Reviews For A New Dream
Reviewer: Pie-faced loon Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 23 May 2018 2:10 pm Title: Passing the Baton

Very true to the original.

Reviewer: Teresa Anonymous [Report This]
Date: 23 May 2018 11:42 am Title: A New Dream Vol 7: The Dew of Hope

Harden shoes Lebron Shoes North Face Jackets Clearance North Face Jackets For Women Kyrie 3 Coach Outlet Christian Louboutin Shoes Pandora Charm Air Max Yeezy boost 350 v2 Jimmy Choo Shoes Jordan Retro 11 Moncler Air Force 1 Adidas NMD Ralph Lauren Outlet KD 10 Shoes Pandora Bracelets Yeezy Shoes Longchamp Tory Burch Outlet Pandora Official Site Nike Outlet Timberland Boots KD 10 Louboutin Shoes Pandora Jewelry Official Site Pandora Jewelry Canada Adidas Outlet Vans Outlet Store Timberlad Shoes Timberland Boots For Men Louboutin Shoes Pandora Ring Puma Shoes Adidas Shoes Pandora Charms Sale Moncler UK Yeezy Boost 350 V2 Beluga 2.0 NMD Adidas Pandora Rings Valentine Outlet Ralph Lauren Polo Air Max Pandora Jewelry Ralph Lauren Nike Shoes For Women Air Max 90 Louboutin Shoes Kyrie 3 Kevin Durant Shoes Jordan 11 Red Pandora Red Bottom Shoes Kyrie 4

Reviewer: Bobcat Anonymous [Report This]
Date: 22 May 2018 10:55 pm Title: A New Dream - Vol 10: Life Is Sweet, Life Is Sharp

Wow.......Kathie is just......wow. Are there no depths to which she won't sink? She's getting her claws into everyone. Is she liked the cornered wild animal, who often attacks out of fear or pain, or her own wilful selfishness, I wonder? She also seems to be acting on Chesterton's quote, but in completely the wrong way. Anger doesn't seem to work with her, nor does gentleness (yet). MA needs to think about how to get through to her. And please, MA, give Nancy a call and talk to the poor woman; I dread to think how she's feeling at the moment. Will MA tell Nancy or Hilda what Kathie has just said..... I wonder?

I'm glad the change in Meg is having a ripple effect and other staff are seeing the good that's coming out of the situation.

Reviewer: Sarah Anonymous [Report This]
Date: 22 May 2018 5:58 pm Title: A New Dream - Vol 10: Life Is Sweet, Life Is Sharp

Amazing as always Mary, and I think G K Chesterton would have been saying that quote for me! 😀 xx

Reviewer: Karita Anonymous [Report This]
Date: 22 May 2018 10:38 am Title: A New Dream - Vol 10: Life Is Sweet, Life Is Sharp

Wow! What a chapter! How wonderful for Miss Lawrence to see Meg play so beautifully. :-) That bit as lovely, as she bubbled over on the phone.

 

As for Kathie - I could shake her! I like that Mother kept her temper but still shot her dart in. Terrible behaviour! Mother got it right - she shrugs off the help she gets, then goes back for more. She can't regulate her own emotions, the next time an emotion or thought gets the better of her she runs for help. She needs to learn how to experience an emotion, hold it, learn from it and move past without being so needy. It seems to me like her own inner thoughts frighten her and she too immature to see it. 

 

Or maybe she's just a pampered little brat.

 

I'm on the edge of my seat dying to see how it goes with Meg finding out about her father! And for goodness sake, let Hilda get through this day quickly. * Tears hair out *

Reviewer: Seven Signed [Report This]
Date: 21 May 2018 8:18 pm Title: A New Dream - Vol 10: Life Is Sweet, Life Is Sharp

I hope the transfusion will stop the terrible pain Hilda is feeling and enable her to go and see Tessa.  She will be devastated if she can't make the journey after promising.  

Im so glad Meg is doing an A level in music.  She will do really well with her own talent and such an enthusiastic teacher.  

I really cannot understand Kathie.  I thought Hilda, MA and Ian were beginning to get through to her but it seems not.  How can she be so self centred and unfeeling for others especially after being at the school for so long and doing well with the girls and her teaching.  Is this down to the ideas put in her head by her aunt?  I just hope the convent knocks all that selfishness and jealousy out of her.  

Reviewer: shesings Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 21 May 2018 12:35 am Title: A New Dream - Vol 10: Life Is Sweet, Life Is Sharp

Kathie has almost gone beyond redemption. If what she has already heard hasn't broken through that hard shell of self-absorption it's hard to see what will.

Reviewer: Elder in Ontario Signed [Report This]
Date: 20 May 2018 6:56 pm Title: A New Dream - Vol 10: Life Is Sweet, Life Is Sharp

It's definitely just as well that Mother is there with Hilda - the latter would be suffering even more without that loving, yet bracing support, wouldn't she?  I love the way they work things out together.  Now that Hilda's (and Ellie's) return to the San for overnight is settled, the former continues resigned to it, realising that she really does need the transfusion.  I only hope that it will do something to alleviate the severe pain she's in, and that Jack's fears that this could become chronic are not borne out, though it's clear that medically they are not without foundation.  But I do wish he had waited a little longer before even hinting at the chance to Mother - the fear just makes her role so much harder.  Definitely a good plan for Hilda to postpone the meeting with Meg for an hour and see what a good soak in a hot bath can do to help her.

Lovely to see Josie Lawrence's delight in Meg's imrproved skills, and that she was so keen to share her delight with Mother and Hilda; definitely a day brightener for the two of them.  Here's hoping too, that this new-found confidence over her music as well as her improvement in so many areas, will spur Meg on to be receptive to contact with her father once she learns that he wants to see - we know both HIlda and Mother will spare no efforts to help her do so.  As for Vivien, as always, nothing is too much trouble for her. 

Ah, the closeness of twins - even ones who don't manage to meet too often.  Ian was very swift to discern that all was not well with his sister, wasn't he?  

And then there's Kathie.  Clearly she's still not ready to benefit from all she has been told in the last 48 hoiurs or so - it's all still about her and her needs, isn't it?  But I'm glad Mother was able to grit her teeth, especially after Kathie's last gratuitous insult.

I agree with Pauline that this is a very effective splitting point, Mary; you've even left us with several cliffs:  how will Meg react to the news from her father; will the transfusion have the desired effect; will Hilda really be fit enough for Boston - like Mother, I'm beginning to wonder; and will Kathie ever learn or is there indeed, "any point in Hilda trying to salvage this angry, selfish, self-seeking young woman?" 

Thank you, Mary both for a very heart-warming, if at times heart-wrenching section - and for leaving us hanging on with bated breath for the next section!! 

Reviewer: PaulineS Signed [Report This]
Date: 20 May 2018 5:28 pm Title: A New Dream - Vol 10: Life Is Sweet, Life Is Sharp

Mary, a very telling and suitable place to split the chapter.  After feeling for Hilda and Kate to hear Kathy reverting to a childish, selfish person, is telling.  I am not sure she can be called even a young woman, she is acting like a seven year old in a toddler like tantrum.

Meg's improved piano playing alongside her other work is good to see and that it gives her an extra A level as well.

Reviewer: ivohenry Signed [Report This]
Date: 20 May 2018 5:14 pm Title: A New Dream - Vol 10: Life Is Sweet, Life Is Sharp

Oh Kathie! She just hasn't taken on board anything that people who are trying to help her are saying. She really does need that time in the convent, though it doesn't seem likely that it will turn her around as it did Meg. Lovely to see how Meg is blossoming and lputtingher heart and soul into her music, great outlet for her emotions, which she'll need even more once she hears about her father.

Do hope the transfusion will ease Hilda's pain, she really needs a few days' rest and relaxation before the trip to Boston, but she is unlikely to get it. I think she need another companion as well as Ellie for the journey, maybe Vivien would like a trip to Boston??

Thanks for successfully posting this,Mary!

Reviewer: Lynne Anonymous [Report This]
Date: 18 May 2018 9:42 am Title: A New Dream - Vol 10: Life Is Sweet, Life Is Sharp

I'm so enjoying this series.. Can't wait to see how Meg and her Dad get on, I'm really hoping she reacts favourably as I think theyve both suffered enough!!

Also wondering how Joey and her little angel are

 

 



Author's Response: Thanks, Lynne. I'm also hoping Meg responds positively to the news about her father - but given the way Ellie responded, who knows? As to Jo, I suppose I haven't shown her in action for a while, so must out that right, for you if no one else! *grins*

Reviewer: Blueskye Signed [Report This]
Date: 12 May 2018 8:35 pm Title: A New Dream - Vol 10: Life Is Sweet, Life Is Sharp

Life for Hilda is such a slog physically, mentally and emotionally; let's hope she gets enough rest and manages to cope with the rigours of a transatlantic flight - is she fit enough to fly??

Thank you, Mary



Author's Response: Thanks for the review, Blueskye - only just squeezed in before the next chapter appears later this afternoon! Is she fit to fly for ten hours or more? Who knows? *grins*

Reviewer: Rosemarie Anonymous [Report This]
Date: 11 May 2018 1:48 pm Title: A New Dream - Vol 10: Life Is Sweet, Life Is Sharp

Some lovely quotes here  Mary,thank you.

I'm glad to hear from God Himself that Hilda is doing exactly what He requires, for she seems very unwell and much too fragile to do all she is hoping in the next few days.



Author's Response: Glad you like the quotations, Celia, and I agree that Hilda seems too fragile to do anything, but since He asked her to help people, I doubt she will refuse. Thank you.

Reviewer: Linda Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 07 May 2018 11:12 pm Title: A New Dream - Vol 10: Life Is Sweet, Life Is Sharp

I love these conversations with Hilda and MA. They understand each other so well. I think MA is very wise to suggest that Hilda spends her time at the convent at Easter having a complete rest rather than starting her postulants training and I am sure that MA will be able to persuade Sister Catherine that it is necessary. The fact that Tessa's father, John, took the time to ring Hilda is a real sign of how much the family care about her. I'm sure Tessa's mum will ensure that Ellie gets to see the sights whilst Hilda spends time with Tessa.

Thank you for another great chapter Mary. At least this time I've been able to post my own review!!

Author's Response: I'm so glad you like their conversations, Linda, as I do feel I'm sometimes rather boring you all with them! Yes, Hilda will need a rest at Easter, won't she, not more hard work? And Boston, too, will be hard work, so fingers crossed she gets some rest there. She hadn't anticipated being il when she made that promise. Thanks for reviewing.

Reviewer: AnneM Signed [Report This]
Date: 04 May 2018 6:24 pm Title: A New Dream - Vol 10: Life Is Sweet, Life Is Sharp

Such a lovely conversation between Hilda and John, but I'm not sure I'm looking forward to the meeting with Gilles and Sylvie - still, who know what may have happened by then? The quotation form Maude Preston is very touching. Thank you, Mary.



Author's Response: Thank you, Anne, for liking the poem by Maud Preston - though, actually, I only included one verse, th most touching one, I think. Like you, I'm not looking forward to that meeting, as have np idea what's going to happen, so I hope she tells me soon! *grins*

Reviewer: Seven Signed [Report This]
Date: 04 May 2018 5:48 pm Title: A New Dream - Vol 10: Life Is Sweet, Life Is Sharp

I think the inviterview with Sylvie is  going to tax Hilda a great deal but, hopefully, Gilles will agree with Hilda and be able to make Sylvie see sense.

I do hope the trip to the US is going to give Hilda the rest she needs in spite of the journey.  At least staying in the convent should be restful for her more so than a hotel and certainly it will be better than her staying at school.  I hope she gets to the San soon.  She spends herself so freely to help others that she really needs to put herself first sometimes which I'm sure MA would agree with.



Author's Response: I think Sylvie would tax anyone, Seven! But Hilda has loads of experience behind her, as does MA. I would agree about putting herself first sometimes, but she would say that, as Head, everyone else has to come first. And MA understands that, which is why she's not forcing the issue too much, and also trying to hold Matey back. And haven't both the Lord and Ian both now told the nun to wait and trust and let Hilda decide? I just wish I was as unselfish!!!!

Reviewer: ivohenry Signed [Report This]
Date: 02 May 2018 6:39 pm Title: A New Dream - Vol 10: Life Is Sweet, Life Is Sharp

Love the conversation with John, Hilda did a good job when she talked to him before, must have been so helpful to him and Barbara. Do hope Ellie and Katy get on well, I'm sure it willl be good for Katy to meet someone from school, Ellie wil have lots she can tell her which will take her mind off thngs, and hopefully encourage her to want to come back. Being back at school will be good for her, she won't have the constant reminder of seeing her sister in pain, snd she knows now that Tessa is recovering well, even though it's such a slow and painful progress. 

Do hope the transfusion will help Hilda, seems she really needs it now not later in the evening, she still has to get through a difficult conversation iwth Meg. then time with Marie.



Author's Response: Thank you for the lovely review, ivohenry. Yes, hopefully Ellie will be able to help Katy, being more or less the same age. Marianne would have been better, of course! *grins* I too hope Jack can help Hilda, but have no reassurance on that pint, alas. She's a very cagey woman!

Reviewer: Bobcat Signed [Report This]
Date: 01 May 2018 9:29 pm Title: A New Dream - Vol 10: Life Is Sweet, Life Is Sharp

I am very glad Sister Catherine allowed Mother to visit the school. There's no one else Hilda would allow to see her in such pain and need, or anyone else she needs more than MA right now. The relationship between them is beautiful.

Thank you Mary.



Author's Response: I'm so glad you like their relationship, Bobcat, because Hilda surely needed someone she could be open with, after losing Nell - though I'm quite sure she never expected that confidante to be a nun! As you say, she allows MA to see the neediness that no one else sees. She would consider it weakness, whereas others seeing her physical pain is not quite the same.

Reviewer: Karita Anonymous [Report This]
Date: 01 May 2018 7:42 pm Title: A New Dream - Vol 10: Life Is Sweet, Life Is Sharp

I'm glad of what God said to Mother. It's reassuring for us to know that his promise to geh still stands! I love that but bit about her reward too... Intriguing! ;-)



Author's Response: Very intriguing, Karita - especially as I have no idea what He means about her reward. I wonder how long I'll have to wait... Thank you for reviewing.

Reviewer: PaulineS Signed [Report This]
Date: 30 Apr 2018 10:03 pm Title: A New Dream - Vol 10: Life Is Sweet, Life Is Sharp

Let us hope that Jack's treatment of a blood transfusion helps, I think she needs a transfusion of Packed cells rather than whole blood if her iron levels are dropping.  Pity it is before ultrasounds were developed as one might show what is happening better than x-rays can. 

i am pleased Mother has arranged for the Boston nuns to keep an eye on Hilda.  ALeo that Mother has heard God's voice.



Author's Response: Well, you know what MA's like - bossy and determined. Of course she would alert Boston!! *grins* Thanks also for offering medical help.

Reviewer: Elder in Ontario Signed [Report This]
Date: 30 Apr 2018 7:50 pm Title: A New Dream - Vol 10: Life Is Sweet, Life Is Sharp

Considering it's barely 48 hours since Hilda died and was restored to life, it's quite amazing just how much she has accomplished since her return to the Annexe only just over 24 hours ago!   True, she has struggled today and any lesser being would probably have agreed either to postpone some activities or allow others to carry them our for her, but with Mother's unfailing support and with Jack's willingness to delay Hilda's return to the San until after dinner, I firmly believe she will accomplish her last two tasks for this day, 

Meantime, the relationship between Mother and Hilda continues to grow and strengthen - as if it wasn't already strong enough - and it's rather wonderful to see.  I'm glad, though, that Hilda accepts without question the sense of taking her time at the Convent over Easter to rest and recuperate  - rather, I suspect to Mothere's surprise.  Nor do I imagine that Sister Catherine will make any objections to the changed plan except as a matter of form - if she could see Hilda now, she would understand exactly the reasons for it.  It's also good for Mother to be 'present' at the various phone conversations - and that Hilda herself is making no real objections to accepting support from the Boston Nuns.  Loved Mother hearing 'a beautiful voice telling me off', too; and Hilda is wise in not yielding to the temptation to use Mother's given name, no matter how much she might like to do so - better not to start than to run the risk of using it inappropriately at a later date.  

It's to be hoped that Jack's overnight treatment will indeed bring about a mors sustained improvement in Hilda's physical condition (I wonder if his mind is now turning to the idea of a platelet infusion, as Pauline suggested in her comment to the previous chapter) and that Helen Graves is only too well aware of Hilda's low mental state and will be on hand, along with Jack, during the night.  I must admit to a chuckle at the latter sweetning the pill by arranging to bring Ellie in to change her dressing at the same time, thus giving the two of them another night together - even though Ellie might have preferred to be available for Meg.  

Thank you, Mary - and forgive yet another essay!



Author's Response: I'll always forgive your essays, Elder. They're so interesting and reassuring. Yes, I think I tend to forget it's only three days since she fell ill, but I'm so pleased you're enjoying the chats Hilda has with Mother, because she needs them when she's at this low ebb. But MA also gets so much out of them, so who could refuse them when they keep insisting I write about them? *winks* I thought Jack's inspired idea of having Ellie over as well was rather touching. Thank you.

Reviewer: Blueskye Signed [Report This]
Date: 27 Apr 2018 10:31 pm Title: A New Dream - Vol 10: Life Is Sweet, Life Is Sharp

Thank you, Mary - a lovely chapter - Matey is learning to hold back and trust Hilda isn't she? I am looking forward to MA on the subject of twinness/twindom (?) Take care x

Reviewer: Seven Signed [Report This]
Date: 26 Apr 2018 11:36 pm Title: A New Dream - Vol 10: Life Is Sweet, Life Is Sharp

Kathie seems to be coming round bit by bit so I hope the convent will help her continue on that path.  

I hope Hilda is not going to have a problem with Sylvie over Emilie's behaviour.  She has enough to contend with at the moment.

I hope Hilda goes to the San for her transfusion or she will never make America.

Reviewer: MaryR Signed [Report This]
Date: 22 Apr 2018 4:46 pm Title: A New Dream - Vol 10: Life Is Sweet, Life Is Sharp

This review was sent to me from Linda to post, as she can't access SDL at all:

"Another beautiful chapter Mary. Hilda's care for Vi was tangible. She's been badly hurt by Kathie, but Hilda's care, together with MA's loving promise to attend the funeral and take her to the convent for a quiet time afterwards will have provided a little balm for Vi's troubled heart.

The conversation with Gilles was very difficult for both Hilda and Gilles. But he needed to understand just what damage his wife is doing to both girls. With him on her side, Hilda has a chance of making a difference to the girls' future lives and happiness.

I do hope that MA's gentle massage will give Hilda some relief and let her get some rest before she has to prepare for the next invasion. Thank you Mary."

Reviewer: Clair Anonymous starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 18 Apr 2018 10:28 am Title: A New Dream - Vol 10: Life Is Sweet, Life Is Sharp

Hilda has hit the nail on the head, Kathie probably does feel this is all happening to someone else. So many of her comments and behaviours have been bewildering not only Hilda but Kathie too, as if she's standing outside of herself looking in with no control.

Hilda's acceptance that she might need that transfusion is typical, having had time to rest and see that she's used all the strength given thus far and needs a top up she can now face the idea more easily. Her weakness is apparent and she is limiting the things she needs to do, almost rationing her strength depending on the need.

It's good to see Gwynneth finding her own courage and being gentler with Hilda than her nature would suggest, it must be so hard for her to do even though she knows it's necessary. Her comment re 'do or die' was perfect to lighten the mood and give the three women a moment of levity.

Poor Vi, she must be exhausted and will benefit from a rest at the convent - there does seem to be a slight possibility it could coincide with Kathie's time there though which could be either very good or very bad depending on how Kathie's mood is on the day if it happens.

Yes, Nancy needs to be involved with the twins and they also need to see her involved and to know that she understands the situation for when Hilda goes otherwise Emilie might just try to go back again thinking Nancy won't see it, always assuming that Emilie moves on and starts to behave better in the first place.

As for Gilles, let's hope he is able to keep all of this from Sylvie until they arrive at the school. His heart is in the right place and he wants the best for the twins but he also loves his wife - what a mess to be entangled in for him. With luck his admiration for Hilda as well as that love for his family will keep him focused and able to wait before saying anything. Possibly Sylvie's best hope wold be if Emilie were to see how wrong she has been in treating Marie so badly and to ask for her mother's help to change although that's unlikely with Emilie being so young.

Now let Hilda get some rest before the next hurdle.

Thanks Mary

No results found.


Enter the security code shown below:
Note: You may submit either a rating or a review or both.