Reviewer: suminghan75 Signed [Report This]
Date: 18 Mar 2018 11:26 pm Title: Chapter 1 - Lausanne

jordan retro
fitflop shoes
nike air max 95
ultra boost uncaged
salomon shoes
pandora bracelet
adidas nmd
stephen curry
nike air max 2018
yeezy 350
air jordan xi
kate spade new york
nike air vapormax flyknit
kevin durant shoes
hermes bag
fit flops
kyrie 4
longchamp bag
pandora rings
yeezy boost 750
pandora
red bottom heels
hermes bag
puma running shoes
lebron 13

Reviewer: suminghan75 Signed [Report This]
Date: 16 Mar 2018 9:45 pm Title: Chapter 1 - Lausanne

kd
lebron 13
fit flops
jordan 11
adidas ultra boost mens
kate spade sale
nike vapor max
salomon
nike air max 2016
yeezy boost 750
ultra boost
nike cortez
christian louboutin heels
pandora jewelry
hermes birkin bag
hermes handbags
jordan 12
fenty puma shoes
pandora rings
pandora
fit flops
ultra boost uncaged
longchamp le pliage
kyrie 2 shoes
under armour stephen curry men

Reviewer: suminghan75 Signed [Report This]
Date: 16 Mar 2018 7:55 am Title: Chapter 1 - Lausanne

nike shoes
jordan 4
jordan 1
kyrie 2
kd 5
hermes bag
nike air max 95
ultra boost mens
fit flops
hermes bag
pandora jewelry
adidas nmd womens
red bottom shoes
adidas yeezy boost 350 v2
salomon speedcross 4
kate spade
fitflop sale
pandora bracelet
lebron soldier
puma running shoes
curry shoes
air max 97
yeezy boost
pandora jewelry
longchamp backpack

Reviewer: suminghan75 Signed [Report This]
Date: 13 Mar 2018 9:51 pm Title: Chapter 1 - Lausanne

hermes handbags
new jordans
kevin durant shoes
adidas ultra boost uncaged
puma clyde
fitflops clearance
nike kd 8
adidas nmd r1 womens
hermes wallets
kyrie irving
longchamp bag
jordan 3
adidas yeezy boost 350 v2
fitflop sandals
pandora rings
nike air max 2017
kate spade bags
air max 95
pandora charms
salomon shoes
pandora bracelet
nike air max women
louboutin sneakers
lebron
adidas yeezy boost 350 v2

Reviewer: suminghan75 Signed [Report This]
Date: 09 Mar 2018 3:22 pm Title: Chapter 1 - Lausanne

adidas yeezy boost 350
yeezy boost 350 v2
air max 97
kd 9
salomon
hermes belts
fit flops
lebron james shoes
pandora charms
jordan 1
curry 3
pandora jewelry
air max thea
hermes bag
adidas ultra boost
fit flops
christian louboutin mens
lebron 10
nike air max women
air jordan xi
kate spade tote
pandora jewelry
adidas ultra boost women
rihanna puma shoes
longchamp backpack

Reviewer: suminghan75 Signed [Report This]
Date: 09 Mar 2018 1:50 pm Title: Chapter 1 - Lausanne

louboutin shoes
curry shoes
longchamp
ultra boost
lebron 9
pandora
jordan 3
fitflop sale
adidas ultra boost uncaged
nike air force 1
kyrie 3s
pandora jewelry official site
fitflop
hermes purse
hermes birkin
fenty puma slides
air max
kate spade new york
air jordan xi
pandora jewelry official site
nike vapor max
salomon speedcross 4
kevin durant
yeezy 750
adidas originals nmd

Reviewer: suminghan75 Signed [Report This]
Date: 09 Mar 2018 1:43 pm Title: Chapter 1 - Lausanne

red bottom shoes for women
jordan 11 space jam
salomon speedcross 4
kyrie irving shoes
pandora jewelry
kate spade bags
hermes bag
hermes birkin
kyrie irving shoes
yeezy
adidas boost
fitflop uk
stephen curry new shoes
jordan 3
pandora jewelry official site
adidas ultra boost
yeezy boost 750
nike air max 95
nike flyknit
puma sandals
pandora jewelry official site
nike air max 95
nike kd 8
fitflop uk
longchamp

Reviewer: Amira Anonymous [Report This]
Date: 18 Feb 2015 8:17 pm Title: Chapter 1 - Lausanne

I'm not at all sure I should be re-reading this right now. It's so very close to the bone. Vivien's gifts astound me, and I wish I were more like her. And I had forgotten how very powerful some of the quotations are. Thank you once again, Mary - what a wonderful guide on the path of grief and love this story has been.

Reviewer: MHE Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 07 Aug 2011 11:11 pm Title: Chapter 12 - End of Term

After many weeks RL has finally calmed down enough for me to catch up with the story in this volume of A New Dream.  What a packed volume it has been, with the mood swinging faultlessly from joy to despair.  As always I am in awe of your ability Mary, as you bring to life these scenes from Hilda’s journey towards her New Dream. 

I feel as if I have been really there with Hilda as she has faced these months without Nell’s comforting presence.  I’d forgotten how powerful your description of that nightmare walk of Hilda’s is – every painful step of hers was brought to life by the magic of your pen.  I still wanted to thump Jack for being so insensitive as to brush Hilda’s questions about Ian to one side. Thank goodness Mother Abbess was granted leave to fly to the Platz for her presence was sorely needed.

As for the two new scenes that you have given us here – they were wonderful.  The girls must surely have been wondering what had happened to both Hilda and Ian.  Like Elder, I too think that Mireille's 'definition' of what Hilda does was spot on.  I’m sure that Mother Abbess’ words will have left a lasting impression on both girls and mistresses.

Poor Hilda though, after all she’s been through since Nell’s death I expect that she would much rather that Christmas could be by-passed completely.  Thank goodness though that she will be in Mother Abbess’s loving care.

Thank you Mary, for painting and sharing with us such a wonderful word picture.

 

Reviewer: Identity Hunt Anonymous [Report This]
Date: 01 Aug 2011 10:48 am Title: Chapter 12 - End of Term

I'd forgotten about the doves !  What fun to read that section again, and experience the delight all over again!

I've never actually heard the Coventry Carol being sung, and must hunt for it on YouTube.

 

Thank you, Mary !

Reviewer: Identity Hunt Anonymous [Report This]
Date: 30 Jul 2011 9:10 pm Title: Chapter 11 - Letting the cat out of the bag!

I am enjoying this so very much, Mary........... many of the subtle nuances and undercurrents  are much more obvious on re-reading, and so very satisfying !

Reviewer: Squirrel Signed [Report This]
Date: 30 Jul 2011 12:36 pm Title: Chapter 12 - End of Term

Oh Mary...  That was wonderful.

Poor Hilda.  To be in such pain, and feel unable to reach out and get what help she needs.  Thank goodness for Gwynneth, and her kindness.  And how intuitive is Vivien?  Knowing that there is something wrong, then realising that Gwynneth at least would rather spend the time with Hilda without her presence, and coming up with another new way to help.  And the idea she came up with - perfection.

I'm sure that Gwynneth was irritated at first when she realised that she had come to join them, but oh the relief she feels as Vivien quietly does the job she has planned, then after pausing (and praying a blessing over Hilda?) she withdraws.  Like a ghost.  And the relief of Gwynneth at the help is almost palable.

Then the play - thank goodness that the others involved don't have Kathie's temperament!!!  It seems it has gone well for them - for all but Hilda that is.  And at least she has someone next to her, someone who she can open up to, and they can comfort her.

Thank you Mary.  That was wonderful

Reviewer: Amira Anonymous [Report This]
Date: 29 Jul 2011 10:30 pm Title: Chapter 1 - Lausanne

Another beautiful piece, Mary. Hilda's grief and pain are so raw, and the flashbacks...

But she is also surrounded by love: sturdy Gwynneth, perceptive, creative Vivien, and Joey and Biddy's reassurance during the nativity play. You have made Gwynneth so much more complex and real than she was in EBD's books, and her strength and stalwart nature come to the fore here. As for Vivien, I think she is my favourite of your characters, and Gwynneth has it spot on - Hilda's perceptiveness and Nell's love of fun are both there, and it is as if she has been sent to Hilda - what Gwynneth doesn't know, of course, is that it was Nell that nudged Hilda into offering Vivien the job. Please can - I mean may - I take Vivien home with me?

Reviewer: PaulineS Signed [Report This]
Date: 29 Jul 2011 10:07 pm Title: Chapter 12 - End of Term

Mary thank you.  Hilda's pain is so real, glad she is going to the Convent so quickly after the end of term.

Reviewer: Elder in Ontario Signed [Report This]
Date: 29 Jul 2011 10:01 pm Title: Chapter 12 - End of Term

Poor, poor Hilda - her grief for Nell would be heartfelt enough without all the complications of the shooting at the convent and this latest accident and its sequelae on top of it.  It's really no wonder she is struggling so much and is  beset by nightmares and daytime flashbacks.  Thank goodness for Matey and her gentle but warming comfort, and for Vivien, too.  that display of doves and angels certainly did what was needed to soothe Hilda to sleep once the tablets Matey had given her had taken effect and I'm sure they will continue to bring comfort to Hilda whenever she looks at them.

It's often said that the first year after any death is hard on those who were the closest, especially as each 'special event' approaches.  No wonder then that Hilda was so overcome when she faced the audience to introduce the play and realised that Nell was missing from those in the front row.  Even though she might not realise it, this was a perfectly normal reaction in the circumstances.   Thank goodness she will soon be safely at the convent, and in MA's care during the holiday period.

Thank, you, Mary.

Reviewer: Lynne Anonymous [Report This]
Date: 29 Jul 2011 8:14 am Title: Chapter 11 - Letting the cat out of the bag!

Really loving reading this again. Mary, how far off are we from the entrance of Ellie? xx

Reviewer: Elder in Ontario Signed [Report This]
Date: 29 Jul 2011 1:51 am Title: Chapter 11 - Letting the cat out of the bag!

I'm very glad Jack yielded to Matey's persuasion and allowed Hilda to return to school, if only on a limited basis, for the rest of term - she will do far better being occupied as far as possible than being left to a stricter form of convalescence, with too much time to brood, something which in the long run would be much harder on her.  She will still be surrounded by caring people - Matey, Nancy, Vivien - all of whom will help her - when she will allow them to do so.

I actually went back and re-read Turning the Tables this evening.  The words which Nell wrote in the front of Le Petit Prince really sum up not just what Nell felt for Hilda but what Hilda, in her turn felt for Nell:

Your integrity, compassion and courage, your deep faith in a loving God, have inspired and challenged me over the years to be more than I once thought I could be. More than that, though, they have filled me with such love for you that, as we have grown ever closer, you no longer seem a separate person, but an expansion, an interpretation, if you like, of my own self. With God, you have become the very meaning of my soul.

Re- reading that, and indeed so many parts of that story reminded me just how much these two were truly two halves of the same whole and it's no surprise that Hilda's grief here in ND is so gut-wrenching. 

Then, as now, Hilda truly has no concept of just how much she hides who she really is, to quote Mother Abbess.  MA herself was entirely right to make sure the girls and staff fully understood just how heroic Hilda's actions have been both at the convent and following the accident, and to remind them of Nell's own heroism, too.

In Mother Abbess' own words:

"You’re a brilliant leader, Hilda, and a true heroine, but the girls can’t learn as much as they should from you if they don’t know what you are capable of.”

I must say I loved Hilda's final retort, though:


“I do wish you and Nell would stop ganging up on me.”

Thank you, Mary.

 

Reviewer: PaulineS Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 29 Jul 2011 12:07 am Title: Chapter 11 - Letting the cat out of the bag!

Hilda not only is Nell and MA ganging up on you so are Nancy, Gwynneth and Vivian!  Thank you Mary

Reviewer: Squirrel Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 28 Jul 2011 11:56 pm Title: Chapter 11 - Letting the cat out of the bag!

*laughs* I love that last line Mary. And so many of the rest as well. These two scenes have slotted in perfectly with the rest of the story, so that it seems they've been there all the time.

I love the way that Vivien is able to straighten Hilda out over the course of her chat, even as she horrifies her at the same time... The way she boldly calls Hilda a Ninny is brilliant - and the fact that Hilda chooses that line to pass on to MA.

Poor Hilda though - the chat she had with Vivien must have such an impact on her her future plans. She needs to feel that the school doesn't depend on her, for she doesn't want to watch it falling apart - and Nancy, Kathie, Vivien herself, and all the rest of the staff will have to step up to the mark to stop it from doing so!

Thank you Mary - that was a wonderful addition. :)

Reviewer: abbeybufo Signed starstarstarstarhalf-star [Report This]
Date: 28 Jul 2011 11:54 pm Title: Chapter 11 - Letting the cat out of the bag!

Having - finally! - worked out how to get notified of updates on here, I've been enjoying reading all this again ... and loving the new bits! Thank you Mary

Reviewer: Luisa Anonymous [Report This]
Date: 27 Jul 2011 2:13 pm Title: Chapter 10 - Shepherds of their little flocks.

What a lovely addition to the story. The girls won't forget the "other" Abbess in a hurry.

....story of an Anglican vocation to mirror Margot's, anyone?

 

Reviewer: Seven Signed [Report This]
Date: 26 Jul 2011 11:45 pm Title: Chapter 1 - Lausanne

I love MA's appearance in Assembly.  However, Hilda is going to cringe inside when she discovers exactly how much MA has told the girls about that terrible walk.   I hope MA has learned how to duck!

Reviewer: Celia Signed [Report This]
Date: 26 Jul 2011 11:32 pm Title: Chapter 10 - Shepherds of their little flocks.

The new section is just exactly how I thought MA would be with the girls. I bet Hilda will not be happy when she finds out though ! Mireille's response is appropriate and thoughtful...I have to remember that she is not yet Headgirl.
Hilda is obviously bereft when MA leaves, but knows they will meet again soon, which will speed her recovery.
Some lovely quotes in this chapter.
Thank you Mary.

Reviewer: Elder in Ontario Signed [Report This]
Date: 26 Jul 2011 10:18 pm Title: Chapter 10 - Shepherds of their little flocks.

 I am glad to see that Hilda continues to improve physically. She will certainly miss MA, and their leavetaking is inevitably sad, but she knows that she must return to the Convent.  Meantime her relationship with Ian has been firmly re-established on its initial footing - I'm really glad that Ian has taken his twin's words to heart and been able to accept this, because there is now so much more that he can do to help Hilda. 

I really liked the new section, and enjoyed watching the effect MA had on girls and staff alike as she spoke to them of both Hilda and Nell.  She will certainly have left a lasting impression on them!  Mireille's 'definition' of what Hilda does was so very accurate, too.  

Thank you, Mary.

 

Reviewer: PaulineS Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 26 Jul 2011 9:40 pm Title: Chapter 10 - Shepherds of their little flocks.

Your two Headmistresses must have made God smile a very great deal. God doesn’t care if you succeed or fail, girls. All that He asks is that you take your courage in both hands and try! As they did!

 

Mary that sums up Hilda and Nell well.  Thank you for for the new section.  A pity that MA could not meet Kathy.



Enter the security code shown below:
Note: You may submit either a rating or a review or both.