Reviewer: MaryR Signed [Report This]
Date: 30 Oct 2011 9:24 pm Title: Chapter 9 27/10/11

I'm so glad the writing of this helped you, Ruth. It was a very moving piece, and you demonstrated the sadness of Mary-Lou's friends so well.

Reviewer: lexyjune Signed [Report This]
Date: 30 Oct 2011 7:09 pm Title: Chapter 1 30/09/11

Thank you for a very moving story.

Reviewer: PaulineS Signed [Report This]
Date: 29 Oct 2011 2:33 pm Title: Chapter 9 27/10/11

Thank you, pleased it was natural causes.  I am sure Mary Lou would want to go at her most active, even if hard for everyone. 

Glad that writting it has helped you, the death of a young person is always hard on those they leave behind.

Reviewer: Vick Signed [Report This]
Date: 28 Oct 2011 9:53 pm Title: Chapter 9 27/10/11

A positive ending for a sad piece.

Thanks Ruth :-)

Reviewer: Elder in Ontario Signed [Report This]
Date: 28 Oct 2011 5:33 pm Title: Chapter 9 27/10/11

I'm glad that my original suspicion, that Mary Lou's resulted from a previously unknown heart condition, was the correct one - unfortunately, it is perhaps a more common cause of unexpected death in comparatively young people than we might expect.  The reactions of various family and friends rang very true, too. 

Thank you, Ruth, for a well told and very moving story.  I'm also glad to know that writing it has helped you deal with a difficult anniversary in your own life.

 

 

Reviewer: Alison H Signed [Report This]
Date: 28 Oct 2011 8:49 am Title: Chapter 9 27/10/11

Thanks for writing this - writing can be a big help sometimes, and I'm glad this's been a help to you.

Reviewer: shesings Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 27 Oct 2011 11:08 pm Title: Chapter 9 27/10/11

This has been so moving and a beautifully constructed story, Ruth. Thank you.

Reviewer: Vick Signed [Report This]
Date: 23 Oct 2011 11:57 pm Title: Chapter 8 23/10/11

So sad to see the reactions of different people who had crossed Mary-Lou's path & the indelible mark she had left on them.

Thanks Ruth :-)

Reviewer: Alison H Signed [Report This]
Date: 23 Oct 2011 11:49 pm Title: Chapter 8 23/10/11

Poor everyone :-(.

Reviewer: MaryR Signed [Report This]
Date: 17 Oct 2011 9:12 pm Title: Chapter 7

Tony feels like WH Auden, when it comes to the awful fact that life goes on despite someone's death:

Stop all the clocks, cut off the telephone,
Prevent the dog from barking with a juicy bone....


Poor both of them, having to re-live it all and wondering what they could have done differently.

Reviewer: Vick Signed [Report This]
Date: 17 Oct 2011 12:37 am Title: Chapter 7

How awfukl for Tony to have watched it happen.  Glad they managed to keep their wits about them, for a short time at least.

Thanks Ruth :-)

Reviewer: lyanne Anonymous [Report This]
Date: 12 Oct 2011 6:17 pm Title: Chapter 6

Very realistic, the blaming oneself, the finding it so hard to take it...  And the way the characters are behaving is true to themselves.

Reviewer: Vick Signed [Report This]
Date: 11 Oct 2011 11:07 pm Title: Chapter 6

Oh, poor Vi!  That must have been such a shock to hear that her best friend was dead.  I'm not surprised that she's struggling to process her thoughts at the moment.

Thanks Ruth :-)

Reviewer: Elder in Ontario Signed [Report This]
Date: 10 Oct 2011 12:02 am Title: Chapter 5

So finally we know who it it - Mary-Lou was certainly one of the people I'd been wondering about.  I'm not totally surprised at Emerence's reaction - after all, she had been responsible for the other girl's serious injury while they were all still at school. For all their shock, too, I can imagine why Jack would be beset with concern that such a sudden, fatal heart attack might have been drug-related - I do hope it won't turn out to be so.  I'm also gald that Jo insisted they break the journey overnight - much better than driving straight through and arriving exhausted.   

Personally, I'm hoping that the heart attack was caused by some abnormality which had not been spotted - there are a number of causes of sudden death from heart attacks in relatively young adults.  No doubt we shall learn in time.

Thanks, Ruth.

 

Reviewer: Vick Signed [Report This]
Date: 09 Oct 2011 2:03 pm Title: Chapter 5

That's a really touching scene with Jo and Jack.  I love that they were gaining comfort from each other just by holding hands.

Thanks Ruth :-)

Reviewer: Chair Signed [Report This]
Date: 09 Oct 2011 12:46 am Title: Chapter 5

Thanks, Ruth. I had wondered if it was Robin for a while - I was very intrigued! Still wondering what exactly caused the death and look forward to reading more.

Reviewer: cal562301 Anonymous [Report This]
Date: 06 Oct 2011 6:06 pm Title: Chapter 1 30/09/11

Just found this.  Very moving and believable. Thanks Ruth.

Looking forward to more.

Reviewer: JB1 Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 05 Oct 2011 7:42 am Title: Chapter 4 04/10/11

Yay. I guessed. And you were right about the lynching :-)

Reviewer: Vick Signed [Report This]
Date: 04 Oct 2011 10:25 pm Title: Chapter 4 04/10/11

Erk!  Poor Emerence.  Hope Margot's train of thought is wrong for how she died.

Thanks Ruth :-)

Reviewer: cestina Signed [Report This]
Date: 04 Oct 2011 9:58 pm Title: Chapter 4 04/10/11

Oh goodness I do hope it wasn't caused by Emerance.   Possibly untreated Kawasaki Syndrome when she was a child leading to heart damage?

 

How beautifully you have led up to this revelation Ruth. Thank you

Reviewer: Amanda M Anonymous [Report This]
Date: 04 Oct 2011 12:12 am Title: Chapter 1 30/09/11

I'm liking this but am very curious as to who's died - and why Joey would be affected most by it

Reviewer: Elder in Ontario Signed [Report This]
Date: 03 Oct 2011 9:46 pm Title: Chapter 3 03/10/11

Hmm - so not Margot, which is what I'd been starting to think.  I've got some other ideas, but will keep them to myself for now!  Please, Ruth, don't keep us guessing for *too* long, will you?

Reviewer: AnneM Signed [Report This]
Date: 03 Oct 2011 5:25 pm Title: Chapter 1 30/09/11

What a cliff! I have an idea but don't want to put it forward in case it spoils things...........

Come back soon, please, Ruth!

Reviewer: Vick Signed [Report This]
Date: 03 Oct 2011 3:44 pm Title: Chapter 3 03/10/11

I'm still stuck on this cliff!  *contemplates looking for abseiling equipment*

Poor Len, having to make those calls and tell everyone the bad news.  Glad Con and Bride are there to support her.  I had to smile at Anna's insistence that sweetened coffee is good for shocks.

Thanks Ruth :-)

Reviewer: lexyjune Signed [Report This]
Date: 03 Oct 2011 2:38 pm Title: Chapter 1 30/09/11

Please come back soon and tell us who has died. Please,Please.



Enter the security code shown below:
Note: You may submit either a rating or a review or both.