Reviews For A New Dream
Reviewer: Shelley Anonymous [Report This]
Date: 17 Nov 2017 4:00 am Title: A New Dream - Vol 1: The Two Abbesses

Sobbed my socks off

Reviewer: Clair Anonymous starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 13 Nov 2017 2:16 pm Title: A New Dream - Vol 10: Life Is Sweet, Life Is Sharp

One line at the start of the meeting stands out for me as it's the first time Kathie hasn't wanted to be centre stage but rather that people don't notice her, maybe, just maybe, the change is a little deeper than just on the surface, time will tell. Of course, the later look she gives Vivien shows that the jealousy is still bubbling away but then it's had a firm grip for a long time and will take more time to be fully under control, if it ever gets that far at all. The one saving grace is that it was just a look rather than some nasty sarcastic comment as it would have been previously. 

Ruth's interjection about Meg and Ellie was lovely, her very honest change of opinion of them is just how a teacher should be with an ability to recognise that her first ideas of character need to be altered due to circumstances changing. I'm sure that her quiet, unobtrusive observations will help Meg in particular going forward.

I'm not surprised the staff are uncertain about Isobel observing their lessons, it will feel uncomfortable for them but once they get to know her I'm sure they'll relax a little and realise it's not a test for them but to help Marianne.

The atmosphere in such a meeting is such an indication not only of how they feel about Hilda but how the staff get on as a whole as it's a real discussion with all, except Kathie, taking part. The individual tuition will probably be good for Hilda as it won't be noisy and will give her a chance to teach again instaed of being stuck with admin all the time. With MA around there's no chance she'll be allowed to overdo things either. 

The story of the doings at the convent breaking up the emotion of what had been said before was perfect and meant that they all left to continue their day in good humour. The fact that even Kathie smiled and was startled more than terrifeid at being a focus of attention bodes well for her talk with MA - which I hope we get to hear and see just how deep this conversion is so far.

Hilda's recognition that she's fading and will need a break is a welcome change, finally she's accepting that she can't just keep going no matter what which will help her to improve far more quickly.

Thanks Mary

 

 



Author's Response: Clair, I don't know how to thank you for both your wonderful reviews. I don't think there was one item you didn't mention. I think Kathie not wanting to be noticed is her fear that they will reject her after her treatment of them. She's still far from acknowledging all she's done, as we see by her distaste when she looks at Vivien. Oh, believe me, it's very hard to accept someone watching your lessons. All teachers feel they can't relax with the pupils in that situation, and worry that something they say will be criticised. I sympathised wholeheartedly with them. Thank you so much!

Reviewer: Clair Anonymous starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 13 Nov 2017 1:44 pm Title: A New Dream - Vol 10: Life Is Sweet, Life Is Sharp

The relationship between MA and Hilda is wonderful, all their talks bring out so much of Hilda's inner being that I doubt we'd ever see otherwise and yet they always have that touch of humour about them at the same time.

What a thorough treatment of Emilie and an inspired idea to use MA and Ian's twinship as a way of trying to get through to her. Perhaps Kathie's behaviour helped Hilda to be so strict and go into so much depth to show Emilie how wrong she was being, after all Hilda knows better than anyone how much more destructive that jealousy will be if Emilie doesn't curb it while she's still so young. 

Poor Marie, again Hilda having to find the steel within that compassion to show Marie that she will need to change her own behaviour in order to help her twin. Again having MA and Ian's example was perfect as it could show Marie she's not alone. I loved the fact that she not only found the nerve to ask to stay with them but to then accompany Emilie, however that very action shows that she hasn't yet really understood just how strong she'll need to be for her own sake and for Emilie.

That apology from Emilie is such a hopeful sign, as well as her concern over her Father's reaction. Clearly she knows he won't be as soft on her as her Mother would be which is all to the good. Let's hope that this is a turning point for her and she learns control and real love for her sister although I doubt life will be easy for her in school for some time after such behaviour.

Thanks Mary



Author's Response: Thank you for this review on the chapter with Emilie and Marie. Thank you for saying you enjoy the chats between MA and Hilda. You got the point of them immediately - they show Hilda's inner self, which she reveals to so few. Clearly with the twins, Hilda knows that Sylvie is really the one at fault, but has to get across to Emilie that she can't go on being so bull-headed and selfish, and Marie has to learn to stand up for herself - which Hilda knows is never easy. But she does know that Gilles will help Marie on that score. Fingers crossed for them both!

Reviewer: Linda Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 12 Nov 2017 10:49 am Title: A New Dream - Vol 10: Life Is Sweet, Life Is Sharp

I really enjoy the interaction between MA and Hilda, and it is obvious that the staff appreciate MA being there to support Hilda in her still fragile state. The staff meeting is going well, I think. The initial reaction of the staff to having Isobel in the classroom helping Marianne was quite understandable, it is always a little intimidating to feel that someone is observing a lesson and perhaps judging ones performance. Vivien helped them to see that her presence could be helpful to them rather than an intrusion. But, once again, there is a little worry that Kathie's jealous heart is not completely satisfied as she still resents Vivien's easy charm and the way the staff take up her suggestions. I do hope that there is not more trouble in the offing in that quarter.

I look forward to the second part of the meeting when the staff learn about Meg's father's intended visit.Thank you Mary.

Author's Response: Thank you for such a wonderful review, Linda. You're right about Kathie's heart, alas. But no one will learn about Meg's father until she herself is told about him, I'm afraid. That wouldn't be fair. The staff are only going to be shown how Meg has changed.

Reviewer: Seven Signed [Report This]
Date: 10 Nov 2017 6:13 pm Title: A New Dream - Vol 10: Life Is Sweet, Life Is Sharp

Hilda is on good form at the staff meeting in spite of still being so frail.  The care she takes over Marianne to make things easier for her is amazing and, hopefully, the staff will be all right with Isabel being in some of the lessons.  I hope Kathie can now put into practice all the help she has been getting so she controls her jealousy of Vivien.  It's still there and will not go quickly but she must learn to stop it and not let it rule her actions.

Looking forward to the rest of the meeting.  I hope Marie can learn to put herself before Emily sometimes and that Emily will put herself out for her very loving twin.   



Author's Response: Thanks for the review Seven. Yes, Kathie still has a lot to learn and a lot to acknowledge about herself, still. Same with Emilie, who won't understand how selfish she is being - and that's Sylvie's fault.

Reviewer: AnneM Signed [Report This]
Date: 10 Nov 2017 5:51 pm Title: A New Dream - Vol 10: Life Is Sweet, Life Is Sharp

What a very satisfying chapter! No wonder the staff all love Hilda so much. Or nearly all of them - that look of distaste that MA saw Kathie directing at Vivien is rather worrying, but after all, Kathie has only just begun to rethink her whole behaviour and she has a long way to go. I hope she allows MA to help her.

Sorting out Marianne was relatively straightforward - I am greatly looking forward to the meeting with Meg.

 



Author's Response: Thank you, Anne. You are so right. Kathie does indeed have a long way to go before she fully faces herself, and perhaps she will give Mother a hard time. I have no idea as I haven't been given that part of the story yet! *grins* I hope the meeting about Meg lives up to your expectations, so long as you aren't expecting Hilda to tell them about her father. Meg must learn that first.

Reviewer: Linda Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 09 Nov 2017 11:55 pm Title: A New Dream - Vol 10: Life Is Sweet, Life Is Sharp

I really enjoy the interaction between MA and Hilda, and it is obvious that the staff appreciate MA being there to support Hilda in her still fragile state. The staff meeting is going well, I think. The initial reaction of the staff to having Isobel in the classroom helping Marianne was quite understandable, it is always a little intimidating to feel that someone is observing a lesson and perhaps judging ones performance. Vivien helped them to see that her presence could be helpful to them rather than an intrusion. But, once again, there is a little worry that Kathie's jealous heart is not completely satisfied as she still resents Vivien's easy charm and the way the staff take up her suggestions. I do hope that there is not more trouble in the offing in that quarter.

I look forward to the second part of the meeting when the staff learn about Meg's father's intended visit.Thank you Mary.

Author's Response: How lovely of you to post this twice, Linda!!! Believe me, I know how easy it is to do! Thank you.

Reviewer: shesings Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 09 Nov 2017 12:30 pm Title: A New Dream - Vol 10: Life Is Sweet, Life Is Sharp

What wonderful women Hilda and MA are and I love the conversations between them. The ineraction with the staff was just what was needed, assuring them of Hilda's confidence in them, guiding them, all splendid! Sorry I didn't comment on the last chapter but life has been complicated recently.

Author's Response: Please don't worry about not responding, shesings. You have enough on your plate. But thanks for calling them wonderful woman! I'm not quite sure how I'm able to portray such women, as I'm certainly not wonderful!! *grins*

Reviewer: ivohenry Signed [Report This]
Date: 08 Nov 2017 11:46 pm Title: A New Dream - Vol 10: Life Is Sweet, Life Is Sharp

Lovely atmosphere in the meeting, good that Hilda has such a supportive staff, they are a great bunch. Good the way Vivien and Rosalind convinced he others having Marianne's mother would be a bonus not a hindrance in class. Do hope that was just a brief wobble from Kathie and nothing further will come of it

Look forward to discussion about Meg - and her reaction when she hears about her father. Iniitially she may feel she can't forgive him for all the years of neglect, but when she actually meets him, and especially her grandfather, do hope she'll give them a chance

 

Thank you Mary.



Author's Response: Thank you, ivohenry. As to Kathie, I'm not sure it is only a brief wobble. I don't think she'll be back to who she as till she really faces herself in the mirror. No one will hear about Meg's father until Meg herself hears later on in the evening. And I'm not sure Hilda will tell many of them anyway. Like Ellie's background, it isn't for general consumption. As to the meeting about her, the problem will be for MA and Hilda to get across that she really has changed.

Reviewer: Elder in Ontario Signed [Report This]
Date: 08 Nov 2017 10:47 pm Title: A New Dream - Vol 10: Life Is Sweet, Life Is Sharp

U;n certainly one who enjoys the conversations between Hilda and MA - in addition to showing us how much each has and is benefitting from their friendship, they always add another layer to the story.

Brave of Marie to admit she'd far rather remain in Hilda and MA's company than go back to class - at least she has returned there with the assurance that she needs to speak to Miss Andrews if she needs help, and has Abendessen this evening to look forward to.

I'm sure that watching Hilda in action at the staff meeting must have been very rewarding for MA - it's not often that she gets to see her 'daughter' interacting with the staff, rather than a girl.  I'm sure she appreciated the easy rapport between them too, and the way that Hilda, having made her point, simply sat back and let the others have their own frank and open exchange of views on matters.  Yes, it was important for Hilda to have their agreement over Marianne's return to school, her mother's presence and the best way to help the girl make up for the time she has missed, but there was no way she was going to insist without giving them all chance to air the pros and cons as they saw them - and in the end, they all saw the value of what was being put forward.  A very good idea for the girl to drop a couple of subjects - it gives her a fighting chance of passing the rest and getting good marks. I'm glad, too, that Hilda is already alerting the staff to possible problems with Katy when she returns after half term - and even to the fact the girl may refuse to do so, as it would take her away from Tessa. 

It's good, too, that Ruth reported Ellie's words of support for Meg, and the effect they had, not only on Meg herself, but on the rest of the class - Hilda needed to hear that.   Loved Hilda's thank you to the staff for their prayers, too - and the reactions - trust Vivien to lighten the atmosphere and send those who had to return to class out smiling rather than crying.  

Thank you, Mary - I will look forward to the discussions about Meg in due course.



Author's Response: Aw, thank you for saying the chats between Hilda and MA add another layer to the story. Your assessment of that staff meeting hit the nail on th head on all accounts. I'm really not sure what Katy will do as I haven't been given that part of the story yet, but, oh my, how MA relishes watching Hilda in action, ill as she is! It must have given her pause for thought, though, when she sees her allowing them to discuss things amongst themselves without her interfering. Food for thought for her own leadership. Thank you again, Elder.

Reviewer: PaulineS Signed [Report This]
Date: 08 Nov 2017 8:39 pm Title: A New Dream - Vol 10: Life Is Sweet, Life Is Sharp

May the Lord continue to bless them.  Thank you Mary.  Vivien is certainly proving her worth to Hilda and the School.  Loved Hilda telling them that Jack had agreed to her working, I am not sure he will be happy with how much Hilda is doing however.



Author's Response: thank you, Pauline. Jack probably won't be happy, but then he rarely is, and in the next chapter we see MA doing a spot of bullying and Hilda being sensible.

Reviewer: Sarah Anonymous [Report This]
Date: 08 Nov 2017 8:23 pm Title: A New Dream - Vol 10: Life Is Sweet, Life Is Sharp

Such a wonderful view! 

 



Author's Response: Aw, thank you, Sarah.

Reviewer: WendyE Anonymous [Report This]
Date: 08 Nov 2017 7:43 pm Title: A New Dream - Vol 10: Life Is Sweet, Life Is Sharp

I don't know how to PM you or email you, so I'll have to do it on here! Personally, I would be very sad to see less conversation between Hilda and Mother Abbess, as that is an integral part of the story to me, and helps both characters develop



Author's Response: Thank you, Wendy.

Reviewer: chenlixiang Signed [Report This]
Date: 08 Nov 2017 2:17 am Title: A New Dream - Vol 3 Christmas at the Convent

2017.11.8chenlixiang

moncler outlet adidas trainers uk north face outlet jordans jordan pas cher michael kors uk salomon boots cheap jordans fendi handbags uggs nike air max ugg canada goose burberry outlet lebron shoes supra shoes soccer shoes coach outlet tommy hilfiger pas cher air max michael kors outlet online swarovski gioielli softball bats pandora uk nike uk roty burch outlet nike mercurial roshe run ray ban pandora jewelry beats by dre north face vans pas cher ray ban sunglasses cheap jerseys hollister occhiali oakley hogan michael kors outlet nike free run vans scarpe hilfiger outlet air max 90 new balance femme air jordan mizuno nike roshe balenciaga guess pas cher chaussure nike nike air true religion outlet cheap wedding dresses salvatore ferragamo montre homme kate spade polo ralph ray ban sunglasses instyler rolex prezzi michael kors outlet adidas outlet mac makeup sac longchamp longchamp michael kors outlet online converse uk michael kors pandora charms michael kors canada religion jeans blazer nike burberry outlet polo ralph lauren michael kors outlet online oakley vault moncler outlet the north face rayban james shoes hollister canada coach outlet moncler canada goose mercurial superfly oakley sunglasses kobe 9 elite rolex watches michael kors handbags bcbg max azria longchamp handbags north face soldes jordans nike air max oakley uk ray ban replica watches polo lacoste pas cher nike roshe run asics gel salvatore ferragamo burberry ugg adidas zx flux new balance michael jordan insanity workout adidas shoes air max 90 sac vanessa bruno flip flops links of london uk hollister roshe run sac michael kors ugg boots on sale nike blazer asics trainers timberland boots timberland shoes timberland air force true religion outlet free running hollister uk balance shoes nike roshe ugg boots vans outlet timberland boots canada goose pas cher kate spade uk burberry sale sac michael kors watches for men jimmy choo shoes canada goose uk valentinos canada goose jacka michael kors beats headphones salvatore ferragamo montres ghd hair straighteners moncler jackets juicy couture outlet guess factory moncler hermes polo ralph lauren omega watches fitflops uggs ralph lauren outlet ralph lauren replica watches lebron james shoes mulberry handbags pandora bijoux ugg outlet moncler mac cosmetics nike huarache christian louboutin levis jeans nfl jerseys asics running coach outlet online ugg australia tory burch giuseppe zanotti outlet hollister clothing rayban ugg soldes nike huarache celine handbags ralph lauren uk true religion jeans free running tn pas cher ralph lauren outlet converse pas cher ai max swarovski nike roshe run ralph lauren ugg australia kevin durant shoes 2017 juicy couture outlet juicy couture ray ban wedding dress the north face mac make up reebok outlet beats headphones chi hair longchamp handbags air jordan mont blanc pens burberry roty burch handbags polo ralph lauren herve leger dresses canada gooses coach outlet nike trainers uk michael kors outlet michael kors uk air max longchamp uk michael jordan cheap oakley sunglasses barbour jackets oakley sunglasses converse pandora uk cheap oakley sunglasses nike pas cher weitzman shoes converse shoes louboutin tod's adidas superstar oakley pas cher canada goose sale ray ban lunette oakley new balance soldes the north face kates pade outlet online free running balance shoes air max canada gooses outlet soccer jerseys marc by marc jacobs air force louboutin pas cher coach outlet ai max prada handbags guess canada christian louboutin michael kors handbags ugg pas cher oakley sunglasses nike air max eyeglasses fitflops louboutin adidas originals nike air dansko outlet scarpe hogan prom dresses ugg hilfiger uk ugg parajumpers Outlet oakley sunglasses marc jacobs timberland pas cher reebok outlet vans outlet ray ban pas cher michael kors puma shoes polo ralph lauren mac cosmetics outlet prada cheap wedding dresses cheap basketball shoes five finger shoes true religion nike air max uggs hollister uk uggs mulberry michael kors outlet bijoux swarovski bottega veneta true religion outlet doudoune moncler michael jordan uggs outlet mizuno longchamp pas cher nike air max rayban nike factory outlet louboutin montre pas cher cheap jordan shoes swarovski uk longchamp outlet christian louboutin shoes ugg boots clearance north face nike factory uggs outlet adidas superstar mont blanc pens ray ban sunglasses cartier bracelet nike store ed hardy moncler christian louboutin hermes birkin ugg outlet nike free thomas sabo uk oakley sunglasses nike free converse all stars christian louboutin karen millen kobe bryant shoes abercrombie and fitch ugg outlet pandora charms ugg boots nike outlet store birkin bag dolce gabbana michael kors pandora bracciali

2017.11.8chenlixiang

Reviewer: chenlixiang Signed [Report This]
Date: 08 Nov 2017 2:16 am Title: A New Dream - Vol 3 Christmas at the Convent

2017.11.8chenlixiang

moncler outlet adidas trainers uk north face outlet jordans jordan pas cher michael kors uk salomon boots cheap jordans fendi handbags uggs nike air max ugg canada goose burberry outlet lebron shoes supra shoes soccer shoes coach outlet tommy hilfiger pas cher air max michael kors outlet online swarovski gioielli softball bats pandora uk nike uk roty burch outlet nike mercurial roshe run ray ban pandora jewelry beats by dre north face vans pas cher ray ban sunglasses cheap jerseys hollister occhiali oakley hogan michael kors outlet nike free run vans scarpe hilfiger outlet air max 90 new balance femme air jordan mizuno nike roshe balenciaga guess pas cher chaussure nike nike air true religion outlet cheap wedding dresses salvatore ferragamo montre homme kate spade polo ralph ray ban sunglasses instyler rolex prezzi michael kors outlet adidas outlet mac makeup sac longchamp longchamp michael kors outlet online converse uk michael kors pandora charms michael kors canada religion jeans blazer nike burberry outlet polo ralph lauren michael kors outlet online oakley vault moncler outlet the north face rayban james shoes hollister canada coach outlet moncler canada goose mercurial superfly oakley sunglasses kobe 9 elite rolex watches michael kors handbags bcbg max azria longchamp handbags north face soldes jordans nike air max oakley uk ray ban replica watches polo lacoste pas cher nike roshe run asics gel salvatore ferragamo burberry ugg adidas zx flux new balance michael jordan insanity workout adidas shoes air max 90 sac vanessa bruno flip flops links of london uk hollister roshe run sac michael kors ugg boots on sale nike blazer asics trainers timberland boots timberland shoes timberland air force true religion outlet free running hollister uk balance shoes nike roshe ugg boots vans outlet timberland boots canada goose pas cher kate spade uk burberry sale sac michael kors watches for men jimmy choo shoes canada goose uk valentinos canada goose jacka michael kors beats headphones salvatore ferragamo montres ghd hair straighteners moncler jackets juicy couture outlet guess factory moncler hermes polo ralph lauren omega watches fitflops uggs ralph lauren outlet ralph lauren replica watches lebron james shoes mulberry handbags pandora bijoux ugg outlet moncler mac cosmetics nike huarache christian louboutin levis jeans nfl jerseys asics running coach outlet online ugg australia tory burch giuseppe zanotti outlet hollister clothing rayban ugg soldes nike huarache celine handbags ralph lauren uk true religion jeans free running tn pas cher ralph lauren outlet converse pas cher ai max swarovski nike roshe run ralph lauren ugg australia kevin durant shoes 2017 juicy couture outlet juicy couture ray ban wedding dress the north face mac make up reebok outlet beats headphones chi hair longchamp handbags air jordan mont blanc pens burberry roty burch handbags polo ralph lauren herve leger dresses canada gooses coach outlet nike trainers uk michael kors outlet michael kors uk air max longchamp uk michael jordan cheap oakley sunglasses barbour jackets oakley sunglasses converse pandora uk cheap oakley sunglasses nike pas cher weitzman shoes converse shoes louboutin tod's adidas superstar oakley pas cher canada goose sale ray ban lunette oakley new balance soldes the north face kates pade outlet online free running balance shoes air max canada gooses outlet soccer jerseys marc by marc jacobs air force louboutin pas cher coach outlet ai max prada handbags guess canada christian louboutin michael kors handbags ugg pas cher oakley sunglasses nike air max eyeglasses fitflops louboutin adidas originals nike air dansko outlet scarpe hogan prom dresses ugg hilfiger uk ugg parajumpers Outlet oakley sunglasses marc jacobs timberland pas cher reebok outlet vans outlet ray ban pas cher michael kors puma shoes polo ralph lauren mac cosmetics outlet prada cheap wedding dresses cheap basketball shoes five finger shoes true religion nike air max uggs hollister uk uggs mulberry michael kors outlet bijoux swarovski bottega veneta true religion outlet doudoune moncler michael jordan uggs outlet mizuno longchamp pas cher nike air max rayban nike factory outlet louboutin montre pas cher cheap jordan shoes swarovski uk longchamp outlet christian louboutin shoes ugg boots clearance north face nike factory uggs outlet adidas superstar mont blanc pens ray ban sunglasses cartier bracelet nike store ed hardy moncler christian louboutin hermes birkin ugg outlet nike free thomas sabo uk oakley sunglasses nike free converse all stars christian louboutin karen millen kobe bryant shoes abercrombie and fitch ugg outlet pandora charms ugg boots nike outlet store birkin bag dolce gabbana michael kors pandora bracciali

2017.11.8chenlixiang

Reviewer: Blueskye Signed [Report This]
Date: 04 Nov 2017 9:48 pm Title: A New Dream - Vol 10: Life Is Sweet, Life Is Sharp

Wow! Hilda is so wholesale in her dealings with the twins...many thanks, Mary.



Author's Response: Thank you.

Reviewer: Blueskye Signed [Report This]
Date: 04 Nov 2017 9:22 pm Title: A New Dream - Vol 10: Life Is Sweet, Life Is Sharp

Just playing catch-up, Mary. Thanks for another lovely chapter - fabulous words by Rilke. Hilda matters to so many people, and she connects with them all in a wonderful way.

Thank you again x



Author's Response: Thank you for reviewing two at once, blueskye.

Reviewer: Seven Signed [Report This]
Date: 03 Nov 2017 9:34 pm Title: A New Dream - Vol 10: Life Is Sweet, Life Is Sharp

Hilda is so thorough when dealing with sinners and I'm sure Emilie will grow more considerate of others, especially Marie.

I hope Hilda manages to get through the meeting without collapsing again.  She certainly needs to think of herself now while she becomes stronger.



Author's Response: Don't worry, Seven, she knows how near to the brink she came so will do as she's told. After all, Mother's there, and who would dare disobey her? I'm not so sure about Emilie, though, unless her mother also learns a thing or two. Thanks for reviewing.

Reviewer: Rosemarie Anonymous [Report This]
Date: 03 Nov 2017 9:31 pm Title: A New Dream - Vol 10: Life Is Sweet, Life Is Sharp

I love the chapters where we see Hilda dealing with the girls and staff in her own inimitable way.   She has made clear what needs to happen to both Emilie and Marie but she will need to draw deep on her small reserves of strength to get her points over to Sylvie I suspect.Another great quote from Rilke Mary. As you say elsewhere, it must take you ages to route out just the right one from the many you have stored away! So thank you very much.   I hope the staff meeting and the supper go well and that MA sees that Hilda gets rest as often as her busy days allow.



Author's Response: You're right, Rosemarie. No matter how much she gets through to Emilie, nothing will happen unless Sylvie is prepared to listen - and I suspect that may prove problematic, after seeing her the last time Hilda tried to change things. Thank you for appreciating the quotations and for reviewing.

Reviewer: AilidhNoor Signed [Report This]
Date: 02 Nov 2017 2:23 pm Title: A New Dream - Vol 10: Life Is Sweet, Life Is Sharp

Catching up after a holiday with no internet access.

Lovely to see this back, and really loved this interlude with the twins. It's so hard working with children where one is favoured over the other. Ultimately both of them suffer. I wish more parents had Hilda's insight.

Also very glad Hilda has recognised she was overloaded and needs a break.



Author's Response: I seem to have missed you out when I thanked the others, Ailidh! How very remiss of me and I do most humbly apologise! I too wish more parents had Hilda's insight, but, you know, it's always harder with your first, as you're learning every step of the way, and each stage of your child's life is so different and often very puzzling. Hopefully, they will listen and learn - although I think Gilles already has. As for Hilda, yes, she knows she needs rest - and Mother will make sure of it!

Reviewer: AnneM Signed [Report This]
Date: 02 Nov 2017 10:12 am Title: A New Dream - Vol 10: Life Is Sweet, Life Is Sharp

Thank you for so much lovely twinniness, Mary! I think Marie may almost have a harder job than Emilie. I know Sylvie encourages their respective behaviours, but Marie gives in largely because she loves her twin so much, whereas Emilie seems to be me to be heedless, taking things for granted, rather than downright nasty. For her to learn to restrain herself, thyink a little and put herself in other people's shoes will be hard, but for Marie to learn that saying 'No', and setting boundaries, is actually more loving will be really tough. There are many lessons here for us all, in all sorts of relationships.



Author's Response: Oh, I don't think Hilda thinks for one moment that either of them will find change easy, Anne, and indeed nothing really can change without Sylvie also thinking about her own mothering skills. But at least Marie now knows someone cares about her and her feelings, and hopefully Emilie will have at least learned you can't just have a temper tantrum when things don't go your way. If you do, there will be consequences. Poor girls! Perhaps Ian and Mother can get the ideas across to them. Thank you so much for your usual thoughtful response.

Reviewer: Sarah Anonymous [Report This]
Date: 02 Nov 2017 9:38 am Title: A New Dream - Vol 10: Life Is Sweet, Life Is Sharp

Mary you are amazing! 



Author's Response: Oh, Sarah, that's lovely of you, but I think it's Hilda et al who are amazing, not me. Thank you so much for continuing to read and review.

Reviewer: shesings Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 01 Nov 2017 12:32 am Title: A New Dream - Vol 10: Life Is Sweet, Life Is Sharp

I think all I wnated to say has already been said by the others so all I shall say is 'ditto'!

Reviewer: Jenny Signed [Report This]
Date: 31 Oct 2017 12:36 pm Title: A New Dream - Vol 10: Life Is Sweet, Life Is Sharp

Life has been so fraught late that I have not had much of a chance to sit at the computer but today I have had a morning free of teaching and no marking so I have indulged myself with your latest three chapters. How much you have got through - lovely interaction between Hilda and Mother, Hilda and Nancy, Hilda and Rosalie, Hilda and the twins! I wasn't expecting more twin shenanigans but how faithfully Hilda dealt with them, as usual. Your use of appropriate quotations is (also as usual) masterly and I am storing them up myself to reread in tough times. Thanks you for a very entertaining morning!

Author's Response: Aw, Jenny, you're so kind! Thanks for reading so many chapters at once, but glad they entertained you!! *grins* Oh, I don't think the twins have shown us all they can get up to yet, you know, and being punished may push Emilie to further angry scenes. Don't know, yet, as no one's told me! Thank you for calling the quotations appropriate, as sometimes I fear you may all find they just get in the way. Once you start storing them you'll never stop! I now have far too many books of them copied from my reading, and it takes ages sometimes to find the one I know I want!! Grr! Thank you, Jenny. You're a star!

Reviewer: Linda Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 30 Oct 2017 9:04 pm Title: A New Dream - Vol 10: Life Is Sweet, Life Is Sharp

Emilie has a very difficult road to tread if she is to redeem herself in the eyes of her classmates and I am not sure if, even given her current prnitence, she fully realises just how unfair her treatment of her twin has been. I'm not sure how she is going to react if Marie follows Hilda's advice and begins to say "No" to her and starts to have her own friends. Sylvia really has to be made to understand that no parent should have a favourite amongst their children and it is do important that all have an equal share. Just because Emilie has always been the stronger twin it is no excuse to make Marie give in to her demands all the time. I am sure it will have been helpful for each of the girls to have had the opportunity to talk to a fellow 'twin' who has shared similar experiences whilst growing up.

The apology from Emilie gives a hope for a more peaceful future.

Thank you Mary for another insightful chapter.

Author's Response: Oh, I love your optimism, Linda! *grins* I hope you're right about Emilie, but that does mean Hilda will have had to get through to Sylvie. Ho hum! Thank you s much for reading and reviewing, Linda. I always enjoy your thoughts.

No results found.


Enter the security code shown below:
Note: You may submit either a rating or a review or both.