Reviewer: Rietta Signed [Report This]
Date: 18 Jun 2016 5:44 pm Title: Chapter 2 - The Elephant's Child

Very much enjoying this so far! It's taken me all my willpower to stop reading here, but I must, because I have so much to do today. Definitely looking forward to returning to the rest later though! I absolutely adore how you capture the relationship between these two, and the banter between them is exquisite. I giggled insanely at the exchange about bookshops inside volcanoes, and in one or two other places. And I have to confess that it gives me a little thrill whenever I find parts like Nell's insatiable curiosity and think, "that's how I see Nell too!" Thank you for sharing this. I'll comment on the rest as and when I read =)



Author's Response: Thank you for reading and then sharing your views, Rietta. the banter seems to come naturally, because after writing about them for 11 years they speak for themselves. I know Nell doesn't come into ND much - though plays a very important art when she does - but they still speak for themselves.

Reviewer: Lyanne Anonymous [Report This]
Date: 08 Mar 2015 3:48 pm Title: Chapter 38 - Intrinsically One

Thank you Mary. I've laughed and cried at this - cried, knowing what Hilda will be going through, and smiled that she has these magical memories to look back at, when she can.

Reviewer: Seven Anonymous [Report This]
Date: 04 Mar 2015 1:42 pm Title: Chapter 38 - Intrinsically One

I've just seen this last chapter you posted Mary and what a beautiful end it is.  The words  Hilda wrote in Nell's book are so poignant and more so when a few short years later Nell is killed.   What a wonderful love and friendship they shared.

Reviewer: Fiona Mc Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 03 Mar 2015 9:13 am Title: Chapter 38 - Intrinsically One

That was lovely thank you



Author's Response: Thank you, Fiona.

Reviewer: ivohenry Signed [Report This]
Date: 01 Mar 2015 10:06 pm Title: Chapter 38 - Intrinsically One

Lovely ending! Thanks reposting his, I didn't see it first time round, may have been before I joined. Look forward to meeting Peter (?) in ND when you're able to get on with it again.



Author's Response: Thanks for reading and posting reviews, ivohenry.

Reviewer: shesings Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 01 Mar 2015 9:25 pm Title: Chapter 38 - Intrinsically One

Aw, I really didn;'t want this to end! Beautifully written as always, Mary - thank you!

Author's Response: Thank you, shesings.

Reviewer: PaulineS Signed [Report This]
Date: 01 Mar 2015 8:19 pm Title: Chapter 38 - Intrinsically One

ruth's words to Naomi were so true from them both that Hilda's grief in ND is explained.

 

Thanks Mary more ND soon please



Author's Response: Thank you, Pauline. You're a star! It's very hard to separate this from ND, isn't it?

Reviewer: Elaineb Anonymous [Report This]
Date: 01 Mar 2015 8:16 pm Title: Chapter 38 - Intrinsically One

While I'd dispute the idea that there would be little interest for more, it is a perfect ending here...

(Bookmarks the start of this so that I can read it from beginning to end when I need cheering up!)



Author's Response: Thank you, Elaine, and am so pleased to hear it would cheer you up when you feel down. If you want the doc, you're more than welcome.

Reviewer: Linda Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 01 Mar 2015 7:39 pm Title: Chapter 38 - Intrinsically One

A lovely contented end to this wonderful story, but I am so sad that it had to end. I have so enjoyed re-reading this and rediscovering gems which I had forgotten.

I love the unspoken complete understanding which exists between Hilda and Nell, but feel that Nell's thoughts about the link which has formed over the evening between Hilda and the still grieving Peter may be prophetic although in a different was to Nell's momentary fear. Peter May be able to help Hilda when (?) he resurfaces in ND.

Thank you Mary for lightening many winter evenings with the instalments of this story.

Author's Response: I really don't like saying goodbye to these characters when I write stories about them, Linda, so it's good that others feel the same about them. Maybe that's why ND goes on and on. I don't want it to end. *cries* And no, I have no intention of marrying Hilda off to Peter!! I think she's found her more perfect ending. I do lve the way you all assume it will be Peter who appears. She's going to US soon. Jake lives over there..... *winks evilly*

Reviewer: Elder in Ontario Signed [Report This]
Date: 01 Mar 2015 6:56 pm Title: Chapter 38 - Intrinsically One

This evening truly has been "the stuff that dreams are made of" hasn't it?  Memories, too, for that matter.  Yes, there has been sadness, in the telling of Peter's story, for instance, but there has also been joy and fun, laughter and pleasure as the evening has unfolded - and in sufficient quantities to allow Nell to forgive Hilda for all the pranks she had "arranged" for earlier on this birthday!!  That very poignant last line, though, once again reminds us of just how great Hilda's loss is in ND.  

I realise from all the hints you've dropped that at least one of the Sinclairs will appear before long in ND - I'm suspecting it will be Peter.  I wonder whether you will also explain to us just why the portrait of Julia touched Hilda so deeply?  If not, then it could make an intriguing short drabble I think.

Thank you, Mary for taking the trouble to re-post this; I have very much enjoyed being able to revisit it.

 



Author's Response: Oh, dear, Susan, you may have to wait a long, long time for the nugget about the portrait to appear in ND. No short drabble about it, I'm afraid. I'm horrid, aren't I? As to the Sinclairs, Hilda is going to the States shortly. Will she see Jake? I've no idea, as she has given me no clues. Thanks so much, Elder, for all the wonderful reviews you've written on this drabble, which I too am loath to leave.

Reviewer: cal562301 Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 01 Mar 2015 6:49 pm Title: Chapter 38 - Intrinsically One

A wonderful ending to an unforgettable day. I wish this story could go on, but realise it's run its course.

Thanks, Mary.

Author's Response: I know, Cal, I know. Maybe one day I'll get another glimpse of them, before Nell.... Well, you know! I quite wish Hilda would give me another glimpse of them with King Arthur and Fidelma, as that was great fun to write. Thanks for reviewing, Cal.

Reviewer: AnneM Signed [Report This]
Date: 01 Mar 2015 6:43 pm Title: Chapter 38 - Intrinsically One

Such a lovely, peaceful ending - thank you, Mary.



Author's Response: Thank you, Anne.

Reviewer: Linda Signed [Report This]
Date: 28 Feb 2015 8:21 pm Title: Chapter 37 - A Presence in the Emptiness

I love the way that this wonderful treat for Nell just keeps on giving. It really is the start of a friendship which will ultimately (I hope) provide support for Hilder in her depths of desolation in ND. Peter's own deep despair at not being able to be with Julia at the end will enable him to understand Hilda's feelings of guilt that she could not hold Nell in her final hours. I'm not surprised that her uncanny likeness to Julia stunned Hilda. I'd forgotten this part and it does help explain why these four are immediately so comfortable with each other.
Thank you Mary, I too am sorry that this lively interlude is coming to an end.

Reviewer: AnneM Signed [Report This]
Date: 25 Feb 2015 5:50 pm Title: Chapter 37 - A Presence in the Emptiness

I was still slightly spooked by Hilda's reaction to the portrait, even though I remembered it from last time round. Loved Nell's fierceness with Jake and her subsequent teasing!

Reviewer: Fiona Mc Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 25 Feb 2015 7:35 am Title: Chapter 37 - A Presence in the Emptiness

Thanks Mary. Am glad Nell gets to drive her car

Reviewer: shesings Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 24 Feb 2015 10:49 pm Title: Chapter 37 - A Presence in the Emptiness

Love the Wilde quote and what a splendid birthday it has been! Wish this wasn't the penultimate chapter - I wan't this story to go on!

Reviewer: PaulineS Signed [Report This]
Date: 24 Feb 2015 10:20 pm Title: Chapter 37 - A Presence in the Emptiness

Mary I loved the way Hilda lightened the atmosphere.  The teasing of Nell, Pater and Jake was masterly.

Thank you Mary.

Reviewer: Elder in Ontario Signed [Report This]
Date: 24 Feb 2015 10:12 pm Title: Chapter 37 - A Presence in the Emptiness

The resemblance between Hilda and Julia, at least as the latter is shown in that portrait, is so close as to be scary; I can see why it startled Hilda herself beyond words and even shook Nell.  I begin to see more clearly, too, how Peter might in due course be able to help Hilda in ND - he has clearly suffered and yet rebuilt a new life out of the ashes of his life with Julia. (Come to think of it, and knowing that he is a friend of Ian's, I'm almost surprised he hasn't already come in to ND - oh well....)

I just love the mixture of banter and of affection between all four of them in this scene- this very special evening is clearly the start of a wonderful new friendship for them all, one which won't be tarnished by distance or even death.  I hope Nell does drive that Silver Wrath before long, though.

Thank you, Mary.

 

Reviewer: AnneM Signed [Report This]
Date: 22 Feb 2015 2:15 pm Title: Chapter - The Haunted Chambers of the Night

Hilda makes it easy (ish) for  Peter to tell his story, and thus he finds help and renewal and a friendship comes into being. I hope he reminds her of this - though she is learning - when he pops up in ND.

Reviewer: Seven Anonymous [Report This]
Date: 21 Feb 2015 8:28 pm Title: Chapter - The Haunted Chambers of the Night

 Very astute of Hilda to suss out that they were twins but I would expect nothing less of her.  Peter has such a sad tale but I am glad that the four of them became friends.  I'm sure Peter and Jake will be supplying support for Hilda after Nell's death even if they have to do it at a distance.

 

Reviewer: Fiona Mc Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 21 Feb 2015 10:33 am Title: Chapter - The Haunted Chambers of the Night

I hope Maddie and Hilda get to meet

Reviewer: Anonymous Anonymous [Report This]
Date: 20 Feb 2015 10:26 am Title: Chapter - The Haunted Chambers of the Night

beautiful



Author's Response: Aw, thanks, Anonymous.

Reviewer: Linda Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 19 Feb 2015 11:17 pm Title: Chapter - The Haunted Chambers of the Night

A very poignant story of love and loss but one ultimate inspiration gained through Peter's long journey back from the depths of despair following the tragic loss of his soul mate, helped so much by Ian Stuart. You certainly made me weep, Mary, at the thought of Peter and Jullia, parted by illness, unable to physically support each other through those final months.

The final Longfellow poem just summed up the whole story so perfectly.

Thank you Mary.

Author's Response: Oh, I'm so pleased you liked the poem, Linda, as I felt, as you obviously did, that it was an apt response to Peter's painful story. It's one of my favourite poems, though I admit I would love to hear Hilda's beautiful voice reciting it.

Reviewer: Chalet Girl Anonymous [Report This]
Date: 19 Feb 2015 11:05 pm Title: Chapter - The Haunted Chambers of the Night

Interesting to see the similarities between Peter and Hilda and how he may be able to help her in her grief in ND. Thank you, Mary



Author's Response: Thank you, Chalet Girl.

Reviewer: shesings Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 19 Feb 2015 9:20 pm Title: Chapter - The Haunted Chambers of the Night

Thank you, Mary! That was just so beautiful.

Author's Response: Thank you, shesings. I'm sorry I took you from fun and frolic to more serious matters - but so often the two go hand in hand in life.



Enter the security code shown below:
Note: You may submit either a rating or a review or both.