Reviews For A New Dream
Reviewer: Ailidh Anonymous [Report This]
Date: 05 Sep 2017 2:06 pm Title: A New Dream - Vol 10: Life Is Sweet, Life Is Sharp

So I've finally finished this series, at least until the next installment...  

Mary, what a work of love this is! The sheer amount of story is amazing, almost overwhelming, and each character gets their chance to stand out and shine.

I can really feel Hilda's conflict between her longing for the cloister, her duties to the school and her attachment to Ellie. I do have every faith that it will sort itself, and that the close of the series (in another 12 yrs time?) will see Hilda finally enjoying the peace and quiet of the convent, woven into the history of the school rather than holding the threads herself.

I do quail at what she may have to face before then though!

Sorry to see that you have been in poor health. I hope you are feeling better and you will be in my prayers - I feel like I know you after reading all 10 installments!



Author's Response: Oh, Ailidh, how lovely that you feel you know me after reading this saga! Thank you so much for the compliments and for your staying power in reading well over 1,000,000 words. I have to admit that it is a work of love, starting with a love of Hilda and then loving each new character as he or she appears - popping up without any warning in some cases, as Ellie did. I'm not sure, though, that at the age of 71, I have another 12 years of writing in me. *grins* I'm hoping to get back to work shortly, so keep a look-out for new chapters. Thank you, Ailidh.

Reviewer: WendyE Anonymous [Report This]
Date: 29 Aug 2017 1:41 pm Title: A New Dream - Vol 10: Life Is Sweet, Life Is Sharp

I've just finished reading the entire series for the third time - it's my absolute favourite out of all the series! Are there any more chapters to come, please?



Author's Response: Wendy, what a lovely thing to say, and how brave of you to read the whole saga, not once, but three times, when it's so long! You have my whole-hearted admiration! Don't worry, there will be some coming soon. It's just that I've had appalling back problems since April, with disc pressing on a nerve and making it impossible to sit for long. I spend most of my time lying down or standing, even to eat and read. but neither of them make it easy to type. I'm standing as I type this. I finally see a neurologist soon and am hoping for answers and some kind of resolution to the appalling pain. I have nearly typed up some of the next chapter, so if you want to get an alert when it's posted, perhaps you'd better favourite the saga or my name, since you don't appear to be a member so I can't alert you myself. Thank you once again.

Reviewer: wq123 Signed [Report This]
Date: 28 Aug 2017 4:35 am Title: A Blanket of Hope

n adidas shoes the northface run new balance shoes from his pandora home coach purses outlet town watches of Basra nike and suns jersey under a michael kors curse jimmy choo for air max 2015 any beats headphones killing bills nfl jersey that prada sunglasses led nike air on fred perry outlet the michael kors handbags death philadelphia 76ers jersey of soccer shoes outlet his converse shoes much-loved buddy, the streetwise Sinbad discovers trail blazers jersey himself cast azcardinals nfl jersey out fred perry to nike free be able to true religion jeans sea. nba jersey Surviving lacoste outlet a violent and also beats by dr dre magical storm, huarache both ralph lauren Sinbad and his intriguing fellow iphone cases ship-mates are jordan generally pandora jewellery forced nike mercurial to band together salvatore ferragamo to hollisterco face oakley vault their burberry inner hermes birkin demonsn the run from michael kors bags his hogan home pacers jersey town nike air max of Basra and under a ray ban sunglasses curse swarovski for giuseppe shoes any killing ray ban that led coach outlet on the death jimmy choo shoes of roshe run his replica handbags much-loved handbags outlet buddy, boston celtics jerseys the relojes streetwise Sinbad discovers prada himself cast denver nuggets jersey out vans to oakley sunglasses cheap be able nike to sea. coach outlet usa Surviving a coach black friday violent dolphins nfl jersey and also timberwolves jersey magical storm, true religion jeans outlet both Sinbad ed hardy and hollister his north face jackets intriguing cheap oakley sunglasses fellow mcm backpack ship-mates adidas are cheap true religion generally michael kors outlet forced to burberry outlet online band bengals nfl jersey together fidget spinner to [b][/b] face hermes outlet their inner asics demonsn ferragamo shoes the juicy couture run packers nfl jersey from his home ralph lauren uk town tommy hilfiger of Basra buccaneers nfl jersey and under a bottega veneta curse puma for any cheap shoes killing mcm handbags that led michael kors on the death of nike roshe his warriors jersey much-loved swarovski canada buddy, adidas the streetwise swarovski Sinbad womens clothing discovers timberland shoes himself cast out to nike air max be able hogan shoes to nfl jerseys sea. Surviving a skechers violent rolex montre and also magical asics outlet storm, supra shoes both Sinbad air force and nike free his ferragamo uk intriguing michael kors outlet fellow ralph lauren online shop ship-mates new balance are fendi outlet generally nike free 5.0 forced rolex watches to band together true religion outlet store to seahawks nfl jersey face their inner hollister demonsn lunette oakley the timberland boots run from ralph lauren outlet online his oakley sungalsses outlet home fitflop town air max of Basra thomas sabo and nike under prada handbags a curse burberry handbags outlet for the north face outlet any oakley sunglasses outlet killing raptors jersey that ray ban sunglasses led on the michael kors outlet online death bottega of ray ban his polo ralph lauren much-loved oakley sunglasses outlet buddy, the ecco shoes streetwise Sinbad oakley sunglasses outlet discovers himself cast nike store out polo ralph lauren outlet to burberry outlet online be able to armani exchange sea. Surviving a chrome hearts outlet violent marc jacobs and ralph lauren factory store also nike magical chiefs nfl jersey storm, hollister both ralph lauren polo Sinbad retro jordans and his intriguing air max fellow ship-mates converse are cheap nhl jerseys generally mcm backpack outlet forced kate spade outlet to hoodies outlet band north face together to face red bottoms their air max inner babyliss demonsn swarovski jewelry the run adidas tracksuits from ray ban sunglasses outlet his home town new balance of polo outlet online Basra and under a curse redskins nfl jersey for any killing raiders nfl jersey that bcbg dresses led jaguars nfl jersey on the oakley outlet death jordan retro of michael kors usa his vans much-loved jets nfl jersey buddy, the streetwise new york knicks jerseys Sinbad barbour jackets discovers ray ban sunglasses outlet himself chargers nfl jersey cast rams nfl jersey out to cleveland cavaliers jersey be able to oklahoma city thunder jerseys sea. barbour jacket outlet Surviving a dallas mavericks jersey violent nike air and soccer shoes also swarovski magical mk outlet online storm, the north face both versace outlet Sinbad and his calvin klein intriguing fellow burberry ship-mates are falcons nfl jersey generally adidas forced to cheap nfl jerseys band tn pas cher together to hugo boss online face their inner oakley sunglasses outlet demonsn the browns nfl jersey run ray ban from bcbg max his tory burch sandals home burberry uk town christian louboutin outlet of the north face Basra celine handbags and air jordans under a baseball bats curse beats by dre headphones for tommy hilfiger any charlotte hornets jersey killing converse that mcm bags led ray ban wayfarer on jordan shoes the polo outlet death soccer outlet of oakley his much-loved buddy, the streetwise burberry canada Sinbad discovers longchamp black friday himself cast out coach factory outlet to be able philipp plein to sea. supra shoes Surviving broncos nfl jersey a nike canada violent and also magical burberry handbags storm, atlanta hawks jersey both cheap jerseys Sinbad oakley black friday and philipp plein outlet his burberry outlet intriguing fellow pandora uk ship-mates michael kors bags are colts nfl jersey generally chi flat iron forced to cheap jerseys band puma shoes together basketball shoes to face prada outlet their burberry inner hilfiger demonsn the pandora run north face from his home adidas town of Basra handbags outlet and birkenstock under prada shoes a omega watches curse michaelkors.com for hollister clothing store any ray ban killing vikings nfl jersey that chicago bulls jerseys led on air huarache the death of timberland outlet his ralph lauren polos much-loved buddy, vans shoes the nike free run streetwise nike store Sinbad discovers oakley sungalsses outlet himself cast out nike store to be skechers shoes able michael kors outlet to louboutin sea. skechers shoes outlet Surviving flat iron a polo ralph lauren violent and michael kors outlet online sale also polo ralph lauren outlet online magical oakley sungalsses outlet storm, nets jerseys both coach outlet Sinbad oakley sungalsses outlet and barbour jackets outlet his mizuno running intriguing air max shoes fellow ship-mates bears nfl jersey are generally ralph lauren outlet forced to coach factory outlet online band wizards jersey together to long champ face their ray-ban sunglasses inner scarpe hogan demonsn rolex watches the the north face jackets run cheap mlb jerseys from titans nfl jersey his occhiali ray ban home town of nike huarache Basra ralph lauren and under nike free run a christian louboutin shoes curse longchamp outlet for any air max killing longchamp handbags outlet that detroit pistons jerseys led tory burch outlet on north face outlet the birkenstock death of his ray ban much-loved polo ralph buddy, salvatore ferragamo the dsquared2 outlet streetwise ralph lauren Sinbad michael kors outlet discovers michael kors uk himself cast out to oakley vault be able oakley outlet online to sea. michael kors australia Surviving eyeglass frames a michael kors outlet violent and ray ban outlet also magical ray ban black friday storm, both christian louboutin Sinbad and juicy couture outlet his coachfactory.com/shop intriguing designer handbags fellow nike shoes outlet ship-mates are generally forced adidas to band together mcm handbags to grizzlies jersey face their cheap oakley inner coach outlet demonsn the texans nfl jersey run reebok from his ralph lauren home ferragamo town of eagles nfl jersey Basra pandora jewelry and nba shoes under a tommy hilfiger outlet curse for converse sneakers any killing that valentino led cowboys nfl jersey on cheap jerseys the christian louboutin death of nike roshe his much-loved pandora charms buddy, iphone case the cheap nike shoes streetwise tommy hilfiger Sinbad los angeles lakers jerseys discovers hollister clothing himself cast out to patriots nfl jersey be ray ban able to michael kors sea. burberry uk Surviving nike shoes outlet a north face backpacks violent michael kors and also horloges magical storm, both kings jersey Sinbad givenchy antigona and michael kors his barbour jackets intriguing giants nfl jersey fellow rolex watches ship-mates are hilfiger outlet generally forced nike air max to ravens nfl jersey band hilfiger online shop together mbt shoes to nike shoes outlet face air max 90 their longchamp outlet inner thomas sabo demonsn the christian louboutin run from cheap jordans his rolex watches for sale home town of michael kors outlet Basra true religion outlet and coach black friday under christian louboutin shoes a spurs jersey curse ray ban for timberland any oakley sungalsses outlet killing jazz jersey that led nike roshe run on longchamp handbags the instyler death of his saints nfl jersey much-loved ralph lauren buddy, the under armour streetwise true religion Sinbad coach outlet online discovers longchamp himself cast giuseppe zanotti out to be roshe run able salomon to pelicans jersey sea. [b][/b] Surviving a violent marc jacobs and michael kors also swarovski crystal magical barbour storm, both Sinbad lions nfl jersey and his five finger shoes intriguing kate spade fellow ship-mates are coach outlet generally kate spade outlet forced coach outlet online to nhl jerseys band together adidas schuhe to face their inner nike demonsn michael kors outlet the run new balance outlet from uhren his home burberry outlet town dansko shoes of cheap ray ban Basra nfl jerseys and birkenstock outlet under mlb jerseys a curse for roshe runs any [b][/b] killing 49ers nfl jersey that led on replica watches the death los angeles clippers jerseys of hollister clothing store his much-loved oakley sunglasses buddy, hermes the ray bans streetwise adidas shoes Sinbad softball bats discovers levi's jeans himself miami heat jerseys cast jordan release dates out to be nike able bucks jersey to mont blanc pens sea. eyeglasses online Surviving beats by dre a dsquared2 violent michael kors uk and orlando magic jersey also michael kors outlet online magical storm, houston rockets jersey both nike factory Sinbad and woolrich outlet his adidas yeezy shoes intriguing coach outlet store fellow air max 2015 ship-mates steelers nfl jersey are coach factory outlet generally ray ban forced nike air max to omega watches band new balance together to panthers nfl jersey face longchamp their inner ralph lauren outlet demons

Reviewer: Sarah Anonymous [Report This]
Date: 07 Aug 2017 10:02 am Title: Passing the Baton

Amazing! 

Reviewer: Linda Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 01 Aug 2017 12:22 am Title: Passing the Baton

It will really have helped Hilda that she had so much to occupy her mind trying to filt a quart into a pint pot, rather than worrying about her fitness to take on the role of actual head of the Chalet School. I am sure she will have been as meticulous as usual, ensuring that every 't' was crossed and every 'I' dotted in time for the arrival of the staff and students, old and new, ready to face a new future together.

Thank you Mary. I would love one day to read your wonderful stories in print.

Author's Response: Thanks so much for taking the time to write, not one, but two reviews, Linda. Bless you for the compliment, I don't somehow think I'll be self-publishing anything...

Reviewer: Linda Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 01 Aug 2017 12:06 am Title: Passing the Baton

I love Hilda's very typical humility in not believing that she is good enough to follow in Therese's footsteps, and Therese's gentle insistence that she has the necessary qualities and that Nell, if she is invited to be Senior Mistress, will bring other qualities and balance Hilda perfectly.

A lovely, albeit tinged with sadness, conversation between two beloved characters.

Thank you, Mary

Reviewer: Elder in Ontario Signed [Report This]
Date: 31 Jul 2017 11:04 pm Title: Passing the Baton

That was interesting - I happened to come onto SDL quite at random and found this update before I got my 'favourite update' notification!   Technology!!

Nice that Hilda was able to spend a fair amount of time with Mademoiselle Lepattre before plunging into all the arrangements needed to accommodate the girls and staff from St. Scholastika.  Given all her very natural fears and doubts over her new position, it was probably a good thing she was kept so busy, too.  Not that there was ever any doubt that the rest of the staff would accept her formally as the third Head of the school, but she wouldn't believe that until they did, would she?  And so begins a new, long and successful era at  the Chalet School -  Thank you, Mary, 



Author's Response: I never thanked you for this at the time, Elder, but am gradually catching up with myself. I did appreciate your kindness in writing such a lovely review.

Reviewer: Celia Anonymous [Report This]
Date: 30 Jul 2017 11:54 pm Title: Passing the Baton

Just got around to reading these first two chapters, and renewing my acquaintance with 'Passing the Baton'.  Little did Hilda realise at this stage that she was about to dedicate the rest of her life to the school and to lead it through many traumatic times. You draw Madge and Mademoiselle exactly as I remember them in canon. I look forward to the rest of the story.

Reviewer: Blueskye Signed [Report This]
Date: 28 Jul 2017 10:35 pm Title: Passing the Baton

Finally found this! What a lovely insight into the story and very true to the original books - thank you, Mary

Reviewer: Suemc Anonymous [Report This]
Date: 28 Jul 2017 12:44 am Title: Passing the Baton

Thànkyou Mary I 3njoyed  reading Hilda s reaction to taking on the headßhip typical that she didn't think she was  good enough. I loved the fact that she would only do it if the staff approved. 

 



Author's Response: Thank you, Sue, though actually all I've done is take what the book says and extended it.

Reviewer: Audrey Anonymous [Report This]
Date: 28 Jul 2017 12:17 am Title: Passing the Baton

Beautifully written, Mary.



Author's Response: Why, thank you, Audrey.

Reviewer: Elder in Ontario Signed [Report This]
Date: 27 Jul 2017 1:25 am Title: Passing the Baton

I really like Mademoiselle Lepattre's gentle but insistent reassurance that Hilda is right for the job, and that everyone will be in favour of the appointment.  Also her realistic acceptance of her own situation, knowing that while she will probably live for some while longer, it must be as an invalid.  I just went back and re-read the start of The New Chalet School, and this is an excellent and very touching extension to what I read there.  Thank you, Mary.

 



Author's Response: Aw, thank you, Elder. What a lovely thing to do and say!

Reviewer: shesings Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 26 Jul 2017 11:41 pm Title: Passing the Baton

Hilda would be humble about her own gifts and very conscious of the already established standards but that is why she will be good. This all sounds so much what could and probably did happen, Mary!

Author's Response: Thanks, shesings. I sometimes feel I've metamorphosed into Hilda... *grins*

Reviewer: PaulineS Signed [Report This]
Date: 26 Jul 2017 9:57 pm Title: Passing the Baton

Hildayou have taken on more than you know.  Therese is right in seeing Nell as the next Senior Mistress.

thank you Mary 



Author's Response: Thanks, Pauline.

Reviewer: MaryR Signed [Report This]
Date: 26 Jul 2017 8:38 pm Title: A New Dream - Vol 10: Life Is Sweet, Life Is Sharp

Another review sent to me by Rosemarie, formerly Celia, since she's unable to gain access at the moment:

So lovely to think of them all saying compline together whilst MA remains with them. I'm sure Hilda will agree with a heart and a half. It might become a tradition which carries on. Any staff and maybe even sixth form who want, coming together to say the office whenever they are able before bed. A plus for those who find school prayers not quite enough.

I too loved the Rilke quote, and CS Lewis 'patches of Godlight.' Good to see Hilda's 'family' together having time to chat informally. Nancy and Matey will need to hear Hilda's forgiveness before they are comforted, but will have learnt not to hide anything from her which she should know I suspect.

Looking forward to the next chapter whenever you and your erstwhile laptop are well enough. Thank you Mary, may the injection be soon and effective.

Reviewer: shesings Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 24 Jul 2017 10:51 pm Title: Passing the Baton

Poor Hilda, first her worry and sadness and now being asked to take the job she thought she was just keeping warm for her friend.

Reviewer: thefrau46 Signed [Report This]
Date: 24 Jul 2017 7:56 pm Title: Passing the Baton

Thanks, Mary.  I must have missed this first time round.

Reviewer: ivohenry Signed [Report This]
Date: 24 Jul 2017 6:40 pm Title: Passing the Baton

Don't remember reading this one before, thanks for reposting, interesting to see how you write early Hilda, having read later Hilda in ND!  

Reviewer: Elder in Ontario Signed [Report This]
Date: 24 Jul 2017 6:33 pm Title: Passing the Baton

Thanks for reposting this, Mary - it's a story which never loses its poignancy, however often one reads it.  And how typical of Hilda that she had no thought that she might be in the running to become the third headmistress of the school.  

Reviewer: Linda Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 24 Jul 2017 6:00 pm Title: Passing the Baton

I loved this first time around and it will be good to read it again.

I love the way that Hilda's thoughts are all for Therese, she really doesn't see that she is the obvious one to fill the huge gap and become the third head of the rapidly growing school, taking the Chalet School forward and helping shape the lives of the girls entrusted to her care.

Looking forward to renewing my acquaintance with an old friend. Thank you Mary

Reviewer: PaulineS Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 24 Jul 2017 5:24 pm Title: Passing the Baton

Thank you Mary for reposting this.  I remember small fragments, and recognise where it is in canon.. it will be good to see this from Hilda's perspective.

Reviewer: Clair Anonymous starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 16 Jul 2017 5:13 pm Title: A New Dream - Vol 10: Life Is Sweet, Life Is Sharp

MA's thoughts are rather similar to Gwynneth's in wanting to keep Hilda in line but MA has accepted that Hilda needs to give all she is able to before taking her own rest. Maybe if Gwynneth watches carefully she too will learn when to keep those thoughts inside and when to insist on rest.

It's lovely to finally see a happy Meg even though she knows there will be difficulties ahead she is so different now that she'll cope with it all with help from her friends. Ellie is also much happier despite the pain, glad Helen sent her to bed though.

I love the way that the cubicles give so much away about their owners and are personal to each of them even as part of the school furniture.

I hope that Nancy is able to accept that her differences to Hilda do not make her lesser as a future Head. She will do a sterling job if she can just trust in herself. As for whether she will be able to work with Kathie that's up to Kathie to prove herself as a changed being.

Helen's relationship with Hilda is becoming one of the most wonderful friendships as it is so understated yet as deep and caring as any of those which are more apparent.

It's also lovely to see Ian and MA growing closer and appreciating each other more and more, the long distance between them geographically has been narrowed by this time together and their closeness increased.

As for Vivien, she's a blessing all through and I love the humourous way she used the need for the telephone to bring Gwynneth back into the fold in such a simple way.

Thanks Mary 

Reviewer: SueMc Anonymous [Report This]
Date: 14 Jul 2017 12:15 am Title: A New Dream - Vol 10: Life Is Sweet, Life Is Sharp

I so enjoyed this chapter, all Hildas "family" drawing together. Good that Meg has such help from Ellie and Jeanne and of course Mireille. Loved the way MA wanted to see the dormitories and that Vivien had to go as well so she didn't get lost. What a lovely idea for them all to read the office together. I feel Nancy is  going to need a lot of  help from MA and the others over the next few days. Glad Hilda is finally asleep. By the way loved the Rilke quotation. Thanks  Mary.

Reviewer: Seven Anonymous [Report This]
Date: 11 Jul 2017 10:41 pm Title: A New Dream - Vol 10: Life Is Sweet, Life Is Sharp

Wonderful update.  So glad Hilda is finally asleep and all  her lambs seem to be happy.  Just hope Nancy can forgive Kathie now.

Reviewer: Linda Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 11 Jul 2017 1:24 am Title: A New Dream - Vol 10: Life Is Sweet, Life Is Sharp

The support for Meg is wonderful and it has really helped to break the ice and will encourage her to ignore the snide remarks which are bound to come from Sarah and Barbara. She knows that her dreadful sins are forgiven and that she can make good in the future if she puts her trust in Him.

I'm glad that Kathie was asleep when Nancy went to her. She needs her rest and to let the truths which Hilda imparted to her work their way into her soul whilst she sleeps and He watches over her.

Persuading Gwyneth to join the 'family' to pray the Office was inspired, they all needed the peace this will have brought them and will go to their beds all the better for this time together. Hopefully Hilda will be able to join them tomorrow evening.

Where do you find your quotes, Mary? The Rilke brought tears to my eyes and spoke to the depths of my soul.

Thank you Mary.

Author's Response: Thanks for the review, Linda. Where do I find my quotations? Well, I do like Rilke and have books of his poetry. Other quotes come from my reading, like the one from 'Arrest the Bishop?' or from the Bible. I have been collecting quotations for many years and have several quote books, like Hilda, so often just have to leaf through to find one I like.

No results found.


Enter the security code shown below:
Note: You may submit either a rating or a review or both.