Reviewer: Pie-faced loon Signed [Report This]
Date: 22 Mar 2018 10:33 am Title: Chapter 14

This is the way it should be.  Everyone is worth as much as everyone else, and the school runs smoothly only when everyone does their own job to the best of their abilities.  And no one is taken advantage of.  It's a bit like the business with Jocelyn Marvell thinking Kathie Ferrars shoud take them for speed-boating practice in her free time.

I come from a family of teachers, and they work so much more than most people think.  My father used to do the timetable in what other people thought was his summer holiday.  It's never as simple on the inside as it seems from the utside, and this story is wonderful.



Author's Response: Thank you!

Reviewer: Pie-faced loon Signed [Report This]
Date: 22 Mar 2018 9:57 am Title: Chapter 8

"They didn’t have to pay school fees for the girls, obviously."

This has annoyed me for a long time.  Why didn't they have to pay fees?  It's utter codswallop that the Maynarnds shouldn't pay fees for their girls.  I understand why Joey's fees were not a problem, but once the School was not merely a vehicle to save Madge and Joey from penury, the Maynards should have been treated like any other parents, such as the Ozannes, Chesters and Lucys. My father worked at my school, but I don't remember them waiving any fees which were charged to other parents!



Author's Response: Maybe Madge thought she owed Dick and Joey because she'd set up the school with the proceeds of selling the family home ... but she was the one who did all the work, and she and Jem supported Joey whilst she was living at Die Rosen. Jem's sister Margot got a job, even though she had two little kids. It must have cost the school a fortune, given how many daughters Joey had - all money that could have gone on new equipment or pay rises for the staff :-).

Reviewer: suminghan75 Signed [Report This]
Date: 18 Mar 2018 3:22 am Title: Chapter 1

vapormax
yeezy v2
puma
yeezy boost 350
fitflop
adidas ultra boost
jordan 4
air max
vapormax
pandora charms
fitflop shoes
salomon xa pro 3d
hermes belts
kevin durant shoes
adidas ultra boost
pandora jewelry official site
kd 10
louboutin shoes men
kate spade handbags
longchamp
basketball shoes
air jordan
pandora jewelry
kyrie irving shoes
hermes belts

Reviewer: suminghan75 Signed [Report This]
Date: 09 Mar 2018 2:17 pm Title: Chapter 1

nike air max 90
hermes bag
yeezy shoes
adidas ultra boost women
nike kyrie
pandora rings
stephen curry new shoes
kd
fitflops clearance
hermes wallets
kate spade handbags
christian louboutin heels
longchamp le pliage
salomon speedcross 4
nike air vapormax flyknit
ultra boost mens
jordan 11
adidas nmd
puma shoes for men
nike shoes
pandora jewelry official site
fitflop
pandora charms
jordan retro
lebron 9

Reviewer: crm Signed [Report This]
Date: 20 Sep 2016 6:43 am Title: Chapter 14

Loved this - thank you.



Author's Response: Thanks :-).

Reviewer: Audrey Anonymous [Report This]
Date: 22 Jun 2016 12:35 am Title: Chapter 1

I read this after reading about it on facebook today and think it is so realistic and true to life. Absolutely brilliant.



Author's Response: Thank you :-).

Reviewer: Elsie Anonymous [Report This]
Date: 09 Oct 2015 12:12 am Title: Chapter 14

I am really enjoying this series (which I think should be called Behind the Scenes at the CS) and especially this Red Flag part, with the character of Elsie.  The world did change such a lot after WW11 and I think this clearly shows it.  I was so pleased that Madge came round and showed her mettle as a negotiator and effective manager.  And now we know why Beth Chester got her job!



Author's Response: Thank you :-).

Reviewer: shesings Signed [Report This]
Date: 28 Jul 2011 5:46 pm Title: Chapter 14

I can't think how I managed, in the old setup, to miss a drabble with such a wonderful title but I did! Fortunately I have caught up now and loved it! I always felt sorry for the Chalet School domestic staff who were alternately put upon and patronised.



Enter the security code shown below:
Note: You may submit either a rating or a review or both.