Reviews For Subtext
Reviewer: Pie-faced loon Anonymous [Report This]
Date: 09 Mar 2018 1:47 pm Title: Repairing

OK, now I've finished the book, and I agree, it is not a good detective story, since there's nothing to detect.

The portraits of the female couple are weird, but the daughter is one of the least revolting people in the book, so I'm prepared to forgive her.

Reviewer: Pie-faced loon Anonymous [Report This]
Date: 09 Mar 2018 6:14 am Title: Reading

I've just bought the book, having heard of it from this drabble, and have not yet got to Charmian.  But I will say this: it's about time someone murdered Penhallow!  He reminds me of the awful oldman in 4:50 from Paddington.

Reviewer: PaulineS Signed [Report This]
Date: 20 Apr 2014 12:51 pm Title: Reading

I missed this when you posted it so came to the complete tale via the random story selector.  Thanks I enjoyed it.  I workrd with aeveral pairs of women who lived together at the start of my career and only wondered about them many years later.  I do not think girls of the sixties liviing the CS sheltered lives would be any more aware than I was,

Reviewer: Beecharmer Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 19 May 2013 10:15 pm Title: Repairing

Lol! Like this scene - see now I need a lot more in this world, with slightly older Felicity and Lucy, like their relationship with Kathy here. Lol to dropped book but arghhhhhhh at the idea of it being an Enid Blyton!! *goes pale and looks sternly at own book collection to tell it that it better not go swimming.

Reviewer: Vick Signed [Report This]
Date: 19 May 2013 10:10 pm Title: Repairing

hahahahahahaha!  Love Felicity's cheeky suggestion there.  Now I'm going to have to go back and read the rest of this drabble because I've completely forgotten ther story, it's taken you so long to update.... ;-)

Thanks Eleanore :-D

Reviewer: Beecharmer Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 15 Jan 2013 6:57 pm Title: Reviewing

Had forgotten this ! Thanks for posting, and more please!

Reviewer: emma t Signed [Report This]
Date: 23 Jan 2012 7:59 pm Title: Reading

Giggled at this, thanks Eleanore! :-D



Author's Response:

Glad you liked it - thanks for the review :)

Reviewer: Vick Signed [Report This]
Date: 23 Jan 2012 1:05 am Title: Reading

Oh, bless them!  Love Kathie supervising Nancy's reading though,

Thanks Eleanore :-D



Author's Response:

Poor Nancy, though, having to put up with Kathie leaping up every few minutes to peer over her shoulder or interrupt her with repetitions of 'Where are you up to now?'

If I'd been Nancy, I might have actually ended up flinging the book at her ;)

Reviewer: Beecharmer Signed [Report This]
Date: 22 Jan 2012 10:09 pm Title: Reading

Jayj said ::: I love all of this - and the idea of Nancy and Kathie discussing literary subtexts amuses me no end :-)

"The important point is that they're in there at all - two women, living as a couple, in a book written by a well-known author. Elinor M. Brent Dyer! She's positively mainstream - even the girls are allowed to read her books...." :-D

You know I'm so dim that hadn't occurred to me... I like this even more now! Sorry if you thought I was a real person reviewing. The SDL really needs a "like" button !!

Reviewer: jayj Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 22 Jan 2012 9:55 pm Title: Reading

I love all of this - and the idea of Nancy and Kathie discussing literary subtexts amuses me no end :-)

"The important point is that they're in there at all - two women, living as a couple, in a book written by a well-known author. Elinor M. Brent Dyer! She's positively mainstream - even the girls are allowed to read her books...." :-D



Author's Response:

Well, it's only natural that they'd pick up on some of these things. Bet they'd see subtext between Nell Wilson and Con Stewart, too, if they ever got hold of the early Chalet School books ;)

Reviewer: Beecharmer Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 22 Jan 2012 9:28 pm Title: Reading

Thank you for posting ! I still giggle at that Turkish Delight bit. I like Kathy supervising to make sure she reads it too!

Author's Response:

I think Kathie had good reason - I imagine Nancy would have tossed the book aside about ten seconds after the door had closed if Kathie had just left her to it (and I wouldn't have blamed her, either!)



Enter the security code shown below:
Note: You may submit either a rating or a review or both.