Reviewer: Frances Hayes Anonymous [Report This]
Date: 28 Oct 2016 1:43 pm Title: A beginning

nice

Reviewer: Seven Signed [Report This]
Date: 20 Sep 2014 11:00 pm Title: In which loose ends are tied up, and small plans are made.

Lovely chapter and a brilliant take on Nell and Con.  But I agree with Beecharmer that at least one more chapter is needed - or a continuation in a new story.   



Author's Response:

Thank you very much. :)

Reviewer: Beecharmer Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 20 Sep 2014 9:58 pm Title: In which loose ends are tied up, and small plans are made.

um - no. That isn't a finish, that is a teaser for more chapters !! Or another story ! Thank you for a lovely introduction to them, confused me with the name change for a moment. :-) Thank you, loved this story.

Author's Response:

Thank you very much! Yeah, I am kind of feeling the urge to pick this up again sometime, but not just yet - it would need a (modest) level of research I don't immediately fancy...

Reviewer: Beecharmer Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 13 Sep 2014 8:49 pm Title: Some letters

I do like seeing them building together and missing each other so much, also that they have such different ways of seeing the Eustacia situation.

Author's Response:

Thanks for your lovely comments! I found this bit a bit tricky - I wanted to stay as close to canon as possible (because Nell & Con *totally* is canon) but they both say a number of odd things in the book which actually seem to me a bit out of character - like the ridiculous bit where Nell basically says it's Jo's fault Eustacia runs away because she wanted to be Jo's friend. So I'm trying to balance what *I* think both would have thought about it, with what EBD says (with rather more authority, obviously) they thought... I hope it works alright.

Reviewer: Beecharmer Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 13 Sep 2014 8:45 pm Title: Two whole days!

Lovely seeing them getting closer and very like Nell to be very fair about it all. Loving this, even if takes me a while to catch up at the moment :-)

Reviewer: jayj Anonymous [Report This]
Date: 12 Sep 2014 11:08 pm Title: Some letters

oh, lovely! I very much enjoyed the way the different shades of their personalities, and of their affection for each other comes through here. thank you! 



Author's Response:

Thank you!

Reviewer: jayj Anonymous starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 08 Sep 2014 8:51 pm Title: Two whole days!

two whole days and three whole nights :)

what I really like here and in other parts is how you're showing Con getting to know Nell better, by those moments of doubt or uncertainty that she has. It's very well done!



Author's Response:

Indeed! I can see why it might be *almost* worth breaking a foot for...

(And thanks for the lovely comment. :) )

Reviewer: Beecharmer Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 07 Sep 2014 10:40 pm Title: The Alpinists' hut

Thank you for this, it is good to see this situation in contrast to the peaceful scenes in bed. Thanks.

Reviewer: Beecharmer Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 07 Sep 2014 10:35 pm Title: The Stubai glacier

This is fitting together with the story really well, thank you. I'm glad they both feel the same way.

Reviewer: Beecharmer Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 07 Sep 2014 10:33 pm Title: ... And Nell

Such a likely feeling back story. The chemistry here is amazingly well portrayed. Thanks again.

Reviewer: Beecharmer Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 07 Sep 2014 10:21 pm Title: Con

Lovely seeing them learning about each other, and very realistic Con gradually realising that what she felt was not socially acceptable. Thank you.

Reviewer: Vick Anonymous [Report This]
Date: 07 Sep 2014 10:16 pm Title: The Alpinists' hut

I can clearly see Con's anxiousness for Nell in this as well as her worries about being the only adult in charge. 

Thanks crm :-)

Reviewer: Beecharmer Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 07 Sep 2014 12:06 pm Title: ... And Nell

Have got a bit behind, but am still reading and enjoying, will inundate you with reviews once have enough time but please continue !! :-)

Author's Response:

Heh. Thank you for all the catch-up reviews - it is really nice to know it's appreciated. :)

Reviewer: Seven Signed [Report This]
Date: 06 Sep 2014 4:17 pm Title: A beginning

Nell obviously knew from an early age she was different.  Harry introducing her to the alternative life style in London must have been amazing for her but how difficult life must have been for Nell after her parents and Cherry died.  It's not surprising she continued going to the same places to block out the pain but I can't really see Nell leading such a shallow life for long.  Bad luck she had someone at the school who knew about her.  Then the Chalet School came to the rescue!   A pity that in the end Con could not commit to her unless your story goes down a different route?  



Author's Response:

Thanks for the comment. The Chalet School *always* comes to the rescue! ;)

Reviewer: jayj Anonymous starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 06 Sep 2014 3:04 pm Title: ... And Nell

oh, poor young Nell! what a sad story, though it adds a lovely depth to her reactions towards Con throughout this. And it's great to see their developing closeness and trust throughout this. Thank you!



Author's Response:

Thanks :)

Reviewer: Seven Signed [Report This]
Date: 03 Sep 2014 11:35 pm Title: Con

ILovely two chapters and looking forward to what Nell has to say about her life.  I'm also wondering how the Stubai glacier adventure is going to turn out.



Author's Response:

Thank you very much! I shall get to Stubai shortly...

Reviewer: Vick Anonymous [Report This]
Date: 03 Sep 2014 9:39 pm Title: Con

Glad that Con felt able to share her intimacy with Nell.  Can understand her confusion as well.

Thanks crm :-)



Author's Response:

Thank you :)

Reviewer: jayj Anonymous starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 03 Sep 2014 6:54 pm Title: Con

gorgeous and lovely again. and again, beautifully written. I love Edith's gaydar (and disappointing lack of follow-through :) ). I think this is interesting, though:

not in the way I imagine a girl expects to love a husband

I wonder, are the seeds of Con's abrupt departure from the school and Nell already planted there in that turn of phrase? Anyway, Con's history's sketched in so well here, and I look forward to hearing Nell's!



Author's Response:

Thank you very much - I'm glad it worked well.

Reviewer: jayj Anonymous starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 03 Sep 2014 6:48 pm Title: A very pleasant half-term

oh, this is lovely - and very well written. This

giddy with tentative relief, punch-drunk on terrified abandon

is just a fabulous piece of writing, but lots else here is too.



Author's Response:

Thanks! It is especially nice to have good bits picked out. :)

Reviewer: Beecharmer Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 01 Sep 2014 7:28 am Title: A very pleasant half-term

Lovely, can just feel the tension between them. Am very glad there's more to come! Thank you :-)

Author's Response:

Thank you for your continuing encouragement. :) Struggling a bit with the next part atm - it's basically written but needs a thorough edit and fact-check - may get it up on here tomorrow though...

Reviewer: Seven Signed [Report This]
Date: 30 Aug 2014 7:37 pm Title: Fulpmes, and a little courage

Love this new take on Nell and Con and hoping for the next chapter soon.



Author's Response:

Thank you!

Reviewer: Vick Anonymous [Report This]
Date: 27 Aug 2014 7:15 pm Title: Fulpmes, and a little courage

Love the way they're teasing round each other & trying to test the water out.

Thanks crm :-)



Author's Response:

Thanks for the comment :)

Reviewer: Beecharmer Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 27 Aug 2014 12:43 pm Title: Fulpmes, and a little courage

Enjoying this thank you, your Con is gentler and less confident than my image of her, but that fits perfectly with such an early stage in their relationship and her being at the school. I hope there's LOTS more please.

*waves at jayj and suggests that reading this would be a very good bit of inspiration for her to write more Nell/Con/Nancy/Kathy/Mary Lou/Caroline drabble too pleeeeeease.

*Leaves food for all drabblers reading this - I need more Jack's War too please Vick...*

Author's Response:

Thank you - yes, I think this is definitely a specific scouting-out-new-relationship kind of shyness!

I think there may indeed be quite a lot to come - it seems to be taking me quite a whole to cover what is really only a page or two in the actual book. Very slow progress!

Reviewer: jayj Anonymous starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 26 Aug 2014 8:12 pm Title: To Innsbruck

oh, this is simply gorgeous! beautifully written, and very convincing. thank you, and I do hope you continue!



Author's Response:

That's a very lovely comment! Thank you.

Reviewer: Vick Anonymous [Report This]
Date: 26 Aug 2014 8:07 pm Title: To Innsbruck

Nice to see the expedition from Con's point of view.

Thanks crm :-)



Author's Response:

Thank you very much. :)



Enter the security code shown below:
Note: You may submit either a rating or a review or both.