Reviews For Passing the Baton
Reviewer: Sarah Anonymous [Report This]
Date: 07 Aug 2017 10:02 am Title: Chapter 3 - Walking Life's Uncertain Road

Amazing! 

Reviewer: Linda Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 01 Aug 2017 12:22 am Title: Chapter 3 - Walking Life's Uncertain Road

It will really have helped Hilda that she had so much to occupy her mind trying to filt a quart into a pint pot, rather than worrying about her fitness to take on the role of actual head of the Chalet School. I am sure she will have been as meticulous as usual, ensuring that every 't' was crossed and every 'I' dotted in time for the arrival of the staff and students, old and new, ready to face a new future together.

Thank you Mary. I would love one day to read your wonderful stories in print.

Author's Response: Thanks so much for taking the time to write, not one, but two reviews, Linda. Bless you for the compliment, I don't somehow think I'll be self-publishing anything...

Reviewer: Linda Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 01 Aug 2017 12:06 am Title: Chapter 2 - Love and Grief Intermingled

I love Hilda's very typical humility in not believing that she is good enough to follow in Therese's footsteps, and Therese's gentle insistence that she has the necessary qualities and that Nell, if she is invited to be Senior Mistress, will bring other qualities and balance Hilda perfectly.

A lovely, albeit tinged with sadness, conversation between two beloved characters.

Thank you, Mary

Reviewer: Elder in Ontario Signed [Report This]
Date: 31 Jul 2017 11:04 pm Title: Chapter 3 - Walking Life's Uncertain Road

That was interesting - I happened to come onto SDL quite at random and found this update before I got my 'favourite update' notification!   Technology!!

Nice that Hilda was able to spend a fair amount of time with Mademoiselle Lepattre before plunging into all the arrangements needed to accommodate the girls and staff from St. Scholastika.  Given all her very natural fears and doubts over her new position, it was probably a good thing she was kept so busy, too.  Not that there was ever any doubt that the rest of the staff would accept her formally as the third Head of the school, but she wouldn't believe that until they did, would she?  And so begins a new, long and successful era at  the Chalet School -  Thank you, Mary, 



Author's Response: I never thanked you for this at the time, Elder, but am gradually catching up with myself. I did appreciate your kindness in writing such a lovely review.

Reviewer: Celia Anonymous [Report This]
Date: 30 Jul 2017 11:54 pm Title: Chapter 2 - Love and Grief Intermingled

Just got around to reading these first two chapters, and renewing my acquaintance with 'Passing the Baton'.  Little did Hilda realise at this stage that she was about to dedicate the rest of her life to the school and to lead it through many traumatic times. You draw Madge and Mademoiselle exactly as I remember them in canon. I look forward to the rest of the story.

Reviewer: Blueskye Signed [Report This]
Date: 28 Jul 2017 10:35 pm Title: Chapter 2 - Love and Grief Intermingled

Finally found this! What a lovely insight into the story and very true to the original books - thank you, Mary

Reviewer: Suemc Anonymous [Report This]
Date: 28 Jul 2017 12:44 am Title: Chapter 2 - Love and Grief Intermingled

Thànkyou Mary I 3njoyed  reading Hilda s reaction to taking on the headßhip typical that she didn't think she was  good enough. I loved the fact that she would only do it if the staff approved. 

 



Author's Response: Thank you, Sue, though actually all I've done is take what the book says and extended it.

Reviewer: Audrey Anonymous [Report This]
Date: 28 Jul 2017 12:17 am Title: Chapter 2 - Love and Grief Intermingled

Beautifully written, Mary.



Author's Response: Why, thank you, Audrey.

Reviewer: Elder in Ontario Signed [Report This]
Date: 27 Jul 2017 1:25 am Title: Chapter 2 - Love and Grief Intermingled

I really like Mademoiselle Lepattre's gentle but insistent reassurance that Hilda is right for the job, and that everyone will be in favour of the appointment.  Also her realistic acceptance of her own situation, knowing that while she will probably live for some while longer, it must be as an invalid.  I just went back and re-read the start of The New Chalet School, and this is an excellent and very touching extension to what I read there.  Thank you, Mary.

 



Author's Response: Aw, thank you, Elder. What a lovely thing to do and say!

Reviewer: shesings Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 26 Jul 2017 11:41 pm Title: Chapter 2 - Love and Grief Intermingled

Hilda would be humble about her own gifts and very conscious of the already established standards but that is why she will be good. This all sounds so much what could and probably did happen, Mary!

Author's Response: Thanks, shesings. I sometimes feel I've metamorphosed into Hilda... *grins*

Reviewer: PaulineS Signed [Report This]
Date: 26 Jul 2017 9:57 pm Title: Chapter 2 - Love and Grief Intermingled

Hildayou have taken on more than you know.  Therese is right in seeing Nell as the next Senior Mistress.

thank you Mary 



Author's Response: Thanks, Pauline.

Reviewer: shesings Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 24 Jul 2017 10:51 pm Title: Chapter 1 - Bad News

Poor Hilda, first her worry and sadness and now being asked to take the job she thought she was just keeping warm for her friend.

Reviewer: thefrau46 Signed [Report This]
Date: 24 Jul 2017 7:56 pm Title: Chapter 1 - Bad News

Thanks, Mary.  I must have missed this first time round.

Reviewer: ivohenry Signed [Report This]
Date: 24 Jul 2017 6:40 pm Title: Chapter 1 - Bad News

Don't remember reading this one before, thanks for reposting, interesting to see how you write early Hilda, having read later Hilda in ND!  

Reviewer: Elder in Ontario Signed [Report This]
Date: 24 Jul 2017 6:33 pm Title: Chapter 1 - Bad News

Thanks for reposting this, Mary - it's a story which never loses its poignancy, however often one reads it.  And how typical of Hilda that she had no thought that she might be in the running to become the third headmistress of the school.  

Reviewer: Linda Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 24 Jul 2017 6:00 pm Title: Chapter 1 - Bad News

I loved this first time around and it will be good to read it again.

I love the way that Hilda's thoughts are all for Therese, she really doesn't see that she is the obvious one to fill the huge gap and become the third head of the rapidly growing school, taking the Chalet School forward and helping shape the lives of the girls entrusted to her care.

Looking forward to renewing my acquaintance with an old friend. Thank you Mary

Reviewer: PaulineS Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 24 Jul 2017 5:24 pm Title: Chapter 1 - Bad News

Thank you Mary for reposting this.  I remember small fragments, and recognise where it is in canon.. it will be good to see this from Hilda's perspective.



Enter the security code shown below:
Note: You may submit either a rating or a review or both.