Reviewer: AnneM Signed [Report This]
Date: 11 Feb 2012 4:34 pm Title: Chapter 77 - Reactions

I love Tamara's firm statement about friendship being about both giving and taking, supporting and being supported. Thank you.

Reviewer: Beecharmer Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 10 Feb 2012 9:00 pm Title: Chapter 78 - The Waterfight

Really good water fight !! Thank you :-)

Reviewer: MaryR Signed [Report This]
Date: 10 Feb 2012 8:20 pm Title: Chapter 78 - The Waterfight

Well, what does one say? A great time was had by all! Nell, you're slipping to get doused twice! This time Hilda will be able to rib you!

Thanks, Squirrel.

Reviewer: Elder in Ontario Signed [Report This]
Date: 10 Feb 2012 7:55 pm Title: Chapter 78 - The Waterfight

OH, but that was lovely - a great antidote for a very grey afternoon with snow threatening here!   Well done, Sally for catching Matron in the end.

Thanks, Squirrel.

 

Reviewer: MaryR Signed [Report This]
Date: 10 Feb 2012 6:45 pm Title: Chapter 77 - Reactions

Gosh, a water fight! Well done, Hilda and co, and for Tamara dfor suggesting it.

I'm pleased Tamnara found the words to support and encourage Len, revealing that God is always there for us if we ask - or even if we don't! Every hand held out to us is God working in His own mysterious way, and many hands have been held out to both Len and Tamara.

Loved Nell's ruminations re Hilda and the boiled sweets, Squirrel!

Reviewer: Beecharmer Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 10 Feb 2012 9:17 am Title: Chapter 77 - Reactions

Ooh a waterfight sounds good ! Thank you. :-)

Reviewer: Elder in Ontario Signed [Report This]
Date: 09 Feb 2012 10:42 pm Title: Chapter 77 - Reactions

Well, I'm glad that in the end the school passed the inspection with such flying colours.  It's also good that June and the rest of her department are so positive about Tamara's achievements, even though she herself takes some convincing!   But the icing on the cake there was, I think, the beautifully reasoned argument she present to Len in an attempt to convince her that there was nothing wrong in her (Len) needing support of the others at what was a difficult time for her, too - and that  the other teachers who heard Tamara fully agreed with what she was saying.

I think it's as well that the staff have the half term plans in place, as the prospect of that will certainly help curb the girls' natural exuberation.   As for the water fight - that's a stroke of genius on Tamara's part, especially with the staff willing to join in.  Will be interesting to see what happens.

Thanks Squirrel.

 

Reviewer: MaryR Signed [Report This]
Date: 09 Feb 2012 3:43 pm Title: Chapter 76 - Joey

I think Jo needs to do more homework on AS sufferers needs. Lots of unexpected company isn't one of them. Fortunately Len saw how troubled Tamara was, but even Rachel suggesting returning to school didn't help her, did it? As for Ashley wanting to be with Tamara, not her Gran - oops! I hope Jo likes Rachel's description or the day will really go pear-shaped.

I loved the way Rachel tackled the dogs, and your descriptipn of their thoughts. Guess hair isn't really that nice to lick!

Thanks, Squirrel.

Reviewer: Elder in Ontario Signed [Report This]
Date: 08 Feb 2012 8:05 pm Title: Chapter 76 - Joey

Poor Tamara - I think she's feeling as much in need of time to herself as Rachel is there.  At least she got a few minutes before Len and family descended, though.  I'm sure Jo was less than amused when Ashley insisted that she really did want to talk to Tamara rather than her grandmother, but....

I hope Len will find chance to have a few words with Tamara before she and Rachel return to school.

Thanks, Squirrel.

 

Reviewer: Beecharmer Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 08 Feb 2012 6:57 pm Title: Chapter 76 - Joey

Thank you, no brainpower for proper review but still enjoying :-)

Reviewer: Beecharmer Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 07 Feb 2012 11:40 pm Title: Chapter 75 - The Inspection...

Thank you, glad it went ok.

Reviewer: Elder in Ontario Signed [Report This]
Date: 07 Feb 2012 9:36 pm Title: Chapter 75 - The Inspection...

Wow - that certainly put the inspector in his place, didn't it?   Good for Rachel for saying what all the others were thinking about Len and her teaching there - that encounter was certainly the last straw for Mr. Bannock!

I'm glad that the senior inspector retained a modicum of sense and that what he heard from the girls in that assembly, coupled with what he had seen in the various classrooms was enough to convince him that the inspection had been unnecessary in the first place, if Audrey Bannock had not been so bent on queering Len's and Tamara's pitch! 

I think Nancy had her work cut out with Jo there, too, until she pointed out that the 3 retiring had no intention of moving back to England, and were hoping that she would have room for them to join her at Freudeheim. 

Hope that Rachel has a good time with Jo, once she gets there.

Thanks, Squirrel.

 

 

Reviewer: MaryR Signed [Report This]
Date: 07 Feb 2012 8:58 pm Title: Chapter 75 - The Inspection...

Well, the girls soon sorted him out, didn't they? What a very unwise young man, just like his sister. At least the lead inspector was truthful and understanding, which must have been a relief to Hilda and co. I know just what it feels like to have inspectors at the back of the classroom for lessons. Very intimidating and unnerving!

Nancy did brilliantly explaining to Jo what was going to happen, especially the teasing about going back to Britain. I'm sure she will be much happier when she has them all living with her full time. Hope Rache's visit goes well.

Thanks, Squirrel.

Reviewer: MaryR Signed [Report This]
Date: 06 Feb 2012 4:49 pm Title: Chapter 74

Poor Nell, losing her school slowly but surely - but amalgamation seems the obvious solution, even if she and Hilda weren't going to retire. Before that, of course, they have to meet the requirements of the inspection, although they appear to have it all under control despite all the problems that have arisen. Tamara and Len are bound to feel under threat since it's they who the inpsection team are concerned about, but I'm sure Hilda, Nell and the others will give them all the help they need.

Thanks, Squirrel.

Reviewer: Beecharmer Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 06 Feb 2012 12:37 am Title: Chapter 74

Thank you. So much needless worry, what a nasty situation she has left them in.

Reviewer: Elder in Ontario Signed [Report This]
Date: 05 Feb 2012 11:51 pm Title: Chapter 74

All things considered, that staff meeting went as well as it possibly could have done.  Tamara and Len were wise to stay out of the general discussion, but in any case, it's clear that Hilda and Nell had already drawn up the best plan of action, both for filling the vacant spots in the history department for the time being and for how they should react during the inspection.  I'm sure Tamara will be fine as temporary department head, especially with the help from Miss Camps.  I, too, hope the Inspectors are prepared to accept her teaching skills (which are excellent) for what they are and not try to simply look for faults because of her Aspergers, though.

I'm glad Tamara insisted that she and Kathie walk home with Len so she didn't have to go alone - and I don't doubt that Reg, too appreciated it.  Here's hoping they can both settle for the night without trouble - certainl yit's late enough for anyone!!

Thanks, Squirrel.

 

Reviewer: MaryR Signed [Report This]
Date: 02 Feb 2012 10:14 pm Title: Chapter 73 - letters

As Elder said, writing it all down in two different ways will have helped her to see it all more calmly and quietly - and logically. And at least writing to June has enabled ehr to vent her feelings. It's going to be trying for them all, so here's hoping everything goes well.

Thanks, Squirrel

Reviewer: Beecharmer Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 01 Feb 2012 11:16 pm Title: Chapter 73 - letters

Thank you. It's a lot of change Tamara has dealt with there, glad she is coping ok so far. :-)

Reviewer: Elder in Ontario Signed [Report This]
Date: 01 Feb 2012 7:43 pm Title: Chapter 73 - letters

Am glad Tamara has had that sleep - she certainly needed it.  Also good that Matey simply brought her dinner to her, so she could have it in peace and quiet before the staff meeting time.   I'm also glad this has given Tamara a chance to write to both Donal and June, since having to explain the new situation to them will have helped her to clarify her own thinking on it all.  Here's hoping she'll do OK at the staff meeting.

Thanks, Squirrel

 

Reviewer: MaryR Signed [Report This]
Date: 01 Feb 2012 3:41 pm Title: Chapter 72 - With Matron

I think your Matey and mine are twins, Squirrel! *grins* Compassionate and understanding, beneath that starched exterior. Tamara couldn't have done better - since there is really no other option - and she will get sound, unbiased advice and support. And she will find at the end of the day that she is more than capable of holding her own in this sudden crisis for the school.

Thank you.

Reviewer: JB1 Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 01 Feb 2012 10:36 am Title: Chapter 72 - With Matron

Great insight into Tamara's thinking.

Reviewer: Beecharmer Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 31 Jan 2012 10:15 pm Title: Chapter 72 - With Matron

I've always felt that despite being strict, Matey would always be there for whatever child / person, and I really like your Gwyneth here. Also seeing Tamara getting some support rather than having to be strong so often is good to see. Thank you.

Reviewer: Elder in Ontario Signed [Report This]
Date: 31 Jan 2012 6:54 pm Title: Chapter 72 - With Matron

No wonder Tamara's mind was whirling - she'd been through enough different situations in the course of a very short time that anyone would be feeling confused!  But what a good thing she remembered Matey's offer of help - talking herself to a standstill to a quiet, calm listener was exactly what Tamara needed there, and exactly what she got.  No doubt the much-needed sleep will help too.

Thanks, Squirrel.

 

Reviewer: MaryR Signed [Report This]
Date: 29 Jan 2012 6:19 pm Title: Chapter 71

I'm afraid you might be in for a shock, Tamara,as they don't always take such things into account. Poor Hilda, having to chivvy everyone up and make unpopular decisions. But Len is strong enough to encourage and support Tamara, and between them they will manage. I hope....

Thanks, Squirrel

Reviewer: MaryR Signed [Report This]
Date: 29 Jan 2012 6:14 pm Title: Chapter 70 - Miss Bannock's Revenge

I think poor Hilda could have done with a cup of tea as well, poor thing! Hers was the greatest shock, with the whole school to support. But Tamara, despite her own shock, is managing nicely and will be a great support for Len. Inspections test the best of us - but we all have it in us to give of our best at such times, and so will these two, as well as everyone else.

Thanks, Squirrel.



Enter the security code shown below:
Note: You may submit either a rating or a review or both.