecharmer Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 22 Nov 2014 11:39 pm Title: First day of term

Poor Peggy ! It's true though, she is too open for the situation they are in. :-(

Reviewer: shesings Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 21 Nov 2014 10:02 pm Title: Family Christmas 2

Lucky Peggy to have a sister and a cousin who care enough to worry about her and who are concerned rather than condemning.

Reviewer: Beecharmer Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 21 Nov 2014 7:27 pm Title: Family Christmas 2

Nice seeing the family reunion, and all the undercurrents. Thanks :-)

Reviewer: Fiona Mc Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 21 Nov 2014 1:44 am Title: Bristol

Thanks. Am really enjoying this and how relatable it is even if it's not my walk (if that makes sense?) 



Author's Response:

Makes perfect sense and is especially nice to hear, so thank you!

Reviewer: Beecharmer Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 18 Nov 2014 10:43 pm Title: Bristol

Really vivid, could just see the pub and see her reasoning, but am glad she ended up unable to go through with it. Website sounds interesting. Thanks for this story, am enjoying each update more than the last ! :-)

Author's Response:

Thank you, I'm pleased you're still enjoying it. The OutStories website is definitely worth a look when you've got a spare moment for it.

Reviewer: Seven Signed [Report This]
Date: 17 Nov 2014 11:36 pm Title: Family Christmas 1

Rhyll's mother comes alive here and it's a great description of what her life was like before she left home.  It describes perfectly the growing away from home of  the siblings and the aspirations of the parents.  The pressure on Rhyll to conform and produce the requisite husband and kids must have been immense.



Author's Response:

That's a lovely comment - thank you!

Reviewer: Beecharmer Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 17 Nov 2014 7:59 pm Title: Family Christmas 1

This is really well described, and gives so much information about the situation and Rhyll's own state of mind. Thank you for more, only now I want EVEN more please!

Author's Response:

:D Consider it done! Thank you.

Reviewer: shesings Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 17 Nov 2014 6:18 pm Title: Family Christmas 1

Poor Evvy! That was a very poignant description of a Christmas that doesn't live up to the prettified template.

Author's Response:

Thank you :)

Reviewer: Seven Signed [Report This]
Date: 14 Nov 2014 5:19 pm Title: A Cardiff reunion

Nice to see Hilda and Nell reunited after Nell's time at Welsen.  I'm with Sheshings here, not sure why Rosalie should feel less anxious because of Nell's reply to  her query about Con.  Does she  think Nell and Hilda are now in a relationship and perhaps Nell still harboured feelings for Con?



Author's Response:

I am eking this point out a bit, but not dropping the thread, promise - I am parking it for the next few chapters though. For clarity, Nell's curtness on the subject gives Rosalie her final bit of 'proof' that she had had a relationship with Con - in the context of other conversations.

In terms of Nell/Hilda, I'm kind of open-minded and haven't yet decided what - if anything - I'm going to do about that in this drabble. It doesn't feel like canon to me, in the way that Nell/Con very much does, but I'm definitely not averse to a bit of Nell/Hilda... it is one of the big questions I have yet to resolve here!

Reviewer: Fiona Mc Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 13 Nov 2014 10:35 am Title: A Cardiff reunion

I just keep enjoying this more and more and love the nuances to all the different relationships amongst the staff



Author's Response:

That's a lovely comment! I'm pleased you're enjoying it.

Reviewer: Fiona Mc Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 13 Nov 2014 10:34 am Title: Staff evening

I'm trying to remember Peggy's costume.  I'll have to go look it up



Author's Response:

In case you've not gotten around to it, or if this is of benefit to anyone else, here we go: "... Peggy Burnett, who had appeared in a summer frock with an enormous question mark stitched on both back and front and proved to be as puzzling as Miss Annersley and Miss Dene. She now stood revealed as 'Whose Body?' by Dorothy Sayers."

:)

Reviewer: shesings Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 12 Nov 2014 11:15 pm Title: A Cardiff reunion

Now, is Rosalie less anxious because she believes that Con and Nell had a relationship, that Hilda will certainly know that?

Author's Response:

:)

Reviewer: Beecharmer Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 12 Nov 2014 5:03 pm Title: A Cardiff reunion

Nice to see them all happily bickering, and like the image of Hilda being so pleased to get rid of Emerence.

Author's Response:

I love these three (plus Matey, on occasion) together; I always imagine they must be able to let their hair down much more when they don't have to set a good example to the rest of the staff... And I think Hilda must really miss that, when Nell goes to St Mildred's.

Reviewer: shesings Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 11 Nov 2014 10:13 pm Title: Staff evening

Loved the bit about Cicely and the crab apple - always admired her for that bit of gastronomic panache!

Author's Response:

Heh. I always think it's rather her defining moment - and not at all a bad one! Thanks for commenting.

Reviewer: Beecharmer Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 11 Nov 2014 5:20 pm Title: Staff evening

Nice to see them all interacting, and glad Peggy is happy. Thanks for more !

Author's Response:

And thank you for the comment!

Reviewer: AnneM Signed [Report This]
Date: 09 Nov 2014 5:58 pm Title: A lack of judgment

This is getting a bit dangerous....

Reviewer: Fiona Mc Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 09 Nov 2014 11:23 am Title: A lack of judgment

Poor Rhyll, after a lifetime of being cautious and understated and along comes Peggy who us so untried with all of this

Reviewer: Beecharmer Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 09 Nov 2014 1:17 am Title: A lack of judgment

Lovely scene, beautifully written. The chemistry between them very realistic, thank you.

Author's Response:

That's wonderful to read - thank you.



Enter the security code shown below:
Note: You may submit either a rating or a review or both.