Reviewer: Jenny Anonymous starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 25 Jul 2014 11:16 pm Title: Epilogue

Thanks Finn.  This was a very moving piece. 

Reviewer: Fiona Mc Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 25 Jul 2014 11:57 am Title: Epilogue

Thanks. It would be nice if there was a Tristain out there with the full orchestral music. He certainly made and impression on EBD that I'm sure she would be happy to know you're going to write something honouring him

Reviewer: ivohenry Signed [Report This]
Date: 23 Jul 2014 11:30 am Title: Epilogue

Thanks for this one, Finn. Shame Tristan didn't succed in getting Farrar's music more widely known! Though at least a lot of EBD readers know his name!

Reviewer: chattie Signed [Report This]
Date: 23 Jul 2014 9:54 am Title: Epilogue

This was a poignant story, Finn, and it would be great to see it published to revive interest in Farrar's music!

If it's of any interest, here's the entry from the index to the Commonwealth Graves (B27 is, I think, the plot number for the cemetery):

UK Commonwealth War Graves 1914-1921: Index No Fr. 1463 Ronssoy Com. Cem.

FARRAR, 2nd Lt Ernest Bristow. 3rd attd. 16th (Royal Devon and Royal North Devon Yeomanry) Bn. Devonshire Regiment. 18th Sept 1918. Age 33. Son of the Rev. and Mrs C.D. Farrar, of Micklefield Vicarage, Leeds; husband of Olive Wilhelmina Farrar, of 15, Hollins Rd., Harrogate. Scholar of the Royal College of Music. Composer and Organist. B. 27

Reviewer: Joanne Signed [Report This]
Date: 23 Jul 2014 3:39 am Title: Chapter 1

Good luck with making something else out of this - it is a lovely story and from what you have said, Farrar deserves to be better known.

Reviewer: jane Anonymous [Report This]
Date: 23 Jul 2014 12:17 am Title: Chapter 1

I must have missed this back in February - just read it all. Intriguing take, as always. I still recall the frisson I experienced about twenty years ago seeing Farrar's name at the RCM as I hadn't realised he was real... And I  didn't know he taught Finzi. Thanks, Finn.

Reviewer: shesings Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 07 Feb 2014 5:23 pm Title: Chapter 1

Ah, has Tristan discovered some music he, or a friend, composed many years ago? Look forward to more!

Reviewer: Elder in Ontario Signed [Report This]
Date: 06 Feb 2014 11:35 pm Title: Chapter 1

Oh!  Intriguing beginning!!  I love the way Tristan is building his hopes for glory on seeing Nina accomplish things which he has never managed to do.  Also wondering what hidden treasures he will find in that pile of manuscripts. 

Thanks, Finn

Reviewer: PaulineS Signed [Report This]
Date: 06 Feb 2014 11:20 pm Title: Chapter 1

A facinating start.  thanks Finn



Enter the security code shown below:
Note: You may submit either a rating or a review or both.