Reviews For Turning the Tables
Reviewer: Rietta Signed [Report This]
Date: 05 Jun 2016 9:03 pm Title: Chapter 6 - Soft Moments of Peace

This was truly lovely. Some wonderful ideas, and I think you understand both Hilda and Nell very well. I was tearing up by the end knowing what you have written sequential to this! Thank you. =)



Author's Response: Oh, my goodness, and you've read all this too. You're a very brave lady, Rietta!! I'm so pleased you enjoyed it, as I know Hilda is by way of being your favourite person in the books, too. I just love writing about them, hence the much longer Hilda's Revenge, which came after this. Two lots of revenge, actually. *winks*

Reviewer: Jenny Anonymous starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 25 Jul 2014 12:44 am Title: Chapter 6 - Soft Moments of Peace

Oh Mary, this was so moving and joyous!  The depth of Hilda and Nell's relationship is sobeautiful.  I can't wait for Revenge, although after your latest accident I suppose it will be some time .....



Author's Response: You need wait no longer, Jenny. I am on the point of posting the first chapter.....

Reviewer: Seven Signed [Report This]
Date: 16 Jul 2014 10:45 pm Title: Chapter 6 - Soft Moments of Peace

A beautiful ending to a story of great love and friendship.



Author's Response: Thank you, Seven.

Reviewer: Fiona Mc Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 16 Jul 2014 12:26 pm Title: Chapter 6 - Soft Moments of Peace

That was lovely thank you



Author's Response: Thank you, Fiona.

Reviewer: Elennare Signed [Report This]
Date: 16 Jul 2014 5:34 am Title: Chapter 6 - Soft Moments of Peace

How lovely! Their love is just beautiful, and you show it so well in in its incredible depth.

That inscription is wonderful - I'm not surprised it moved Hilda to tears.

Thank you, Mary! And I shall keep a lookout for the sequel :)



Author's Response: Thank you for such a review, Elennare. You might have to wait a little as I fractured my scaphoid (bone in wrist) yesterday and am typing this one handed. I'll see how I go on...

Reviewer: Chalet Girl Anonymous [Report This]
Date: 15 Jul 2014 11:23 pm Title: Chapter 6 - Soft Moments of Peace

Such a beautifully written chapter that shows the depth of love between Hilda and Nell.

Look forward to Revenge, when you have a chance to post.

Thank you Mary



Author's Response: Thank you, Chalet Girl.

Reviewer: PaulineS Signed [Report This]
Date: 15 Jul 2014 9:04 pm Title: Chapter 6 - Soft Moments of Peace

Thank you Mary it id good to have this reminder of their relationship before Nell's death.



Author's Response: Thank you, Pauline. It does indeed bring home how lonely she will be when Nell dies.

Reviewer: Linda Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 15 Jul 2014 7:18 pm Title: Chapter 6 - Soft Moments of Peace

A wonderful end to an amazing day, very much deserved by Hilda. Mary, you left us with a beautiful peaceful picture of Hilda and Nell sitting together enjoying each others' company without the need for words.

Thank you for reposting this. I am so looking forward to renewing my acquaintance with the sequel.

Author's Response: Thank you, Linda, but there may be a hiatus before that happens. See Positive Thoughts in Rose Garden

Reviewer: Elder in Ontario Signed [Report This]
Date: 15 Jul 2014 6:55 pm Title: Chapter 6 - Soft Moments of Peace

How strongly Hilda and Nell's love for each other shines through here.  Yes, I know we see it through this entire story, but nowhere, I think, more strongly than in this final episode.  And seeing its strength, we can understand even more clearly why Hilda is so devastated by Nell's death, as shown first in Lesley's Tension - an Aside, and even more so in New Dreams.

Thank you, Mary - I will look forward to Hilda's Revenge whenever you start posting it.

 



Author's Response: Thank you for a loving review, Elder. Hopefully, I can post Revenge with one hand. *grins*

Reviewer: Fiona Mc Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 14 Jul 2014 11:22 am Title: Chapter 5 - Hilda Turns the Tables on Nell

Post away Mary dear or I'll be reading it in the archives. Love the way Hilda made sure Nell was honoured too

Reviewer: Beecharmer Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 13 Jul 2014 10:27 am Title: Chapter 5 - Hilda Turns the Tables on Nell

Lovely, thank you. Even though it is a reread, it's nice to read along. Have been manically busy and not drabble reading so taking a while to catch up! Like the tables being turned on Nell :-D

Reviewer: shesings Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 12 Jul 2014 12:39 am Title: Chapter 5 - Hilda Turns the Tables on Nell

Oh I did enjoy that - and if it helps, I loved Hilda's Revenge too.

Reviewer: Seven Signed [Report This]
Date: 11 Jul 2014 10:41 pm Title: Chapter 5 - Hilda Turns the Tables on Nell

What a wonderful gift from the families.  One up to Hilda for a neat turning of the tables on Nell!

Reviewer: Elennare Signed [Report This]
Date: 11 Jul 2014 10:07 pm Title: Chapter 5 - Hilda Turns the Tables on Nell

"Assuming that was the final curtain call and the festivities were now well and truly over, Hilda relaxed." A dangerous assumption, that! And relaxing? When she knows Nell's been plotting? tut tut ;)

Joey's an ass to give things away like that - but then again, if Hilda had walked in unprepared the shock might have been too much.

What a wonderful gift from the MBRs, and of course they have to send Nell along too! I love Nell getting the tables turned on her. 

I think, really, they both bring out the best and more than the best in each other.

I'd love to read the sequel :) 

Thank you, Mary.

Reviewer: Elennare Signed [Report This]
Date: 11 Jul 2014 9:54 pm Title: Chapter 4 - Write it on Your Heart

Oh, how beautiful. Their love just shines through. (And I like how Nell's sense of mischief leads her to tease Hilda about the correspondence even now!)

Reviewer: Elder in Ontario Signed [Report This]
Date: 11 Jul 2014 9:41 pm Title: Chapter 5 - Hilda Turns the Tables on Nell

I remembered that Hilda and Nell's round the world cruise was a gift from the Russell/Maynard/Bettany families, but had forgotten how the tickets were presented!!  I love Joey's breezy style of presentation, she hits just the right note, and I'm sure this helps Hilda, who is clearly overwhelmed by all that's happened already today.  But the way the tables are so firmly turned, as Nell's own contribution is acknowledged is truly the icing on the cake.

THank you, Mary.  I for one would love to see Hilda's Revenge again, please and thank you! :)  

Reviewer: PaulineS Signed [Report This]
Date: 11 Jul 2014 8:25 pm Title: Chapter 5 - Hilda Turns the Tables on Nell

Mary of cause we need Hilda's Revenge.  Thank you for posting this.  i thought I had read it before, but i certainly do not remember most of it.  I suspect that I remember events which are described in later sections of story.

I enjoyed Hilda turning the tables on Nell at the end of this post. 

Reviewer: Linda Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 11 Jul 2014 7:00 pm Title: Chapter 5 - Hilda Turns the Tables on Nell

That was wonderful. What a fantastic gift for not only Hilda but Nell too! I would gave loved for them to be on our World cruises. I'm imagining the wonderful conversations we could have had about the school and it's long, long history!

Thank you so much for reposting this and please, pretty please do post the sequel. Xx

Reviewer: shesings Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 10 Jul 2014 12:47 pm Title: Chapter 4 - Write it on Your Heart

Lovely to read this again!

Reviewer: AnneM Signed [Report This]
Date: 09 Jul 2014 5:50 pm Title: Chapter 4 - Write it on Your Heart

Gorgeous!

Reviewer: Fiona Mc Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 09 Jul 2014 11:16 am Title: Chapter 4 - Write it on Your Heart

Am loving this, thank you Mary

Reviewer: PaulineS Signed [Report This]
Date: 08 Jul 2014 11:04 pm Title: Chapter 4 - Write it on Your Heart

Thank you Mary.  I was wondering s well how Hilda was going to manage another meal so soon after the last one.  Perhaps a cup of tea would suffice.

Reviewer: Linda Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 08 Jul 2014 10:59 pm Title: Chapter 4 - Write it on Your Heart

A lovely, lovely interlude between Nell and Hilda. The love between them shines through all the banter.

I am so enjoying renewing my acquaintance with this brilliant story.

Thank you, Mary xx

Reviewer: Seven Signed [Report This]
Date: 06 Jul 2014 3:41 pm Title: Chapter 3 - A Standing Ovation

Hilda's reactions are so typical of her  - completely unaware of the effect she has on others.  Nell has done a wonderful job here from the lovely meal to the girls and staff showing her so much love.  Hilda must be colmpletely drained of emotion by now.



Author's Response: Thank you for the review, Seven. It was very kind of you when I think you must be word perfect. *grins*

Reviewer: Elennare Signed [Report This]
Date: 04 Jul 2014 7:22 pm Title: Chapter 3 - A Standing Ovation

Oh, lots, Elennare. You know Nell! *winks* Well, yes, that's exactly what's worrying me! :P And speaking of Le Petit Prince, I wonder where my copies have gone? (I have it in Spanish and English... I should try to get it in Fench really.)

What a beautiful speech from Len that was, and very fitting, too, that she should recap everything Hilda went through in her time as Head. I'm glad Nell spilled the beans about her battle to recover after the accident - she deserves recognition for that just as much as for the more public events (I remember looking up probable long-term effects of an injury like Hilda's, and being horrified by how severe they were). 

I love the gift! Hilda would never accept something for herself, but wouldn't be able to refuse something for the San or the School. And I love that she's struck speechless when she sees the amount on the check.

Now, what else does Nell have planned? I hope she's factored in some time for Hilda to recover from each shock before producing a new one!

Thank you, Mary.



Author's Response: Thanks for the lovely review, Elennare - but, you know, maybe just being with Nell is rest enough.



Enter the security code shown below:
Note: You may submit either a rating or a review or both.