Reviews For Dare To Live
Reviewer: AnneM Signed [Report This]
Date: 03 Oct 2012 12:44 pm Title: Chapter 14

Interesting to see the approach of war from Rosemary's point of view as a schoolgirl growing up. And good advice from Carla about Connie talking to her mama about how she sees their future.

Thanks, Pim.

Reviewer: Joanne Anonymous [Report This]
Date: 30 Sep 2012 8:43 am Title: La solitudine fra noi

Great to see more of this!

Thanks.

Reviewer: Elder in Ontario Signed [Report This]
Date: 29 Sep 2012 11:06 pm Title: Chapter 14

I really like the way you juxtapose both Rosemary's story of her life as she is writing it down for Connie with the events of that time - those gathering clouds of war which so few wanted to recognise are drawn very clearly here - and this present time in both their lives,  It's lovely to see the relationship between Connie and Carla deepening in such a short time, too.  Clearly, too, there was more to Carla and John's relationship than Rosemary ever knew.  

The words of Carla's last phrase are so true - sometimes it really is better to live with the memories of a place than to try and re-visit it.  

Thanks, Pim - it's always good to see more of this.

 

Reviewer: Bert Anonymous [Report This]
Date: 17 Aug 2012 11:05 am Title: Siamo qui

Hurrah for school pals.  Do we get to hear anymore about them in the future?

Reviewer: shesings Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 16 Aug 2012 10:45 pm Title: Siamo qui

Wonderful to see this back - thank you!

Reviewer: Elder in Ontario Signed [Report This]
Date: 24 Jul 2012 7:42 pm Title: Perché, perché

So, summer in Italy for Rosemary and Connie - that should be wonderful for them both.  What a contrast to this section of Rosemary's memoirs.  No matter how she dislikes the prospect of moving to England and going to school, her father's anxiety over the ever-worsening situation in Europe rightly outweighs his own desire not to be parted from her, although in many ways, it is the parting from Carla which Rosemary feels the most.  Not surprising, either that she finds settling into school life so hard.

Thanks, Pim, this continues to be fascinating.

Reviewer: shesings Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 13 Jul 2012 8:14 pm Title: Chissà se tu mi penserai

This is magical.

Reviewer: Elder in Ontario Signed [Report This]
Date: 12 Jul 2012 11:24 pm Title: Chissà se tu mi penserai

Well, things may starting to make sense to Rosemary, but they aren't making too much sense to me, yet, I have to admit. But I have not doubt, it I'm patient, all will be explained.

However I do share Rosemary's thankfulness that Carla is so much better than they had feared, and at the same time, understand her reluctance to leave her - Carla was such a huge part of her early life.  Connie can afford to miss the rest of term and attend the local school, but I do hope Rosemary won't put her own job in jeopardy through staying away longer.

I'm sure that in due course, too, Connie will be able to read the memoirs Rosemary is writing down so carefully and appreciate what they tell her about her mother's earlier years.  Thanks, Pim - I'm continuing to enjoy this.

 

Reviewer: Bert Anonymous starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 11 Jul 2012 6:14 pm Title: Senza passato

You just made go from laughter to tears in a the space of a setence.  Lovely update, thank you.

Reviewer: Alison H Signed [Report This]
Date: 11 Jul 2012 8:46 am Title: Senza passato

I want to go back to Greece now! She's getting a wonderful chance to see some of the most interesting places in the world.

Reviewer: Catherine Signed [Report This]
Date: 09 Jul 2012 4:03 pm Title: La solitudine fra noi

I've just caught up with all of this. 

Wow! is about all I can think of to say! Your writing is so evocative. 

So good to have another pim story!  It's been WAY too long!

Reviewer: Elder in Ontario Signed [Report This]
Date: 05 Jul 2012 11:51 pm Title: Senza ti

Phew!!!  I have to admit I was gnawing my finger ends until I found out whether or not Carla was still alive when Rosemary and Connie arrived!  I can imagine how hard it was for Rosemary to get leave from school just at that stage of the term, but clearly it was urgent for them to make this journey with the least possible delay.  I also enjoyed the latest instalment in the memori Rosemary is writing for her daughter - clearly it was John who did so much to nurture her interest in history.

Thank you, Pim, both for this next instalment, and also for not keeping us waiting too long to find out that indeed, Carla is still alive, at least for now.

Reviewer: Karita Anonymous [Report This]
Date: 05 Jul 2012 3:16 pm Title: Flow, river, flow

I've just read this all in one go and I absolutely love it, especially switching between past and present.

Reviewer: Joanne Anonymous [Report This]
Date: 05 Jul 2012 9:37 am Title: Flow, river, flow

Really enjoying this story - thanks! Looking forward to her next adventure but sad to think of the news the letter brings.

Reviewer: Alison H Signed [Report This]
Date: 05 Jul 2012 7:48 am Title: Flow, river, flow

The trip through the Balkans sounds amazing!

Reviewer: Elder in Ontario Signed [Report This]
Date: 05 Jul 2012 1:36 am Title: Flow, river, flow

I know I'm not commenting much, Pim, but I am really enjoying this.  Despite the inevitably peripatetic existence of her father's diplomatic moves, Rosemary was very fortunate to be able to experience life in so many cities while she was still young enough to adapt easily to each one, and to have such an eager travlling companion and caregiver as Carla.  Once completed, Rosemary's story will tell Connie so much about her mother's growing years. 

Thank you.

Reviewer: shesings Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 05 Jul 2012 12:12 am Title: Flow, river, flow

Oooohhh, that's a nasty cliff, pim, is it the end for Carla? Love the bit about Bratislava, one of my favourite cities!

Reviewer: MaryR Signed [Report This]
Date: 29 Jun 2012 6:31 pm Title: An interlude

Have just read all of this in one go, Pim, and have really enjoyed it. But her grief is so hard....

Reviewer: AnneM Signed [Report This]
Date: 28 Jun 2012 4:05 pm Title: An interlude

They all seem very happy together. But personally I think Rosemary should take Connie to see again Carla before it's too late.

Really enjoying this. Thanks, Pim.

Reviewer: shesings Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 27 Jun 2012 11:54 pm Title: An interlude

What a lovely reunion, and how warm and understanding Ruth is....Rosemary is fortunate in her friends.

Reviewer: shesings Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 24 Jun 2012 1:42 pm Title: La solitudine fra noi

This is lovely, but I am now wibbling about Rosemary's health! Is she writing her history down because she is ill? I know she said she wasn't going anywhere but.......

Reviewer: Elder in Ontario Signed [Report This]
Date: 20 Jun 2012 11:15 pm Title: Non si può vivere senza passato

This continues to be fascinating, Pim, and I'm really enjoying it. Thank you.

Reviewer: shesings Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 20 Jun 2012 8:10 pm Title: Non si può vivere senza passato

This is fascinating, pim, and so well written that I feel I am in the story!

Reviewer: Bert Anonymous [Report This]
Date: 19 Jun 2012 1:21 pm Title: Se ti saprei dimenticare

Hurrah for Rosalind and Ruth

*sneaks some baby cuddles*

Reviewer: cal562301 Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 16 Jun 2012 10:37 pm Title: La solitudine fra noi

Just found this, but really enjoying it. Thanks, Pim.



Enter the security code shown below:
Note: You may submit either a rating or a review or both.