Reviewer: Terry Signed [Report This]
Date: 25 Aug 2015 8:04 pm Title: Rachel Tests the Chalet School - The second part of term

I discovered this and have read it with interest, and it caused me to look things up n the internet.

I know you are pssoibly no longer around but just wanted to say I enjoyed it .



Author's Response:

I'm not on here much I'll admit, but I am around...  Thank you. :)

Reviewer: MaryR Signed [Report This]
Date: 08 Mar 2012 6:38 pm Title: Rachel Tests the Chalet School - The second part of term

Some serious contemplation from Joanne there. She's growing up apace and Rachel has been the catalyst for this, even if at times Joanne finds her behaviour incomprehensible. She's seeing her teachers as people now, people like herself who get lonely or troubled and may be in need of help themselves. A chat with both Len and Tamara would help her maturing thoughts here, but alas, no one can really find out how they would manage in an emergency.One only learns that when it happens.

What a truly lovely person Joanne is turning out to be. Thank you, Squittel.

Reviewer: Beecharmer Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 06 Mar 2012 8:39 pm Title: Rachel Tests the Chalet School - The second part of term

Thank you!!! *Does the happy, "It's back" dance! *

It's interesting seeing Joanne's side too. Thank you ! :-)

Reviewer: Elder in Ontario Signed [Report This]
Date: 06 Mar 2012 6:59 pm Title: Rachel Tests the Chalet School - The second part of term

A very interesting insight into Joanne here, showing us how much she really does think things through, both matters relating to Rachel and other things.  I hope she does get the chance to discuss her thoughts with Len at some point.

Thanks, Squirrel

 

Reviewer: Beecharmer Signed [Report This]
Date: 05 Mar 2012 12:46 am Title: Rachel Tests the Chalet School - The second part of term

Hope all ok, no hassle if you busy but thought would let you know that I'm missing this drabble ! Hope all ok with you. :-)

Author's Response:

Thanks.  Life has just been very busy the last few weeks.  There does seem to be some possibility of it calming down again now.  I'll attempt to get back into it soon.  Maybe even tomorrow, with luck! :)

Reviewer: Beecharmer Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 18 Feb 2012 10:09 am Title: Rachel Tests the Chalet School - The second part of term

Thank you ! Takes me a while with long updates, not least because my phone keeps turning itself off at the moment, but got there finally :-)

A lot of nice character things here. The collecting of huge amounts of information on the trip made me chuckle, can relate to that! Also interesting seeing the differences between Tamara's instinctual priorities to avoid crowds, which the other mistresses are not as concerned about.

Rachel's question is good and Tamara's answer. I like a lot of the interactions between people here. Thank you :-)

Author's Response:

I did wonder if the longer update might prove to be an issue for you.  Glad you managed to get to the end of it in the end though.

Also good to hear that you're still enjoying it! :)

Reviewer: MaryR Signed [Report This]
Date: 16 Feb 2012 9:18 pm Title: Rachel Tests the Chalet School - The second part of term

Kathy's still not quite sure where she is with Rachel, is she?

Oh well, they gave all the girls a good laugh with the tale of Nancy and the pig. Let's hope the next few days are enjoyable for them all.

Thanks, Squirrel.

Reviewer: Elder in Ontario Signed [Report This]
Date: 16 Feb 2012 5:14 pm Title: Rachel Tests the Chalet School - The second part of term

I'd forgotten that story of Nancy and the pig - am still giggling at the thought!!  Here's hoping that thie trip to Zermatt leaves Len with pleasanter memories than she has from the second part of that other visit.  

Thanks, Squirrel.

Reviewer: Elder in Ontario Signed [Report This]
Date: 15 Feb 2012 9:15 pm Title: Rachel Tests the Chalet School - The second part of term

Some very interesting conversations there.  Tamara and Rachel, Tamara, Len and Kathy, and Joanna and Len.  Fascinating to see all the depths and the doubts revealed in them - I think each person concerned has learned much more about the others as a result.  And of course, the scenery was stunning, too - I'm so glad the weather co-operated for the trip.  I also like the way Tamara had researched all that they would see on the trip so that the staff would have information at their fingertips to pass on.

That first glimpse of the Matterhorn clearly stunned everyone, girls and staff alike - I love the way they point out the differences between that mountain and the Jungfrau, which is in a way, their 'home' mountain as they see it from school all the time - that's when the cloud allows!

Thank you, Squirrel for all these little insights.

Reviewer: MaryR Signed [Report This]
Date: 15 Feb 2012 5:16 pm Title: Rachel Tests the Chalet School - The second part of term

Rachel voiced a question we all ask when something awful is visited on us and we're asked to cope with it for a lifetime. But, as Len told Joanne, who is zooming ahead of the others in her thinking, there are good things in the bad which show us God is in there somewhere picking up the pieces, if we can but see it and if we allow Him. And that isn't always easy, so it will take time for Rachel to work through and find her own version of the truth. On the other hand, I for one could never get through without Him.

I've always wanted to travel on this train so lucky girls, who were clearly enjoying the stunning views, though I did laugh to myself at their sticking up for the beauty of their own mountain as opposed to the Matterhorn. And I looved the way Tamara simply handed over the info for those who wanted to know more. Good for her! I do hope Rachel is not too worn out, though, to enjoy the rest of the day.

Thanks, Squirrel.

Reviewer: MaryR Signed [Report This]
Date: 14 Feb 2012 8:30 pm Title: Rachel Tests the Chalet School - The second part of term

So reading is not going to be allowed for Tamara and Rachel on expeditions as an escape? Sounds a bit hard, Kathy. I guess it's difficult to balance everyone's needs.

I know Hilda and Nell, and Kathy and Nancy, are close couples, but none of them is married, whereas Len is, so any relationship with a friend will be a little different, as she has other more important loyalties and responsibilities, despite what Kathy says. Yes, she is good for Tamara and the latter trusts her, but she won't always be there when Tamara might need her, so Matey and others are going to be very necessary for Tamara, as well.

Thanks, Squirrel, I guess I'm seeing too many problems here.

Reviewer: Elder in Ontario Signed [Report This]
Date: 14 Feb 2012 4:31 pm Title: Rachel Tests the Chalet School - The second part of term

That was such a satisfying discussion between Kathy and Len. Kathy is clearly showing an excellent grasp of the situation between Len and Tamara, with all the implications involved and her advice to Len is excellent.  I'm glad she felt she could be so open with her about the relationship between Nancy and herself, too - I think Len found that very helpful.  

It's typical of Len's more cautious nature, too that she will have to take time to reflect on all of this - she does recognise, too, that she will have to strike a balance in her relationship with Tamara if she's not to risk either babying her too much or expecting her to cope with more than she should without help. I'm really thrilled by her assertion at the end that Kathy is the best person to assume the headship after Hilda retires - that will have boosted Kathy's self-confidence no end.

Thanks, Squirrel.

 

Reviewer: Beecharmer Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 14 Feb 2012 12:21 pm Title: Rachel Tests the Chalet School - The second part of term

Thank you - and nice to see an understanding and thoughtful Kathy. Interested to see what Tamara thinks of that meeting :-)

Reviewer: MaryR Signed [Report This]
Date: 13 Feb 2012 5:39 pm Title: Rachel Tests the Chalet School - The second part of term

Interesting! The two other teachers went out of their way to make Tamara feel better but didn't really do the same for Rachel. Oh, I know Kathy has right on her side, and that Rachel could come to a sticky end if she escaped every time she was stressed, but I did feel they could have consoled her afterwards. As it is, they've rather left it to Tamara to do that, now the latter has revealed her own stresses. Poor Tamara will feel guilty that she wasn't keeping a look out for Rachel's struggles when she has them herself in this situation, but I do feel someone needs to sit down with the staff and explain in words of one syllable how Rachel is going to be affected in different situations and what her main stressors are, ie noise, sudden changes, etc. Or the poor girl might end up being left out of all expeditions. Len, as always, is kind and compassionate, but Kathy will soon be the Head and will need to find an extra dollop of sensitivity and perception to temper her discipline.

Thanks, Squirrel

Reviewer: Elder in Ontario Signed [Report This]
Date: 13 Feb 2012 3:32 pm Title: Rachel Tests the Chalet School - The second part of term

I think Kathy and Len handled things very well there.  Rachel had to understand that she couldn't simply absent herself when things went beyond her tolerance level, and the two, especially Kathy, certainly gave her that message.  It was hard for Kathy, too - no matter how much she understood of Rachel's needs there, the fact remains that she was the senior mistress in charge of this half term trip and therefore responsible for the safety of each and every pupil and staff member in the group.

However, once again, Tamara was even better able to 'get through' to Rachel, simply by showing her how she herself had coped in a situation which was just as difficult for her.  True, that means she has revealed more of her own situation to both Len and Kathy, but that is no bad thing in the circumstances.  And Rachel will certainly learn from what Tamara will teach her in those sessions after they all return to school.

Thanks, Squirrel

 

 

Reviewer: Beecharmer Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 13 Feb 2012 8:58 am Title: Rachel Tests the Chalet School - The second part of term

Thank you - and a giod perspective, that Tamara was just as affected but used her coping stratagy. Good that she made Rachel think about it rather than letting her believe that they didn't understand.

Reviewer: Beecharmer Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 12 Feb 2012 6:57 pm Title: Rachel Tests the Chalet School - The second part of term

Glad Kathy got her warm and dry. The amount of sensory information she would have had in that hut must have been giving her real overload, not surprised she needed to get out. Thank you !

Reviewer: MaryR Signed [Report This]
Date: 12 Feb 2012 6:24 pm Title: Rachel Tests the Chalet School - The second part of term

*giggles* at Rachel filching a hotel book!

Poor Rachel, so desperate to get out and then realising that oops, she's going to be in big trouble. Kathy was good to her, though, and hopefully will realise why Rachel felt she had to do it and won't lay into her after her nap.

Fingers crossed that the rest of the trip is more peaceful for poor Rachel - and Kathy!

Thanks, Squirrel.

Reviewer: Elder in Ontario Signed [Report This]
Date: 12 Feb 2012 5:32 pm Title: Rachel Tests the Chalet School - The second part of term

Glad to know the half term trip is going well on the whole, though I certainly sympathise with both Tamara's and Rachel's problems with the noise while all of them were sheltering from the rainstorm.  In a way, I'm not surprised at Rachel's impulsive behaviour in simply escaping out into it, though I'm also very glad to see that Kathy noticed and was able to follow her.  I'm also glad to see that Kathy suspended any reprimands in the interests of making sure Rachel could be warm and dry again as quickly as possible - I'm sure Rachel will hear all about it later, though.

Thanks, Squirrel.

 

Reviewer: MaryR Signed [Report This]
Date: 11 Feb 2012 6:20 pm Title: Rachel Tests the Chalet School - The second part of term

Well done, Rachel - and beautifully put, Joanne. Poor Rachel, struggling with more challenges when she has only just recovered from the last lot. I did love the joke she and Tamara played, though, even if it did lead to Rachel letting Tamara's diagnosis slip on front of the girls. But the girls could learn so much from this, if they accept it willingly, since they already like Tamara as a teacher.

Poor Rachel and the uninteresting apartment blocks! That made me chuckle!

I'm just wondering what you have in store for us, though, Squirrel, with those comments about no one going skiing on the mountain! Now biting my nails!

Reviewer: AnneM Signed [Report This]
Date: 11 Feb 2012 4:34 pm Title: Rachel Tests the Chalet School

I love Tamara's firm statement about friendship being about both giving and taking, supporting and being supported. Thank you.

Reviewer: Beecharmer Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 11 Feb 2012 11:18 am Title: Rachel Tests the Chalet School - The second part of term

Thank you. Lol to catching a bus, and can understand how it would be easy for Rachel to forget that Tamara's diagnosis would be a secret.

Reviewer: Beecharmer Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 10 Feb 2012 9:00 pm Title: Rachel Tests the Chalet School

Really good water fight !! Thank you :-)

Reviewer: MaryR Signed [Report This]
Date: 10 Feb 2012 8:20 pm Title: Rachel Tests the Chalet School

Well, what does one say? A great time was had by all! Nell, you're slipping to get doused twice! This time Hilda will be able to rib you!

Thanks, Squirrel.

Reviewer: Elder in Ontario Signed [Report This]
Date: 10 Feb 2012 7:55 pm Title: Rachel Tests the Chalet School

OH, but that was lovely - a great antidote for a very grey afternoon with snow threatening here!   Well done, Sally for catching Matron in the end.

Thanks, Squirrel.

 

No results found.


Enter the security code shown below:
Note: You may submit either a rating or a review or both.